Overview of project C01

Structural Dynamics in Impulsively Excited Nanostructures


This project addresses the structural response of nano-scale materials upon non-equilibrium electronic excitation. Using time-resolved diffraction techniques the electron-lattice energy exchange, energy transfer processes in hetero-systems, the excitation and relaxation of coherent lattice excitations, as well as structural phase transitions will be investigated. In particular, the project aims to understand the dependence of these elementary structural processes on the size and dimensionality of the system and to explore possibilities for their control and manipulation.

figure C1



Wei Lu, Matthieu Nicoul, Uladzimir Shymanovich, Alexander Tarasevitch, Michael Horn-von Hoegen, Dietrich von der Linde and Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten
A Modular Table-Top Setup for Ultrafast X-Ray Diffraction
Rev. Sci. Instrum. 95, 013002 (2024)
DOI: 10.1063/5.0181132

Jörn Bonse and Klaus Sokolowski‐Tinten
Probing Laser‐Driven Structure Formation at Extreme Scales in Space and Time
Laser Photonics Rev. 109, (in press)
DOI: 10.1002/lpor.202300912



Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Jörn Bonse, Anton Barty, Henry N. Chapman, Saša Bajt, Mike J. Bogan, Sebastien Boutet, Andrea Cavalleri, Stefan Düsterer, Matthias Frank, Janos Hajdu, Stefan Hau-Riege, Stefano Marchesini, Nikola Stojanovic and Rolf Treusch
In-Situ Observation of the Formation of Laser-Induced Periodic Surface Structures with Extreme Spatial and Temporal Resolution
in: Ultrafast Laser Nanostructuring, ed. Razvan Stoian and Jörn Bonse, pp. 257 (Springer, Berlin, 2023)
DOI: 10.1007/978-3-031-14752-4_6

Azize Koç, Isabel Gonzalez-Vallejo, Matthias Runge, Ahmed Ghalgaoui, Klaus Reimann, Laurenz Kremeyer, Fabian Thiemann, Michael Horn-von Hoegen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Michael Woerner and Thomas Elsaesser
Quantum Pathways of Carrier and Coherent Phonon Excitation in Bismuth
Phys. Rev. B 107, L180303 (2023)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.107.L180303

Catherine Burcklen, Cara Vennari, Christopher Mcguire, Jennifer Alameda, Jeff Robinson, Andrew Aquila, Matthew Seaberg, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Thies J. Albert, Stefan P. Hau-Riege and Bernard Kozioziemski
Towards Single-Shot, Time-Resolved Tomography Using a Crystal-Based, Multi-Beam X-Ray Split-and-Delay Line
Nucl. Instrum. Methods A 11, 168830 (2023)
DOI: 10.1016/j.nima.2023.168830



Peihao Sun, Giulio Monaco, Peter Zalden, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Jerzy Antonowicz, Ryszard Sobierajski, Yukio Kajihara, Alfred Q. R. Baron, Paul Fuoss, Andrew Chihpin Chuang, Jun-Sang Park, Jonathan Almer and J. B. Hastings
Structural Changes across Thermodynamic Maxima in Supercooled Liquid Tellurium: A Water-Like Scenario
Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 119, e2202044119 (2022)
DOI: 10.1073/pnas.2202044119



J. Antonowicz, P. Zalden, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, K. Georgarakis, R. Minikayev, A. Pietnoczka, F. Bertram, M. Chaika, M. Chojnacki, P. Dłużewski, K. Fronc, A.L. Greer, C. Jastrzębski, D. Klinger, Ch. Lemke, O.M. Magnussen, B. Murphy, K. Perumal, U. Ruett, K.J. Warias and R. Sobierajski
Devitrification of Thin Film Cu-Zr Metallic Glass via Ultrashort Pulsed Laser Annealing
J. All. Compounds 887, 161437 (2021)
DOI: 10.1016/j.jallcom.2021.161437

Q. Zheng, Y. Tian, X. Shen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, R. K. Li, Z. Chen, M. Z. Mo, Z. L. Wang, P. Liu, T. Fujita, S. P. Weathersby, J. Yang, X. J. Wang and M. W. Chen
Fast Attenuation of High-Frequency Acoustic Waves in Bicontinuous Nanoporous Gold
Appl. Phys. Lett. 119, 063101 (2021)
DOI: 10.1063/5.0055391

Nico Rothenbach, Markus Ernst Gruner, Katharina Ollefs, Carolin Schmitz-Antoniak, Soma Salamon, Ping Zhou, Renkai Li, Mianzhen Mo, Suji Park, Xiaohong Shen, Stephen P. Weathersby, Jun Yang, Xijie Wang, Ondrej Šipr, Hubert Ebert, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Rossitza Pentcheva, Uwe Bovensiepen, Andrea Eschenlohr and Heiko Wende
Effect of Lattice Excitations on Transient Near-Edge X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy
Phys. Rev. B 104, 144302 (2021)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.104.144302



M. Afshari, Philipp Krumey, D. Menn, M. Nicoul, Fabian Brinks, Alexander Tarasevitch and Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten
Time-Resolved Diffraction with an Optimized Short Pulse Laser Plasma X-Ray Source
Struct. Dyn. 7, 014301 (2020)
DOI: 10.1063/1.5126316

