Content - Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems

Information Pandemic-related changes

The course will be held as e-learning via the moodle platform until further notice. Lecture and tutorial will be held as a web conference via Zoom, the corresponding link, as well as the exact times will be announced via the moodle course in the live stream section.
If new regulations of the university or the state require a change in the way of implementation, we will inform in the lecture, as well as on the website and in the moodle course.
 

As of winter semester 2021/22

further links Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems

Icons8-moodle-48 Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems
   Keys (Login mit Uni-Kennung)
 LSF Course details in the LSF

 

Responsible: Dr.-Ing. Köppen-Seliger (Lecture, Exercise)

Information Lecture content

After an introduction into goals and significance of modelling and simulation, numerical methods for solving ordinary differential equations (various implicit and explicit single step and multi-step methods, other methods) and their properties (numeric stability, local and global errors, suitability for stiff differential equations, for step inputs and for step width control) are considered. For the solution of partial differential equations, there is only a hint by an example with spce and time discretization.

The chapter "experimental modelling" at first discusses principles and choice of test signals, followed by methods for gaining nonparametric models. For general parmeter estimation methods, as they are contained in the MATLAB system identification toolbox, the basic models are presented. For one method, the reduction to a least-squares problem is shown; for further details the lecture refers to another lecture ("state and parameter estimation"). Subspace methods and identification of nonlinear systems are only mentioned as outlook.

A short overview over physical fundamentals from mechanics, thermodynamics and fluid dynamics is given. These fundamentals are applied for theoretical modelling (gaining rigorous models) for numerous examples, e.g.:

  • DC drive, pump and compressor, valve, heat exchanger, heated vessel (liquid, gas, boiling liquid and vapour), stirring vessel reactor with chemical reaction.

Inhalte - Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems

Information Pandemie bedingte Änderungen

Die Veranstaltung wird bis auf weiteres als E-Learning über die Moodle-Plattform stattfinden. Vorlesung und Übung werden als Web-Konferenz über Zoom stattfinden, der entsprechende Link, sowie die genauen Zeiten werden über den moodle-Kurs im Abschnitt Live-Stream bekannt gegeben.

Sollten neue Regelungen der Universität oder des Landes eine Änderung der Art der Durchführung erfordern, werden wir in der Vorlesung, sowie auf der Website und im moodle-Kurs darüber informieren.

Stand WiSe 2021/22

weiterführende Links Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems

Icons8-moodle-48 Modelling and Simulation of Dynamic Systems
   Schlüssel (Login mit Uni-Kennung)
 LSF Veranstaltungsdetails im LSF

 

Verantwortliche: Dr.-Ing. Köppen-Seliger (Vorlesung, Übung)

Information Inhalt der Vorlesung

Nach einer Einführung in Ziele und Bedeutung von Modellbildung und Simulation werden zunächst numerische Verfahren zur Lösung von gewöhnlichen Differentialgleichungen (diverse implizite und explizite Ein- und Mehrschrittverfahren, andere Verfahren) und deren Eigenschaften (numerische Stabilität, lokale und globale Fehler, Eignung für steife DGLs, bei Sprüngen und für Schrittweitensteuerung) behandelt. Die Lösung partieller DGLs wird lediglich durch ein Beispiel mit Zeit- und Ortsdiskretisierung angedeutet.

Das Kapitel über experimentelle Modellbildung befasst sich zunächst mit Vorgehensweise und Wahl der Testsignale. Es folgen Verfahren zur Gewinnung nichtparametrischer Modelle. Die direkte Parameterbestimmung aus Sprungantworten beschränkt sich auf einfache lineare dynamische Systeme. Für allgemeine Parameterschätzverfahren (wie sie in der "System Identification Toolbox" von MATLAB implementiert sind) werden die zugrunde liegenden Modelle dargestellt. An einem Verfahren wird die Rückführung auf ein Least-Squares-Problem gezeigt und bezüglich weiterer Details auf die Vorlesung "State and Parameter Estimation" verwiesen. Subspace-Methoden und Identifikation nichtlinearer Systeme werden nur als Ausblick angedeutet.

Physikalische Grundlagen aus Mechanik, Thermodynamik und Strömungslehre werden in kurzer Form zusammengefasst. Die Anwendung erfolgt zur theoretischen Modellbildung (zur Gewinnung "rigoroser Modelle") für zahlreiche Beispiele, so z.B.:

  • Antrieb mit Gleichstrommotor, Pumpe und Kompressor, Ventil, Wärmetauscher, beheizter Behälter (Flüssigkeit, Gas, kochende Flüssigkeit und Dampf), Rührkesselreaktor mit chemischer Reaktion.