Homepage RTG WisPerMed

Job advertisement

The Institute of Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology (IMIBE) has a vacancy for a part-time research assistant (m/f/d) in the research training group WisPerMed to start as soon as possible.

Further information can be found under the following link:

Job advertisement

 

Top graduates awarded Hans-Uhde Prize

On May 16, 2022, four graduates of Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts and four graduates of Dortmund Technical University were honored with the Hans-Uhde Award for outstanding final theses in engineering. The Hans-Uhde Foundation also honored an employee of thyssenkrupp Industrial Solutions AG. From the GRK WisPerMed, Jessica Swoboda (FH Dortmund) was honored for her master's thesis "Analysis and conception of an interoperable generic clinical dashboard for indication-specific treatment support".

1st Workshop Gender Aspects in Digitalization 2022

On Friday, March 11th, 2022, the first online workshop on the topic of "Gender Aspects in Digitalization" was successfully held under the direction of Prof. Dr. Britta Böckmann, in close cooperation with Dr. Anke Diehl and Prof. Dr. Nicole Krämer. Within this workshop, the topic of gender in digitization was discussed from different perspectives with experts from various disciplines, enabling an exchange between experts and PhD students. Prof. Dr. Arzu Oezcelik, Dr. Corinna Bath, Dr. Sabrina Sobieraj, Dr. Anke Diehl and Prof. Dr. Nicole Krämer shared their expertise with the PhD students of our research training group WisPerMed in interesting presentations. In interactive breakout sessions, the PhD students networked and were able to work out topic-related connections to their own research projects.

Collaboration with the Institute for Artificial Intelligence in Medicine (IKIM).

The IKIM is leading the way in research in artificial intelligence in medicine. Since this field of research is so extensive, we are very pleased that the Research Training Group is allowed to work closely with the IKIM.

The article on ZEIT Online goes into more detail about this collaboration and explains how new therapies increase the chances of survival in melanoma: link

Women’s Day 2021

From October 06 to October 07, 2021, we met for the first Women's Day in the women's circle of the RTG WisPerMed in Bochum.

The aim was an exchange about individual experiences as a woman in science, e.g. with discrimination, the effect of stereotypes as well as the sense and purpose of gender-appropriate language. In particular, the reports on the experiences of successful female career paths revealed interesting perspectives.

To conclude the first day, we watched the movie "Picture a Scientist - Women of Science". In line with the topics of the workshop, the film is about women in science based on case studies from the last 20 years, who were exposed to discrimination from the very beginning in the course of their professional development and led a constant struggle for recognition, respect and equal rights. More info on the film can be found here: https://mindjazz-pictures.de/filme/picture-a-scientist/.

In conclusion, many exciting ideas for further workshops and activities of the RTG for the next year emerged, which will be further prepared in small groups.

In real lifeAnnual Retreat 2021

From September 13 to September 14, 2021, the first annual retreat of the research training group WisPerMed took place in Willingen, Sauerland. This retreat is not only special due to the fact that it is the first retreat, but also because all PIs, PhDs and the team saw each other gathered in real life for the first time. In addition to social activities such as team-building activities, workshops were held in which the PhDs were able to help shape the curriculum and the next steps. A special focus was on the collaboration in interdisciplinary working groups, as well as the discussion of the current state of the research projects. As a guest we were able to win Prof. Henning Müller, who, in addition to an exciting lecture on the current research approaches from his department, was able to provide valuable input for the research projects of the RTG.

Here we go!WisPerMed starts on 01.03.2021

The research training group WisPerMed will start on March 01, 2021 with a total of 12 PhD students. More information about the research projects can be found under the menu item 1st cohort.

Homepage WisPerMed

Stellenausschreibung

Im Institut für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie (IMIBE) ist im Graduiertenkolleg WisPerMed zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt die Stelle einer/eines wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterin / Mitarbeiters (m/w/d) in Teilzeit zu besetzen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter folgendem Link:

Stellenausschreibung

Jahrgangsbeste mit Hans-Uhde-Preis ausgezeichnet

Für herausragende Abschlussarbeiten in den Ingenieurwissenschaften wurden am 16. Mai 2022 vier Absolvent*innen der FH Dortmund und vier Absolventinnen der TU Dortmund mit dem Hans-Uhde-Preis geehrt. Die Hans-Uhde-Stiftung zeichnete zudem einen Mitarbeiter der thyssenkrupp Industrial Solutions AG aus. Aus dem GRK WisPerMed wurde Jessica Swoboda (FH Dortmund) für ihre Masterarbeit „Analyse und Konzeption eines interoperablen generischen klinisches Dashboards für die indikationsspezifische Behandlungsunterstützung“ ausgezeichnet.

