FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

Application / Admissions Requirements

Can I apply even though I’m German?
Yes, absolutely.

I am German. Is it necessary to have a certificate of my English skills?
No. But, if you want to write your thesis in English, then you need a certificate of your English skills (TOEFL or a comparable accredited certificate).

In which cases do Germans need a TOEFL test or a comparable accredited certificate of English?
You only need a TOEFL test or a comparable accredited certificate if you want to write your thesis in English.

I am a foreigner. Can I apply even though I do not speak German?
Yes, if you can speak and write English at an academic level. German and English are the official communication languages at ARUS. But you need a certificate about your English- language skills. We accept:

  • English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) 550 (paper-based) or 213 (computer-based); for more about TOEFL, click here: www.toefl.org.
  • UNIcert Level 3 - Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English, level C - IELTS Band 6.0. For more about IELTS, click here: www.ielts.org.
  • or other comparable accredited certificates.

During your PhD. in Germany, you should learn German (everyday speech).

Can I write my thesis in English?
ARUS is an international Ph.D.-programme, so of course English is a teaching language and you can write your thesis in English. But you need a certificate of your English- language skills. We accept:

  • English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) 550 (paper-based) or 213 (computer-based); for more about TOEFL, click here: www.toefl.org.
  • UNIcert Level 3 - Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English, level C - IELTS Band 6.0. For more about IELTS, click here: www.ielts.org.
  • or other comparable accredited certificates.

What is the deadline for the application?
The applications have to be sent to the academic coordinator - Dr. Elke Hochmuth - by 30 April each year for admission in the winter term.

Can I send the application materials per E-mail?
Yes, that is possible. Please scan all your documents and send them to elke.hochmuth@uni-due.de.

I have no supervisor for my Ph.D.-project? Can I still apply?
Yes. Based on your complete application, on the description of your research project and your academic background, the ARUS-supervisors decide who will supervise your Ph.D. Every approved ARUS doctoral candidate is supervised by an individually composed interdisciplinary panel of supervisors, which consists of up to three professors from disciplines relevant to the individual project.

On the homepages of ARUS there are selected potential Ph.D. topics: What function do they have? Do I like to select a theme for my application from that offer?
The selected potential PhD topics on the ARUS-Homepages are merely intended as examples of the scope of potential topics for your PhD project. This selection aims to illustrate the possibilities for topics in the framework of ARUS. You can select a topic from that offer. But you can also develop a topic yourself. Please note: It is important that your chosen topic has an urban context. And it is important to have a theme which is open for interdisciplinary cooperation.

Admissions process / Admission

Who decides on the admissions and by what criteria the decision is made?
The ARUS- supervisors decide on the basis of the application documents of the applicant. A very important document is the description of the research project. Please, write a short description of your research project (max. ten pages), which addresses at least the following:

  1. abstract (250 words)
  2. research objective
  3. research question and hypotheses
  4. current state of research
  5. methodology/approach
  6. current state of preparation

When can I expect an answer for my application?
The ARUS-Supervisors and the coordinator of ARUS will review the applications in May. As soon as a decision has been made, the coordinator will notify you. Typically, the process takes up to six weeks from the deadline for decisions to be communicated. If you have not heard from us regarding the status of your application, it is because a final decision has not been reached. We always communicate the final status to all applicants once the ARUS-supervisors have finalized their decision.

Can I reapply if my application has been rejected?
Yes, you may reapply. It is crucial for the possibility of re-application that you have not been rejected for formal reasons. If you have been rejected for formal reasons, then please ask the coordinator for the reasons in your specific case and the additional entry requirements. For your re-application, you may choose to apply with a new research topic. Or you can apply with your previously submitted topic. But then it is advisable to improve/rework your research proposal.

Is an interview with a candidate a compulsory step of the admissions process?
Interviews are not a necessarily a component of the admission process for all applicants. However, interviews are sometimes organized if there is any need to clarify aspects of your application. We will contact you if you are selected for an interview.

Funding information

Could you tell me all about the scholarships offers for the Ph.D.-programme ARUS?
We award no scholarships. But the supervising professors will provide help after admission to ARUS in applying for other scholarships (e.g. from the DAAD).

Can I work while I'm in the Ph.D.-Programme? Is there an attendance requirement at the University of Duisburg-Essen?
Yes, you can work while you are in the programme. The course offering is flexible, because we want you to spend the majority of your time on your thesis. Courses are frequently offered in blocked form. Especially in the first semesters, courses will also be offered on weekends (approximately one in two months) to discuss the theses to intensify the exchange between the ARUS candidates. After this first period we will offer more courses, but not fixed weekly classes.
However, the more you are present in Duisburg-Essen, the more you will benefit from the opportunities offered by the Main Research Area "Urban Systems" and from both formal and informal exchange with your supervisors and the other ARUS candidates, most of whom do live in the region.

