The Prize is awarded by the Essen College of Gender Studies on a two-year basis. It is endowed with € 7.500 and is sponsored by the German Telekom AG and is given to women scientists for their outstanding achievements mainly in the natural and technical sciences, as well as in medicine. They are chosen by an intercisciplinary independent jury.

Dana Petcu

2005 Dana Petcu

In 2005, Maria Sybilla Merian Prize was given to the computer scientist Dana Petcu (Romania) for her achievements in grid-computing and software mathematics.

Read more
Bettina Pfleiderer

2003 Bettina Pfleiderer

In November 2003, Bettina Pfleiderer (Germany) won the Prize for her interdisciplinary research methods in radiology.

Read more
Eva Bayer-Fluckiger

2001 Eva Bayer-Fluckiger

For her achievements and her commitment in the French and European Association of Woman Mathematicians, Eva Bayer-Fluckiger (Switzerland) was awarded the Maria Sibylla Merian Prize in 2001.

Read more
Véronique de Keyser

1999 Véronique de Keyser

In 1999, occupational scientist Véronique de Keyser

was the second woman to win the Maria Sibylla Merian Prize.

Read more
Nancy Carrasco

Im Jahr 1998 erhielt den Preis: Nancy Carrasco

The Maria Sibylla Merian Prize was first awarded to the medical scientist Nancy Carrasco (USA).

Read more