1. Workshop Gender Aspects in Digitalization 2022

Am Freitag, den 11. März 2022, fand erfolgreich der erste, englisch-sprachige Online-Workshop zum Thema "Gender Aspects in Digitalization" unter der Leitung von Frau Prof. Dr. Britta Böckmann, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Frau Dr. Anke Diehl und Frau Prof. Dr. Nicole Krämer statt. Innerhalb dieses Workshops konnte das Thema Gender in der Digitalisierung aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln mithilfe von Expert*innen verschiedener Fachgebiete betrachtet und somit ein Austausch zwischen Expert*innen und Doktorand*innen ermöglicht werden. Frau Prof. Dr. Arzu Oezcelik, Frau Dr. Corinna Bath, Frau Dr. Sabrina Sobieraj, Frau Dr. Anke Diehl und Frau Prof. Dr. Nicole Krämer haben hierzu in spannenden Vorträgen ihre Expertise mit den Doktorand*innen unseres Graduiertenkollegs WisPerMed geteilt. In interaktiven Breakout Sessions fand eine Vernetzung statt und thematische Berührungspunkte zu eigenen Forschungsprojekten konnten von den Doktorand*innen erarbeitet werden.

Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für künstliche Intelligenz in der Medizin (IKIM)

Das IKIM geht führend voran in der Forschung im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz in der Medizin. Da dieses Forschungsgebiet so umfangreich ist, freuen wir uns sehr, dass das Graduiertenkolleg eng mit dem IKIM zusammenarbeiten darf.

Der Artikel auf ZEIT Online geht auf diese Zusammenarbeit näher ein und erklärt wie neue Therapien die Überlebenschancen beim Melanom erhöhen: link

 

Women’s Day 2021

Vom 06. Oktober auf den 07. Oktober 2021 haben wir uns zum ersten Women’s Day im Frauenkreis des Graduiertenkollegs WisPerMed in Bochum getroffen.

Ziel war ein Austausch über individuelle Erfahrungen als Frau in der Wissenschaft, z.B. mit Diskriminierung, die Wirkung von Stereotypen sowie Sinn und Zweck gendergerechter Sprache. Insbesondere auch die Erfahrungsberichte erfolgreicher weiblicher Karrierewege zeigten interessante Perspektiven auf.

Zum Abschluss des ersten Tages haben wir uns den Film „Picture a Scientist – Frauen der Wissenschaft“ angesehen. Passend zu den Themen des Workshops geht es in dem Film um Frauen in der Wissenschaft anhand von Fallbeispielen aus den letzten 20 Jahren, die im Rahmen ihrer beruflichen Entwicklung von Beginn an Diskriminierungen ausgesetzt waren und einen stetigen Kampf um Anerkennung, Respekt und Gleichberechtigung führten. Mehr Infos zum Film findet man hier: https://mindjazz-pictures.de/filme/picture-a-scientist/.

Abschließend sind viele spannende Ideen zu weiteren Workshops und Aktivitäten des GRK für das nächste Jahr entstanden, die in kleinen Gruppen weiter vorbereitet werden.

In real lifeAnnual Retreat 2021

Vom 13. September auf den 14. September 2021 fand das erste annual retreat des Graduiertenkollegs WisPerMed in Willingen, Sauerland statt. Dieses retreat ist nicht nur etwas Besonderes aufgrund der Tatsache, dass es das erste retreat ist, sondern auch, weil sich alle PIs, PhDs und das Team zum ersten Mal gesammelt im echten Leben gesehen haben. Neben sozialen Aktivitäten wie Teambuiling Maßnahmen wurden Workshops veranstaltet in denen die Doktorand*innen das Curriculum und die nächsten Schritte mitgestalten konnten. Ein besonderer Fokus lag auf der Zusammenarbeit in interdisziplinären Workinggroups, sowie die Diskussion des aktuellen Stands der Forschungsprojekte. Als Gast konnten wir Herrn Prof. Henning Müller gewinnen, der neben einem spannenden Vortrag über die aktuellen Forschungsansätze aus seinem Fachbereich, wertvollen Input für die Forschungsprojekte des GRKs vermitteln konnte .

Los geht's!WisPerMed startet am 01.03.2021

Das Graduiertenkolleg WisPerMed startet am 01. März 2021 und geht mit insgesamt 12 Promovend*innen an den Start. Mehr zu den Forschungsprojekten finden Sie unter dem Menüpunkt 1. Kohorte.