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Banner

Bewerbungsunterlagen / Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Kann ich mich bei ARUS bewerben, wenn ich Deutsche/r bin?
Ja, selbstverständlich.

Ich bin Deutsche/r. Benötige ich auch den Nachweis eines TOEFL-Tests oder eines vergleichbaren Zertifikats über meine Englisch-Kenntnisse?
Nein. Wenn Sie allerdings Ihre Dissertation in Englisch schreiben möchten, dann benötigen Sie den Nachweis über einen TOEFL-Test. Sie könnten Ihre Englischkenntnisse auch über ein vergleichbares Zertifikat nachweisen.

Wann muss ich als Deutsche/r einen TOEFL-Test oder ein vergleichbares Zertifikat über meine Englisch-Kenntnisse nachweisen?
Sie müssen nur dann einen TOEFL-Test oder ein vergleichbares Zertifikat über Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse nachweisen, wenn Sie Ihre Dissertation in Englisch verfassen wollen.

Ich bin Ausländer/in. Kann ich mich auch bewerben, wenn ich kein Deutsch spreche?
Ja, wenn Sie auf akademischem Niveau Englisch sprechen und schreiben können. Deutsch und Englisch sind die zugelassenen Sprachen im Promotionsprogramm ARUS. Sie benötigen dann allerdings ein Zertifikat über Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse. Wir akzeptieren:

  • English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) 550 (paper-based) oder 213 (computer-based); Informationen zu TOEFL finden Sie unter www.toefl.org.
  • UNIcert Stufe 3 - Cambridge Certificate in Advanced Engish, level C - IELTS Band 6.0. Informationen zu IELTS finden Sie unter www.ielts.org.
  • oder andere gleichwertige Nachweise.

Während Ihrer Promotion in Deutschland sollten Sie jedoch Alltags- Deutsch lernen.

Kann ich meine Dissertation in Englisch schreiben?
ARUS ist ein internationales Ph.D.-Programm. Englisch ist Unterrichtssprache und Sie können Ihre Dissertation in Englisch schreiben. Sie benötigen allerdings dann ein Zertifikat über Ihre Englisch-Kenntnisse. Wir akzeptieren:

  • English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) 550 (paper-based) oder 213 (computer-based); Informationen zu TOEFL finden Sie unter www.toefl.org.
  • UNIcert Stufe 3 - Cambridge Certificate in Advanced Engish, level C - IELTS Band 6.0. Informationen zu IELTS finden Sie unter www.ielts.org.
  • oder andere gleichwertige Nachweise.

Welche Bewerbungsfristen gibt es?
Die Anträge müssen bis zum 30. April eines jeden Jahres an die akademische Koordinatorin - Dr. Elke Hochmuth - geschickt werden. Die Zulassung erfolgt dann zum Wintersemester.

Kann ich auch die Bewerbungsunterlagen via Email schicken?
Ja. Bitte scannen Sie die Originale Ihrer Zeugnisse und anderer Unterlagen ein und schicken Sie sie an elke.hochmuth@uni-due.de.

Ich habe noch keinen Doktorvater/mutter und keine Betreuung für mein Dissertationsvorhaben? Kann ich mich trotzdem bewerben?
Ja. Die Studienkommission von ARUS entscheidet auf Grundlage Ihrer vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen, des Exposés über Ihr Forschungsvorhaben und Ihres akademischen Hintergrunds, wer Ihre Dissertation im Rahmen von ARUS betreut. Jede/r zugelassene ARUS-Promovierende/r erhält ein individuelles, interdisziplinäres Betreuungspanel, dem jeweils bis zu drei Professorinnen oder Professoren aus für das Projekt relevanten Fachdisziplinen angehören.

Auf der ARUS-Homepage sind „Potentielle Promotionsthemen“ aufgeführt: Welche Bedeutung haben sie? Soll ich aus diesem Angebot ein Thema für meine Bewerbung auswählen?
Die potentiellen Promotionsthemen auf der ARUS-Homepage sind Orientierungshilfen und sind als beispielhafte Themen für Dissertationsvorhaben zu verstehen. Sie verdeutlichen, welches Themenspektrum im Rahmen von ARUS erforscht werden kann. Sie können sich ein Thema auswählen. Sie können sich aber auch selbst ein Thema überlegen. Wichtig ist, dass Ihr ausgewähltes Thema einen urbanen Bezug hat und interdisziplinär anschlussfähig ist.

