Young Scientists Honoured

Sparkasse Duisburg Awards Prizes

Young Scientists Honoured


The Sparkasse Duisburg has now honoured four students and four doctoral students* for their outstanding achievements. Two of them are members of working groups in our Materials Chain. The prizes are endowed with 2,000 and 1,000 euros respectively.

They were honoured for their outstanding dissertations, which were awarded summa cum laude:

  • Dr. Maximilian Büscher, Topic: "Influence of voluntary reporting on the cost of capital of mandatory convertible bonds against the background of imperfect competitive conditions - Empirical evidence for AT1 CoCo bonds of European banks" (Business Administration)
  • Dr. Julia Schmälter, Topic: "The EU Complaince Deficite: Unwilling or Incapable?" (Social Sciences)
  • Dr. Dario Düsterloh, Topic: "Function optimization and complexity control in the development process of mechatronic chassis systems using the example of electromechanical steering systems" (Engineering Sciences)
  • Dr. Christian Schneider, Topic: "Wordline instantons and the Sauter-Schwinger effect" (Physics)

Awards were given for special academic achievements:

  • Amelie Pullen (Business Administration)
  • Alessia Zaffaroni (Social Sciences)
  • Nele Harnack (Engineering Sciences)
  • Markus Heckschen (Physics)


Further information:
Johannes Hümbs, Sparkasse Duisburg, Tel. 0203/2815-836011, pr@spk-du.de

Editor: Ulrike Eichweber, webredaktion@uni-due.de