Social Data Science (SDS)

Team Leader

 

Björn Ross


Phone: +49 203 379 2363
E-Mailbjoern.ross@uni-due.de

When people interact with one another online, data is generated. The same applies to interactions with systems, such as cloud service providers and artificial intelligence systems. The analysis of this data is part of decision-making processes. For example, organisations use social media data to evaluate the success of communication strategies, business use it to segment customers, and politicians use it to target voters. This data is also relevant for forecasting performance metrics (predictive analytics).

A wide variety of actors are not only trying to understand the users, but also to influence them. As an example, social bots can influence the political mood in social networks. Although the automated processing of data is partly necessary and socially desirable, for example to combat hate speech on the internet, it also gives rise to new questions on topics such as technology acceptance, trust, and privacy.

The Social Data Science team is dedicated to the scientific investigation of data from the interactions between humans and machines. This includes research into the methods with which the data can be interpreted, such as social network analysis and natural language processing. It also means that we critically reflect on the questions that arise from the analysis of this data by actors with various aims.

Central research questions include::

  1. How can social media data be analysed and used for targeted decision-making?
  2. What are the consequences of working and living with technologies such as cloud services and social media?

Publications

Social Data Science (SDS)

Teamleiter

 

Björn Ross


Phone: +49 203 379 2363
E-Mailbjoern.ross@uni-due.de

Wo Menschen miteinander online interagieren, fallen Daten an. Dasselbe gilt für die Interaktion mit Systemen, etwa Cloud-Dienstleistern und Systemen der künstlichen Intelligenz. Die Analyse dieser Daten wird zur Entscheidungsfindung eingesetzt. So verwenden etwa Unternehmen Social-Media-Daten zur Kundensegmentierung, Organisationen bewerten anhand ihrer der Erfolg von Kommunikationsstrategien, und Politiker verwenden sie zur zielgerichteten Ansprache von Wählern. Auch für die Vorhersage von Kennzahlen sind diese Daten relevant (Predictive Analytics).

Verschiedenste Akteure sind bemüht, die Nutzer nicht nur zu verstehen, sondern auch zu beeinflussen. So wirken etwa Social Bots auf das politische Stimmungsklima in sozialen Netzwerken ein. Wenngleich die automatisierte Auswertung von Daten teils notwendig und gesellschaftlich erwünscht ist, etwa zur Bekämpfung von Hasskommentaren im Internet, tun sich hierdurch neue Fragestellungen rund um Themen wie Technologieakzeptanz, Vertrauen und Privatsphäre auf.

Das Team Social Data Science widmet sich der wissenschaftlichen Betrachtung von Daten aus den Interaktionen von Mensch und Maschine. Einerseits werden Methoden erforscht, mit denen die Daten ausgewertet werden können, darunter soziale Netzwerkanalyse und Natural Language Processing. Andererseits werden die Fragestellungen kritisch beleuchtet, die sich aus der Auswertung dieser Daten durch Akteure mit den unterschiedlichsten Zielen ergeben.

Zentrale Fragestellungen umfassen beispielsweise:

  1. Wie können Daten aus sozialen Medien ausgewertet und zur gezielten Entscheidungsfindung eingesetzt werden?
  2. Welche Konsequenzen hat das Arbeiten und Leben mit Technologien wie Cloud-Dienstleistern und sozialen Medien?

Kernpublikationen