Zulassungsprozess/Zulassung

Wer entscheidet über die Zulassung und nach welchen Kriterien wird die Entscheidung getroffen?
Die Studienkommission entscheidet anhand der vollständigen Unterlagen des Bewerbers/der Bewerberin. Eine sehr wichtige Unterlage ist die Beschreibung des Forschungsvorhabens (Exposé). Auf 10 Seiten (max.) skizzieren Sie mind. die folgenden Punkte:

  1. Arbeitstitel
  2. Zusammenfassung (250 Wörter)
  3. Forschungsfrage/n
  4. Forschungsstand
  5. Methodische Umsetzung
  6. Eigene Vorarbeiten

Wann kann ich mit einer Antwort auf meine Bewerbung rechnen?
Die ARUS-Studienkommission und die Koordinatorin von ARUS prüfen die Bewerbungen im Mai. Sobald eine Entscheidung gefallen ist, wird die Koordinatorin Sie in Kenntnis setzen über Ihre Zulassung bzw. Ablehnung. Normalerweise dauert der Prozess der Entscheidungsfindung etwa 6 Wochen, gerechnet ab der Bewerbungsfrist (30. April). Wenn Sie nichts von uns über den Status Ihrer Bewerbung hören, so ist die endgültige Entscheidung noch nicht getroffen worden. Wir informieren alle Bewerber/innen über das Ergebnis ihrer Bewerbung, sobald die ARUS-Studienkommission eine endgültige Entscheidung gefällt hat.

Kann ich mich erneut bewerben, wenn meine Bewerbung abgelehnt wurde?
Ja, Sie können sich erneut bewerben. Entscheidend für die Möglichkeit der Wiederbewerbung ist, dass Sie nicht aus formalen Gründen abgelehnt worden sind. Wenn Sie aus formalen Gründen abgelehnt worden sind, dann sollten Sie sich bei der Koordinatorin erkundigen, welche zusätzlichen Zugangsvoraussetzungen in ihrem spezifischen Fall für eine Zulassung noch zu erbringen sind. Bei einer Wiederbewerbung können Sie sich sowohl mit einem neuen Forschungsthema, als auch mit Ihrem bereits eingereichten Thema bewerben. Dann empfiehlt es sich aber, das Exposé Ihres Forschungsvorhaben zu verbessern/ zu verändern.

Ist ein Interview mit dem/der Bewerber/in ein obligatorischer Schritt des Aufnahmeverfahrens?
Interviews sind nicht unbedingt Bestandteil der Zulassung. Allerdings werden Interviews mit den Kandidaten oder Kandidatinnen organisiert, wenn ein Aspekt der Bewerbung einer Klärung bedarf. Wir kontaktieren Sie auch, wenn Sie zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch ausgewählt wurden.

Informationen über Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten

Könnten Sie mir Informationen über Stipendiumsmöglichkeiten im Rahmen des Promotionsprogramms ARUS geben?                                                                                                    Wir vergeben keine Stipendien. Jedoch helfen die betreuenden Professoren nach Zulassung zu ARUS bei der Beantragung von anderen Stipendien (z.B. DAAD).

Kann ich parallel zum Promotionsprogramm ARUS auch einer Arbeit nachgehen? Gibt es eine Anwesenheitspflicht an der Universität Duisburg-Essen?
Ja, Sie können parallel arbeiten. Das Kursangebot ist so flexibel, dass sie einen Großteil Ihrer Zeit auf die Arbeit an der Dissertation verwenden sollen. Auch werden einige der Kurse (insbesondere in den ersten Semestern) in Blockform angeboten. Darüber hinaus werden für diese erste Phase einige Wochenendkurse (etwa ein Kurs in zwei Monaten) angeboten. Bei diesen Treffen werden die Vorhaben der Kandidaten diskutiert und der Austausch zwischen den Promovierenden soll intensiviert werden. Nach diesem Zeitraum bieten wir weitere Kurse an. Sie werden jedoch nicht jede Woche veranstaltet.
Nichtsdestotrotz: Je mehr Sie sich in Duisburg-Essen aufhalten, desto mehr werden Sie von den Möglichkeiten, die der Forschungsschwerpunkt "Urbane Systeme" anbietet, profitieren. Der formelle und informelle Austausch mit Ihren Betreuerinnen und Betreuern und den anderen ARUS-Kandidaten ist besser zu bewerkstelligen, wenn Sie vor Ort präsent sind.