Academic calendar

Academic calendar

The academic year at German universities is divided into winter semester and summer semester.

Winter semester:     1st October - 31st March

Summer semester:  1st April - 30th September

Each semester is divided into lecture and lecture free periods. The dates of lecture period as well as holidays vary from semester to semester. Exams are usually taken in the first weeks of the lecture free period:

Summer semester 2019:       

  • Lecture period: 8th April 2019 - 12th July 2019

Winter semester 2019/2020:

  •  Lecture period: 14th October 2019 - 31st January 2020

Holidays: 11th June 2019 (Pentecost/Whitsun) and 23rd December 2019 - 6th January 2020 (Christmas holidays)

See also "Dates and Deadlines"

Public holidays in North-Rhine Westphalia, Germany:

Public holidays



New Year's Day

1st January

1st January

Carnival Monday

4th March 24th February

Good Friday

19th April

10th April

Easter Monday

22nd April

13th April

Labour Day

1st May

1st May

Ascension Day

30th May

21st May

Whit Monday

10th June

1st June

Corpus Christi

20th June

11th June

German reunification

3rd October

3rd October

All Saints

1st November

1st November


25th - 26th December

25th - 26th December