Workflow & Topics

​Thesis-en

​
​

​We regularly supervise bachelor and master theses in all our research areas. If you are also interested in writing your thesis with us, the following procedure and rules must be followed:

(1) Select Topic
Within the scope of our research, we offer various interesting topics that you can work on. On the pages of the team members you will find a list of available topics. On the respective page you will also find an indication of when a supervision of the topic is possible. Ealier supervision is not possible!
Alternatively, you can suggest a topic of your own, which fits to a research area of the team members. The suggested topics can serve as inspiration. The topic must have a scientific component. Please understand that we can only supervise topics that also correspond to our expertise.

(2) Contact Supervisor
If you are interested in a topic, you can contact the corresponding staff member. Your request must include the following information:

  • Transcript of records: This must contain the reference that the requirements for the registration of the thesis are fulfilled. Unfortunately, we cannot process your request without this reference.
  • The topic you would like to work on. Please note the requirements for the respective topic.
  • For your own topic, please attach an abstract. Also indicate which research area of the team member this topic meets.

We assume that you will choose a specific topic that meets your personal interests. Therefore, please decide on exactly one team member from our group whom you would like to contact. Parallel inquiries with several members are not possible and will not be considered.

(3) Determine Topic
The supervisor will contact you to clarify the further procedure and any questions in advance. You will then determine the topic for your thesis. From the time the topic is set, you have two weeks to summarize the topic in your own words and briefly explain how you intend to work on the topic.

(4) Submit summary
Please send the summary to the supervisor in time. If the abstract is not submitted on time or misses the topic completely, further supervision will not be possible.
Based on the summary, you will subsequently prepare an exposé within four weeks, which should contain the following elements:

  • A detailed description of the topic
  • A list of possible literature, you plan to consider in your thesis
  • A schedule for your writing time

For the creation of the exposé our LaTeX template must be used. In it you will find additional hints about the necessary contents. The aim of the exposé is that you are familiar with the topic before the thesis is registered. At the same time we can make sure that there is a common understanding of the topic.

(5) Submit Exposé
Please send your exposé to the supervisor in time, otherwise no further supervision is possible. Afterwards, you will receive feedback on your exposé, which you have to incorporate. The exposé will be checked again before the work can be registered. If the quality is not sufficient, the work cannot be registered.

(6) Register Thesis
After the exposé has been approved, the thesis can be officially registered at the examination office. The registration is done electronically by us at the examination office. You have the possibility to suggest a second examiner, who will be contacted by us. From the date of registration, the writing time of 3 months (Bachelor) or 6 months (Master) begins. The exact deadline will be communicated to you by the examination office.
During the processing period, we suggest regular meetings with your supervisor to discuss your current status. However, it is your responsibility to make use of this offer.

(7) Submit Thesis
At the end of the writing time, you hand in your work to the examination office. Please  follow the instructions for your respective course of study. Submission by e-mail to your supervisor is not sufficient!

Colloquium

As part of your thesis, we expect two presentations to the working group:

  1. At the beginning, you will present your topic and explain how you intend to work on it. With our feedback, we would like to support you and provide additional ideas.
  2. After submitting your work, you will present your results. In this context, we would like to clarify any open questions and discuss possible future research directions.

Please prepare slides for your presentation and provide them as a *.pdf file. Please also make sure that the figures you integrate are clearly readable.

The amount of time for the presentation depends on the degree you are pursuing:

  • Bachelor: 15 minutes presentation + 10 minutes questions
  • Master: 20 minutes presentation + 10 minutes questions

Abschlussarbeiten

Allgemeiner Ablauf & Themenvergabe

Thesis

​Wir betreuen regelmäßig Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten in all unseren Forschungsgebieten. Wenn Sie ebenfalls daran interessiert sind Ihre Abschlussarbeit bei uns zu schreiben, muss der folgende Ablauf und die folgenden Regeln beachtet werden:

(1) Auswahl des Themas
Wir bieten im Rahmen unserer Forschung verschiedene interessante Themen an, die Sie im Rahmen einer Abschlussarbeit bearbeiten können. Auf den Seiten der jeweiligen Mitarbeitenden finden Sie eine Auflistung an möglichen Themen. Auf der jeweiligen Seite finden Sie auch eine Angabe, ab wann eine Betreuung des Themas möglich ist. Eine Betreuung zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt ist nicht möglich!
Alternativ können Sie ein eigenes Thema vorschlagen, welches zu einem Forschungsgebiet der Mitarbeitenden passt. Auch hier können die vorgeschlagenen Themen als Inspiration dienen. Das Thema muss einen wissenschaftlichen Anteil haben. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir nur Themen betreuen können, die auch unserer Expertise entsprechen.

