For the Faculty of Engineering internationalization is essential for the consolidation of the University of Duisburg-Essen as a stronghold in research and education. The faculty has a long tradition in offering international bachelor and master degree courses within the study program „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE), and also the faculty supports German students in their semester abroad in one of the partner universities.

The study program „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE) creates a bridge between technology and culture: Various technological qualification possibilities with special stress of the requirements of the global job market offer the graduates comprehensive development opportunities in the industrial, as well as in the scientific development - the intensive connections with different, in particular non-European cultures and nations, creates a cultural enrichment for the study and research service. The attraction of the study courses also lies in the possible combination justified by bachelor and master of different engineer-scientific disciplines as well as the interdisciplinary, inter-divisional bachelor and master degree courses.

For German students the international experience is an obvious plus when they search for a job. A great number of companies from the engineering field are globally active and have offices and divisions outside Europe. The experience of a multicultural surrounding during a semester abroad represents a fundamental value for the preparation for the activity in an increasingly global working sphere.

Für die Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften stellt die Internationalisierung ein vorrangiges Ziel zum Erhalt ihrer Leistungsfähigkeit in Forschung und Lehre dar. Dazu zählt die Einführung eines fakultätsweiten Angebots von auslandsorientierten Bachelor- und Master-Studiengängen, dem Studienprogramm „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE) sowie die Unterstützung deutscher Studierender einen Auslandsaufenthalt an einer der vielen Partnerhochschulen vorzunehmen.

Das Studienangebot „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE) schafft Brücken zwischen Fächern und Kulturen: vielfältige fachliche Qualifikationsmöglichkeiten mit besonderer Betonung der Anforderungen des globalen Arbeitsmarkts bieten den Absolventen umfassende Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten in industrieller wie auch wissenschaftlicher Ausprägung – die intensiven Verbindungen zu unterschiedlichen, insbesondere außereuropäischen Kulturen und Staaten schafft eine kulturelle Bereicherung für den Studien- und Forschungsbetrieb. Die Attraktivität des Studienangebots liegt auch in der Kombinierbarkeit von Bachelor- und Master-Abschlüssen unterschiedlicher ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Disziplinen sowie den interdisziplinären, abteilungsübergreifenden Bachelor- und Master-Studiengängen begründet.

Für deutsche Studierende stellt Auslandserfahrung ein deutliches Plus bei der Stellensuche dar. Zahlreiche Firmen im Bereich der Ingenieurwissenschaften sind bereits global aktiv mit zahlreichen Geschäftsbereichen außerhalb Europas. Das Erleben eines multikulturellen Umfelds innerhalb des Auslandsaufenthaltes stellt einen grundsätzlichen Wert für die Vorbereitung auf eine Tätigkeit in einer zunehmend globalen Arbeitswelt dar.