CENIDE Nano Summer Program


The University of Duisburg-Essen is located in the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region, in the heart of Europe. With more than 11 million inhabitants, it is Germany’s largest and Europe’s fifth largest metropolitan region. It is named after the Rhine and Ruhr rivers, which are the region’s defining geographical features and historically its economic backbone. Its location makes it well connected to other major European cities such as Amsterdam, Paris, London, Munich, Berlin, and Frankfurt. The region has transformed itself from a center for heavy industry into a hub for knowledge, technology, and service, and continues to have enormous economic importance. In 2010 the Rhine-Ruhr region was chosen as the European Capital of Culture.


Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan area


Further information:
Ruhr Tourismus
Ruhr Metropolis


Rhine-Ruhr region: