FOR 1993 - Subproject GV1

Subprojekt GV1: Mass spectrometric investigation of reaction mechanisms in flow reactors

The main objective of the project is the experimental investigation of the underlying reaction mechanisms of the fuel-rich conversion of various fuels in multifunctional chemical and energy conversion processes. Data resulting from measurements performed at pressures above 1 bar in a flow reactor are used to elucidate and validate the reaction mechanisms. The experiments target the partial oxidation of methane, dimethyl ether, n-heptane, ethanol, and their mixtures to useful chemicals. After fuel conversion in the flow reactor, the composition of the product gases is determined using high-resolution mass spectrometry and GC-MS, and compared to the results of simulated gas compositions. Through systematic and in later stages of the project model-directed variations of the process conditions the measurements and models progress in a pressure, temperature, and stoichiometry regime that has not been studied intensively, yet. Within the framework of the research group, data are exchanged with projects GV2, GM1 and GM3 to advance the common model development and validation.

Flow reactor measurements are particularly suited to investigate reaction conditions which have been optimized to increase the yield of a specific target chemical. Staged reaction conditions, for example implemented through addition of an additive along the reaction path, offer additional reaction parameters for process optimization. In cooperation with project GM3 this approach will be used to develop predictive, optimized reaction processes.

One of the general questions related to polygeneration strategies is if it is possible to conserve exergy in the product gas of a motor. Endothermic reactions with a volume reduction appear as particular promising pathways to achieve this goal. Selected reactions of this type will be studied in the flow reactor and accessed in cooperation with project GM2 with regard to their potential as exergy storage strategy.

Because the flow reactor is a particularly fast and reliable experiment, it will be used as test bed to implement and calibrate the GC-MS gas analysis. Subsequently, the gas analytical tools will be transferred to other projects within the research group, in particular to detect the gas composition of the product gases of the motors in project MM2.

DFG Research Unit 1993

IVG Logo

Prof. Dr. Tina Kasper


University Duisburg-Essen
Faculty of Engineering
Institute for Combustion and Gasdynamics (IVG)
Mass spectrometry in reacting flows
Lotharstr.1
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 203 379 1854
tina.kasper@uni-due.de

Prof. Dr. Burak Atakan


University Duisburg-Essen
Faculty of Engineering
Institute for Combustion and Gasdynamics (IVG)
Thermodynamics
Lotharstra├če 1
47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 203 379-3355
Fax: +49 203 379-1594
burak.atakan@uni-due.de

founded by:

DFG Logo

FOR 1993 - Teilprojekt GV1

Teilprojekt GV1: Massenspektrometrische Untersuchung von Reaktionsmechanismen in Strömungsreaktoren

Das Ziel des Projekts ist es, experimentell die Reaktionsmechanismen der Umsetzung verschiedener, vorwiegend brennstoffreicher Gemische zu untersuchen, die bei der multifunktionalen Stoff- und Energiewandlung eingesetzt werden. Die Daten, die in Strömungsreaktoren bei Drücken oberhalb 1 bar ermittelt werden, werden zur Validierung  chemisch-kinetischer Reaktionsmechanismen genutzt. Die Untersuchungen umfassen die partielle Oxidation von Methan, Dimethylether, n-Heptan, Ethanol und deren Mischungen zu Nutzchemikalien. Hierzu wird nach erfolgter Brennstoffumsetzung im Strömungsreaktor die Zusammensetzung der Produktgase mit Hilfe von hochauflösender Massenspektrometrie und GC-MS-Analytik bestimmt und mit den Ergebnissen von Simulationen verglichen. Durch systematische und im Verlauf des Projekts gezielte, modellgetriebene Variation der Prozessbedingungen wird ein Druck-, Temperatur- und Stöchiometrie-Bereich erschlossen, in dem bisher nur wenige Datensätze vorhanden sind. Im Rahmen der Forschergruppe werden die Daten mit den Teilprojekten GV2, GM1 und GM3 ausgetauscht und dienen zur gemeinsamen Modellentwicklung und –validierung.

Die Messungen im Strömungsreaktor eignen sich darüber hinaus, die auf eine bestimmte Zielchemikalie optimierten Prozessbedingungen zu testen. Durch eine gestufte Reaktionsführung, z.B. Zugabe eines Additivs entlang der Reaktionsachse, werden außerdem weitere Optimierungsparameter leicht zugänglich. In Kooperation mit Teilprojekt GM3 werden so prädiktive, optimierte Modelle zur Reaktionsführung erstellt.

Im Sinne des Polygenerationansatzes ist eine Fragestellung der Forschergruppe, ob eine Exergiespeicherung im Produktgas einer Kolbenmaschine möglich ist. Besonders vielversprechende ist die Nutzung endothermer Reaktionswege mit Volumenreduktion. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden ausgewählte Reaktionen diesbezüglich experimentell im Strömungsreaktor untersucht und in Kooperation mit GM2 die Exergien bestimmt.

Da der Strömungsreaktor ein besonders schnelles und verlässliches Testexperiment ist, wird in diesem Teilprojekt die GC-MS Gasanalytik eingesetzt und kalibriert und steht dann für weitere Teilprojekte, insbesondere MM2 zur Verfügung.

DFG-Forschergruppe 1993

IVG logo

Prof. Dr. Tina Kasper


Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften
Institut für Verbrennung
und Gasdynamik (IVG)
Massenspektrometrie in reaktiven Strömungen
Lotharstr.1
D-47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 203 379-1854
tina.kasper@uni-due.de

Prof. Dr. Burak Atakan


Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften
Institut für Verbrennung
und Gasdynamik (IVG)
Thermodynamik
Lotharstr.1
D-47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 203 379-3355
Fax.: +49 203 379-1594
burak.atakan@uni-due.de

gefördert durch:

DFG Logo