Master's Degree Programmes Urban Systems

Banner

Master's Degree Programmes Urban Systems

The complexity of urban systems touches on spatial, geographical, artistic, functional, infrastructural, cultural and social dimensions and can only be grasped adequately by means of interdisciplinary approaches. Solutions to key urban problems can no longer be developed sectorally, i.e. in discreet academic disciplines alone. Thus, it is necessary  that social studies and cultural studies as well as natural and engineering sciences join urban research and practice for the purpose of interdisciplinary cooperation.

So far, however, there are hardly any coherent academic teaching programs in the field of ‘Urban Studies’. Such programs would allow students to combine, within a single curriculum, courses from the natural and engineering sciences with courses in cultural studies and social sciences. Furthermore, there has been little opportunity for students to practically apply aspects of arts and design in advanced scientific contexts.

Bearing in mind this need for interdisciplinary courses, the two closely-linked Master's Degree Programs ‘Urban Culture, Society, and Space’ (MA) and ‘Sustainable Urban Technologies’ (MSc) have been developed as part of the main research area ’Urban Systems’. These programs mediate and combine in their curricula competences from diverse academic disciplines central to the comprehension and sustainable design of urban systems. Such curricula require, above all, that students gain knowledge of specific disciplinary codes,  which are of utmost important for effective interdisciplinary collaborations in urban research and practice.

Key Characteristics of both Master's Degree Programmes

Every disciplinary approach on the subject of urban affairs is wrapped up in inherent urban complexity and thus in an interdisciplinary context. On this basis, integrative and complementary modules provide project-related, integrative orientation and interconnection of both Master's Programmes in order to expand the interdisciplinary field:

From a total of 9 modules (including the Master's thesis) 4 are chosen from the other Master's Degree Programme

  • An internship of at least three months at a regional, national, or international business, organisation, public authority or association
  • Eight participating faculties provide a wide selection of compulsory module options
  • The Master's Programmes receive up-to-date research findings as a result of close connections with the DAAD-funded ‘ARUS’ (Advanced Research in Urban Systems) doctoral programme

Masterstudium Urbane Systeme

Banner

Masterstudiengänge Urbane Systeme

Die Komplexität urbaner Systeme berührt räumlich-geografische, gestalterische, funktionale, infrastrukturelle, kulturelle und soziale Dimensionen, die angemessen nur mit interdisziplinären Ansätzen zu verstehen sind. Auch Lösungen für zentrale urbane Probleme können nicht mehr sektoral bzw. disziplinär entwickelt werden. So ist es eigentlich längst schon unumgänglich, stadtbezogene Praxis und Theorie der Gesellschafts-, Kultur-, Natur- und/oder Ingenieurwissenschaften in interdisziplinärern Kooperation zusammenzubringen.

Bislang gibt es jedoch kaum schlüssige universitäre Lehrangebote im Bereich „Urban Studies“, die es Studierenden innerhalb eines Studienprogramms ermöglichen, Lehrinhalte aus technik- und naturwissenschaftlichen Bereichen mit kultur- und sozialwissenschaftlichen und darüber hinaus mit künstlerisch-gestalterischen Aspekten auf wissenschaftlich avancierte wie praxistaugliche Weise miteinander zu kombinieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund und aus dem universitären Profilschwerpunkt „Urbane Systeme“ heraus wurden die beiden eng verknüpften zweijährigen, akkreditierten Masterstudiengänge „Urbane Kultur, Gesellschaft und Raum“ (MA) und „Sustainable Urban Technologies“ (MSc) entwickelt. Hier werden Kompetenzen aus verschiedenen für das Verständnis und die zukunftsfähige Gestaltung urbaner Systeme zentralen Fachkulturen vermittelt und zusammengeführt. Damit verbunden ist vor allem auch die Kenntnis der jeweils spezifischen disziplinären Codes, die für eine effektive interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Berufswelt wie in der Forschung von entscheidender Bedeutung sind.

Zentrale Merkmale der Masterstudiengänge

Jede disziplinäre Annäherung an den städtischen Gegenstand erfordert dessen Einbettung in urbane Komplexität und damit in den interdisziplinären Zusammenhang. Vor diesem Hintergrund versteht sich die projektbezogene, integrative Ausrichtung beider Studiengänge ebenso von selbst wie ihre enge Verzahnung über Integrations- und Ergänzungsmodule, die der Erweiterung des interdisziplinären Feldes dient:

  • Von 9 Studienmodulen sind 4 aus dem Bereich des jeweils anderen Masterstudiengangs zu wählen
  • Ein mindestens dreimonatiges Berufspraktikum ist bei regionalen, nationalen oder internationalen Unternehmen, Organisationen, Kommunen oder Verbänden zu absolvieren
  • Acht beteiligte Fakultäten ermöglichen die Auswahl eines breiten Wahlpflichtprogramms
  • Aus dem vom DAAD geförderten Promotionsprogramm „Advanced Research in Urban Systems – ARUS“ fließen aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse in das Curriculum der Masterstudiengänge ein