Prof. Dr. Heiko Wende

Research interests

Magnetic molecules

Magnetic nanoparticles

Magnetic thin films and heterostructures

Read more

List of publications

Link toList of publications

Curriculum vitae



Diploma in Physics at Freie Universität Berlin: SEXAFS-Untersuchungen an Stickstoff auf Kupfer
1999 Dissertation in Physics at Freie Universität Berlin: Extended X-ray Absorption Fine Structure Spectroscopy of Surfaces and Thin Films: Local Structure, Dynamic, and Magnetic Properties
2004 Habilitation in Physics at Freie Universität Berlin: Recent Advances in X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy


1993            Visiting scholar at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) in Grenoble (France)
1995-1999 Researcher at the physics department of Freie Universität Berlin
1997 Visiting scientist at the National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS), Brookhaven National Laboratory (Long Island, USA)
1999-2005 Research assistant at the physics department of Freie Universität Berlin and principal investigator in the SFB 290 Metallische dünne Filme: Struktur, Magnetismus und elektronische Eigenschaften
2003 Visiting scientist at the University of Washington (Seattle, USA)
2005-2009 Principal investigator in SFB 658 Elementarprozesse in molekularen Schaltern an Oberflächen
2006 Visiting scientist at the Uppsala University (Sweden)
since 2007 Full professor (W2) for Condensed Matter Spectroscopy at the Faculty of Physics, Universität Duisburg-Essen
2007-2011 Principal investigator in SFB 491 Magnetische Heteroschichten: Spinstruktur und Spintransport and SFB 445 Nanopartikel aus der Gasphase
since 2016 Principal investigator in CRC 1242 Non-Equilibrium Dynamics of Condensed Matter in the Time Domain
since 2018 Principal investigator in CRC/TRR 247 Heterogeneous Oxidation Catalysis in the Liquid Phase
since 2018 Scientific director of the Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen (CENIDE)
since 2020 Principal investigator in CRC/TRR 270 Hysteresis Design of Magnetic Materials for Efficient Energy Conversion - HoMMage

Scientific honours & awards

1993-1995 Scholarship of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes
1999 Ernst-Eckhard Koch Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation (BESSY)
2006 Heisenberg fellowship of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Contact information


Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät für Physik
Experimentalphysik - AG Wende
Lotharstr. 1
47057 Duisburg