N. Benson, K. Rojek, D. Pandel, F. Langer, S. Sirotinskaya, L. Kühnel




Over the last two decades, photovoltaic power generation has been widely accepted as a viable possibility to generate electricity in an environmentally friendly and sustainable way. Furthermore, the technology is expected to play an important role in changing today’s energy mix. The goal is to no longer solely depend on limited fossil fuels and power supplies that when in use significantly pollute the environment. However, for this change to happen, problems remain to be solved. Such challenges include energy storage or production cost. The reduction in cost per watt is a key aspect for future photovoltaic applications that is currently being addressed by research and development using two approaches for second generation and third generation solar cells:

I. Thin film photovoltaics: The use of production technologies which are substrate size independent and do not require monocrystalline substrates (Advantage: low cost; Disadvantage: low power conversion efficiency).

II. Alternative device design: For example, the use of tandem cells or strategies for the implementation of nanostructures in order to significantly increase the power conversion efficiency and to overcome the Shockley-Queisser limitit of ~33% (valid for Si) for non concentrator photovoltaics (Advantage: high power conversion efficiency; Disadvantage: high cost).

The photovoltaic team concentrates on work with third generation solar cells. The overall goal is to use alternative material systems for thin film photovoltaic in a combination with nano structure technologies. Our research is therefore directed towards the evaluation of possibilities on how to combine low cost per watt with high conversion efficiencies.



Projects



Contact:

Prof. Dr. Niels Benson

N. Benson, K. Rojek, D. Pandel, F. Langer, S. Sirotinskaya, L. Kühnel



Photovoltaik ist über die letzten Jahrzehnte ein fester Bestandteil für die elektrische Energiegewinnung in unserer Gesellschaft geworden und wird als wichtiger Beitrag für eine nachhaltig veränderte Zusammensetzung unserer Energieversorgung gesehen. Dem beabsichtigten neuen Energiemix liegt folgender Gedanke zugrunde: Weg von umweltbelastenden endlichen Energiequellen und hin zu umweltfreundlichen regenerativen Energien. Um dies in die Realität umsetzen zu können, sind allerdings noch einige Probleme durch Wissenschaft und Forschung zu lösen. Eine der Herausforderungen für zukünftige photovoltaische Anwendungen sind niedrigere Kosten pro erzeugtem Watt. Hierfür gibt es grundsätzlich zwei Ansätze, die sich in den Solarzellen der zweiten und dritten Generation widerspiegeln:

I. Ansatz Dünnfilmphotovoltaik: Einsatz von Produktionstechnologien, die vom Substrat unabhängig sind und auf einkristalline Substrate verzichten (Vorteil: geringe Kosten; Nachteil: niedriger Wirkungsgrad).

II. Ansatz alternative Bauteilekonzepte: Verwendung von beispielsweise Tandemzellen oder Nanostrukturierungskonzepten um die Licht-in-Strom- Konversionseffizienz signifikant zu steigern und so das Shockley-Queisser limit von ~33% Wirkunsgrad (gültig für Si) zu überwinden (Vorteil: hoher Wirkungsgrad; Nachteil: hohe Kosten).

In der Arbeitsgruppe Photovoltaik wird an Solarzellen der dritten Generation gearbeitet, mit dem übergeordneten Ziel, alternative Materialsysteme im Bereich der Dünnfilmphotovoltaik mit Ansätzen aus der Nanostrukturierungstechnik zu kombinieren. Durch unsere Forschung sollen also Möglichkeiten evaluiert werden, um niedrige Kosten pro erzeugtem Watt mit einem hohen Wirkungsgrad in Einklang zu bringen.



Forschungsprojekte


Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Niels Benson