Obituary of Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. István Erlich

The University of Duisburg-Essen is mourning the death of Prof. Dr.-Ing. István Erlich, who passed away unexpectedly during the night of May 14 to May 15, 2018.

István Erlich, born in Hungary in 1953, was initially employed by a Hungarian distribution network operator after completing his studies in electrical energy technology at the Technical University Dresden, before returning to the same university as a research assistant with the aim of obtaining a doctorate degree. This was followed by activities at an energy consulting company in Berlin and at the Fraunhofer Institute for Information and Data Processing in Dresden. In 1996, he completed his postdoctoral dissertation (“Habilitation”) with a thesis in the field of power system dynamics.

In August 1998, István Erlich was appointed as the successor of Prof. Dieter Rumpel to the C4 professorship "Electrical Systems and Networks". Here his varied scientific activity led to a large number of third-party funded projects with both public funding and industrial companies. Over 300 publications and more than 25 doctoral degrees have emerged from this work. In the internal university committee work, his special commitment as a long-time chairman of the doctoral committee helped maintain the level and quality of the engineering doctorate program. Professor Erlich's expertise was also highly valued by national and international associations. As a result, he assumed a variety of positions and responsibilities, among others, at IEEE, IFAC and various other conferences.

Due to his scientific work and his commitment to teaching, Professor Erlich was appreciated and held in high esteem by his colleagues, employees and students alike. When the news of the sudden death of Professor Erlich reached the faculty, it was a shocking moment for all of us.

The University of Duisburg-Essen, the Faculty of Engineering Sciences, the colleagues from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology and all current and former employees of the chair for Electrical Power Systems will always be grateful for his tutelage and pay homage to Professor Erlich's honorable memory.

Our deepest condolences go to his family.

Nachruf auf Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. István Erlich

Die Universität Duisburg-Essen trauert um Prof. Dr.-Ing. István Erlich, der in der Nacht vom 14. auf den 15. Mai 2018 völlig unerwartet verstorben ist.

István Erlich, 1953 in Ungarn geboren, war nach seinem Studium der elektrischen Energietechnik zunächst bei einem ungarischen Verteilnetzbetreiber beschäftigt, bevor er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter mit dem Ziel der Promotion an die TU Dresden wechselte. Es folgten Tätigkeiten bei einem Energie-Consulting-Unternehmen in Berlin und beim Fraunhofer-Institut für Informations- und Datenverarbeitung in Dresden; 1996 habilitierte er sich mit einer Arbeit auf dem Gebiet der Netzdynamik.

Im August 1998 wurde István Erlich als Nachfolger von Prof. Dieter Rumpel auf die C4-Professur „Elektrische Anlagen und Netze“ berufen. Hier führte seine vielfältige wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit zu einer großen Zahl an Drittmittelprojekten sowohl mit öffentlicher Förderung als auch mit Industrieunternehmen; über 300 Publikationen sowie mehr als 25 Promotionen sind aus diesem Wirken hervorgegangen. In der inneruniversitären Gremienarbeit galt sein besonderes Engagement als langjähriger Vorsitzender des Promotionsausschusses der Erhaltung von Niveau und Qualität der ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Promotion. Professor Erlich‘s Expertise wurde auch von nationalen und internationalen Verbänden hoch geschätzt; so nahm er auch verschiedenste Positionen und Verantwortlichkeiten u.a. bei IEEE, IFAC und diversen Konferenzen wahr.

Professor Erlich wurde aufgrund seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und seinem Einsatz in der Lehre von seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern und den Studierenden gleichermaßen geschätzt. Als die Nachricht vom überraschenden Tod von Professor Erlich die Fakultät erreichte, war dies für uns alle ein erschütternder Moment.

Die Universität Duisburg-Essen, die Fakultät Ingenieurwissenschaften, die Kollegen aus der Abteilung Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik und alle derzeitigen und ehemaligen Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen des Fachgebietes „Elektrische Anlagen und Netze“ werden Professor Erlich in Dankbarkeit und Anerkennung ein ehrendes Andenken bewahren.

Unser tiefes Mitgefühl gilt seiner Familie.