Wei Lu, Matthieu Nicoul, Uladzimir Shymanovich, Fabian Brinks, M. Afshari, Alexander Tarasevitch, Dietrich von der Linde and Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten
Acoustic Response of a Laser-Excited Polycrystalline Au-Film Studied by Ultrafast Debye–Scherrer Diffraction at a Table-Top Short-Pulse X-Ray Source
AIP Advances 10, 035015 (2020)
DOI: 10.1063/1.5142220

Pablo Maldonado, T. Chase, A. H. Reid, X. Shen, R. K. Li, K. Carva, T. Payer, Michael Horn-von Hoegen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, X. J. Wang, Peter M. Oppeneer and Hermann A. Dürr
Tracking the Ultrafast Nonequilibrium Energy Flow between Electronic and Lattice Degrees of Freedom in Crystalline Nickel
Phys. Rev. B 101, 100302(R) (2020)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.101.100302



Ludmilla Schumacher, Jesil Jose, David Janoschka, Pascal Dreher, Timothy J. Davis, Manuel Ligges, Renkai Li, Mianzhen Mo, Suji Park, Xiaozhe Shen, Stephen Weathersby, Jie Yang, Xijie Wang, Frank Meyer zu Heringdorf, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten and Sebastian Schlücker
Precision Plasmonics with Monomers and Dimers of Spherical Gold Nanoparticles: Non-Equilibrium Dynamics at the Time and Space Limit
J. Phys. Chem. C 123, 13181 (2019)
DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.9b01007

Peter Zalden, Florian Quirin, Mathias Schumacher, Jan Siegel, Shuai Wei, Azize Koc, Matthieu Nicoul, Mariano Trigo, Pererik Andreasson, Henrik Enquist, Michael J. Shu, Tommaso Pardini, Matthieu Chollet, Diling Zhu, Henrik Lemke, Ider Ronneberger, Jörgen Larsson, Aaron M. Lindenberg, Henry E. Fischer, Stefan Hau-Riege, David A. Reis, Riccardo Mazzarello, Matthias Wuttig and Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten
Femtosecond X-Ray Diffraction Reveals a Liquid-Liquid Phase Transition in Phase-Change Materials
Science 364, 1062 (2019)
DOI: 10.1126/science.aaw1773

Nico Rothenbach, Markus Ernst Gruner, Katharina Ollefs, Carolin Schmitz-Antoniak, Soma Salamon, Ping Zhou, R. Li, M. Mo, S. Park, X. Shen, S. Weathersby, J. Yang, X. J. Wang, Rossitza Pentcheva, Heiko Wende, Uwe Bovensiepen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten and Andrea Eschenlohr
Microscopic Non-Equilibrium Energy Transfer Dynamics in a Photoexcited Metal/Insulator Heterostructure
Phys. Rev. B 100, 174301 (2019)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.100.174301



J. Robinson, T. Decker, S. Guillet, T. Pardini, J. Koglin, R. Hill, A. E. Gleason, B. Kozioziemski, S. Boutet, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, A. Aquila, P. Hamilton, R. Soufli, J. Alameda, M. Hayes and S. P. Hau-Riege
Delayed Onset of Nonthermal Melting in Single-Crystal Silicon Pumped with Hard X Rays
Phys. Rev. Lett. 120, 265701 (2018)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.120.265701

Qiang Zheng, Renkai Li, Jie Yang, Mingwei Chen, Xiaozhe Shen, Mianzhen Mo, Xijie Wang, Zhili Wang, Zhijiang Chen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten and Stephen P. Weathersby
Dynamics of Electron-Phonon Coupling in Bicontinuous Nanoporous Gold
J. Phys. Chem. C 122, 16368 (2018)
DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpcc.8b03299

M. Z. Mo, Z. Chen, R. K. Li, M. Dunning, B. B. L. Witte, J. K .Baldwin, L. B Fletcher, J. B. Kim, A. Ng, R. Redmer, A H Reid, P. Shekhar, X. Z. Shen, M. Shen, K. Sokolowski-Tinten, Y. Y. Tsui, Y Q Wang, Q. Zheng, X. J. Wang and S. H. Glenzer
Heterogeneous to Homogeneous Melting Transition Visualized with Ultrafast Electron Diffraction
Science 360, 1451 (2018)
DOI: 10.1126/science.aar2058



Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Xiaozhe Shen, Q. Zheng, Tyler F. Chase, Ryan N. Coffee, Martin Jerman, Renkai Li, Manuel Ligges, Igor V. Makasyuk, M. Mo, Alexander Hume Reid, Bärbel Rethfeld, Theodore Vecchione, Stephen P. Weathersby, Hermann A. Dürr and Xijie Wang
Electron-Lattice Energy Relaxation in Laser-Excited Thin-Film Au-Insulator Heterostructures Studied by Ultrafast MeV Electron Diffraction
Struct. Dyn. 4, 054501 (2017)
DOI: 10.1063/1.4995258