(2) Betreuer kontaktieren
Wenn Sie sich für ein Thema interessieren, können Sie Kontakt zu dem/der Mitarbeitenden aufnehmen. Ihre Anfrage muss die folgenden Informationen enthalten:

  • Aktueller Notenspiegel: Dieser muss den Hinweis enthalten, dass die Voraussetzungen für die Anmeldung der Abschlussarbeit erfüllt sind. Ohne diesen Hinweis können wir Ihre Anfrage leider nicht bearbeiten.
  • Das Thema welches Sie bearbeiten möchten. Bitte beachten Sie die Anforderungen für das jeweilige Thema.
  • Für ein eigenes Thema fügen Sie bitte eine Zusammenfassung an. Geben Sie außerdem an, in welches Forschungsgebiet des jeweilige/n Mitarbeitenden dieses fällt.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass Sie sich für ein bestimmtes Thema entscheiden, welches Ihre persönlichen Interessen trifft. Bitte entscheiden Sie sich daher für genau einen Mitarbeitenden aus unserem Fachgebiet, den Sie kontaktieren möchten. Parallele Anfragen bei mehreren Mitarbeitenden sind nicht möglich und werden von uns nicht berücksichtigt.

(3) Thema festlegen
Der/Die Betreuende wird mit Ihnen Kontakt aufnehmen, um den weiteren Ablauf und eventuelle Fragen vorab zu klären. Danach legen Sie das Thema für Ihre Abschlussarbeit fest. Ab Festlegung des Themas haben Sie zwei Wochen Zeit, das Thema in eigenen Worten zusammenzufassen und kurz zu erklären, wie Sie das Thema bearbeiten wollen.

(4) Zusammenfassung einreichen
Bitte senden Sie die Zusammenfassung rechtzeitig an den/die Betreuende/n. Sollte die Zusammenfassung nicht rechtzeitig eingereicht werden oder das Thema vollkommen verfehlen, ist eine weitere Betreuung nicht möglich.
Auf Basis der Zusammenfassung erstellen Sie im Anschluss innerhalb von vier Wochen ein Exposé, welches die folgenden Elemente enthalten sollte:

  • Eine detaillierte Beschreibung des Themas
  • Eine Auflistung von möglichen Quellen, die Sie in Ihrer Arbeit nutzen möchten
  • Ein Zeitplan für die Einteilung der Bearbeitungszeit

Für die Erstellung des Exposé muss unsere LaTeX Vorlage verwendet werden. In dieser finden Sie zusätzliche Hinweise über die notwendigen Inhalte. Ziel des Exposé ist es, dass Sie gut in das Thema eingearbeitet sind, bevor die Arbeit angemeldet wird. Gleichzeitig können wir so sicherstellen, dass ein gemeinsames Verständnis für das Thema besteht.

(5) Exposé einreichen
Bitte senden Sie Ihr Exposé rechtzeitig an die/den Betreuende/n, da ansonsten keine weitere Betreuung möglich ist. Im Anschluss erhalten Sie Feedback zu Ihrem Exposé, welches Sie einarbeiten müssen. Daraufhin wird dieses erneut geprüft, bevor die Arbeit angemeldet werden kann. Sollte die Qualität nicht ausreichen, kann die Arbeit nicht angemeldet werden.

(6) Arbeit anmelden
Nachdem das Exposé genehmigt wurde, kann die Arbeit offiziell beim Prüfungsamt angemeldet werden. Die Anmeldung erfolgt elektronisch durch uns beim Prüfungsamt. Sie haben die Möglichkeit einen Zweitgutachter vorzuschlagen, welchen wir dann kontaktieren. Ab dem Datum der Anmeldung beginnt die Bearbeitungszeit von 3 Monaten (Bachelor) bzw. 6 Monaten (Master). Der genaue Abgabetermin wird Ihnen vom Prüfungsamt mitgeteilt.
Während der Bearbeitungszeit schlagen wir regelmäßige Besprechungen mit dem/der Betreuenden vor, um Ihren aktuellen Stand zu diskutieren. Es liegt jedoch in Ihrer Verantwortung von diesem Angebot Gebrauch zu machen.

(7) Arbeit abgeben
Zum Ende der Bearbeitungszeit geben Sie Ihre Arbeit beim Prüfungsamt ab. Beachten Sie hier bitte unbedingt die Hinweise für Ihren jeweiligen Studiengang. Eine Abgabe per E-Mail an Ihre/n Betreuende/n reicht nicht aus!

Kolloquium

Im Rahmen Ihrer Abschlussarbeit erwarten wir zwei Präsentationen vor der Arbeitsgruppe:

  1. Zu Beginn stellen Sie Ihr Thema vor und erläutern, wie Sie dieses bearbeiten wollen. Mit unserem Feedback möchten wir Sie bei der Bearbeitung unterstützen und zusätzliche Ideen einbringen.
  2. Nach Abgabe der Arbeit präsentieren Sie Ihre Ergebnisse. In diesem Rahmen möchten wir noch offene Fragen klären und mögliche weiterführende Forschung diskutieren.

Bitte bereiten Sie für Ihre Präsentation Folien vor, und stellen Sie diese als *.pdf-Datei zur Verfügung. Beachten Sie bitte auch, dass Abbildungen welche Sie verwenden gut lesbar sind.

Der zeitliche Umfang der Präsentation richtet sich nach dem angestrebten Abschluss:

  • Bachelor: 15 Minuten Präsentation + 10 Minuten Fragen
  • Master: 20 Minuten Präsentation + 10 Minuten Fragen