FOR 2284: Home

DFG Research Unit FOR2284 Model-based scalable gas-phase synthesis of complex nanoparticles

Functional materials based on inorganic nanoparticles have a great application potential. Beyond the pure variation of the chemical composition, the structure size opens new dimensions for the creation of unusual materials properties. Highly potent energy storage materials, noble metal free catalysts, efficient semiconducting light absorbers and emitters, or biocompatible materials for medical diagnostics are just a few examples of the range of applications of inorganic nanomaterials. Apart from the composition of the resulting primary particles in the synthesis process, the morphology of secondary and tertiary structures determines the practical applicability of the materials. In order to influence and utilize these structure-based properties, highly specific synthesis routes are imperative. On the basis of the primary nanoparticles, this facilitates the selective and reproducible adjustment of structure size, morphology, and structurally defined materials combinations. To be able to produce nanomaterials with the appropriate characteristics in industrially relevant quantities, the scalability of the processes must also be ensured, and this is something for which the gas-phase synthesis is particularly suitable.

This is where the vision of the Research Unit takes effect. Based on the understanding of the elementary steps of precursor chemistry, particle formation, particle-particle interaction, and in situ functionalization, design rules for synthesis processes and reactors are developed and demonstrated. These enable a targeted synthesis, modification, and structuring of nanoparticles in the gas phase. Two materials systems are examined as an example – composites based on iron and iron oxide nanoparticles and structured silicon particles and nanocomposites. As the focus of the Research Unit is on the combination of analysis, modeling, and simulation, materials and processes are sequentially investigated with an increase in complexity. Thus, at every intermediate stage, feedback with the experiment and validation of the simulations and design rules can be ensured.

The project opens up the producibility of new material variations as well as being aimed at the development of scalable processes and research-based, validated simulation methods. These are essential foundations for a reliable use of highly specific functional nanoparticle ensembles and their industrial application.

Spokesperson:

Prof. Dr. Christof Schulz
University of Duisburg Essen         
Faculty of Engineering
Phone: +49 203 379-8161
Email: christof.schulz@uni-due.de

Cenide Kombi-logo
 

For2284 Logo Rgb

 

funded by:
Dfg-logo

DFG-Forschungsgruppe 2284 Modellbasierte skalierbare Gasphasensynthese komplexer Nanopartikel

Funktionsmaterialien auf Basis anorganischer Nanopartikel haben ein großes Anwendungspotenzial. Über die pure Variation der chemischen Zusammensetzung hinaus, eröffnet die Strukturgröße eine neue Dimension für die Erzeugung ungewöhnlicher Materialeigenschaften. Hochpotente Energiespeichermaterialien, edelmetallfreie Katalysatoren, effiziente halbleitende Lichtabsorber und ‐emitter oder biokompatible Materialien für die medizinische Diagnostik sind nur einige Beispiele für das Anwendungsspektrum anorganischer Nanomaterialien. Neben der Zusammensetzung der im Syntheseverlauf entstehenden primären Partikel entscheidet die Morphologie darauf aufbauender sekundärer und tertiärer Strukturen über die praktische Anwendbarkeit der Materialien. Um diese strukturbasierten Eigenschaften beeinflussen und nutzen zu können, ist eine hochspezifische Synthese zwingend erforderlich, mit der – auf der Basis der primären Nanopartikel – Strukturgröße, Morphologie und strukturell definierte Materialkombinationen gezielt und reproduzierbar eingestellt werden können. Damit Nanomaterialien mit den entsprechenden Eigenschaften auch in industrierelevanten Mengen hergestellt werden können, muss zudem die Skalierbarkeit der Prozesse sichergestellt werden, wozu sich die Gasphasensynthese besonders eignet.

Hier setzt die Vision der Forschungsgruppe an: Auf Basis des Verständnisses der elementaren Schritte von Prekursorchemie, Partikelentstehung, Partikel‐Partikel‐Interaktion und In‐situ‐Funktionalisierung werden Designregeln für Syntheseverfahren und ‐reaktoren entwickelt und demonstriert, die eine maßgeschneiderte Synthese, Modifizierung und Strukturierung von Nanopartikeln in der Gasphase ermöglichen. Exemplarisch werden zwei Materialsysteme untersucht: Komposite auf Basis von Eisen‐ und Eisenoxid‐Nanopartikeln und strukturierte Siliziumpartikel und Nanokomposite. Da der Schwerpunkt der Forschungsgruppe auf der Kombination von Analyse, Modellbildung und Simulation liegt, werden sequenziell Materialien und Prozesse mit einer Steigerung der Komplexität untersucht. So werden auf jeder Zwischenstufe eine Rückkopplung mit dem Experiment und eine Validierung der entwickelten Simulationen und Designregeln sichergestellt.

Das Vorhaben erschließt nicht nur die Erzeugbarkeit neuer Materialvariationen, sondern zielt dabei auf die Entwicklung von skalierfähigen Prozessen und wissenschaftlich fundierten, validierten Simulationsverfahren, die wesentliche Grundlagen für eine zuverlässige Nutzung von hochspezifischen funktionalen Nanopartikelensembles und deren industrielle Anwendung sind.

Cenide Kombi-logo
 

For2284 Logo Rgb

 

gefördert durch:
Dfg-logo
 

Sprecher:

Prof. Dr. Christof Schulz
Universität Duisburg-Essen         
Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften
Tel.: +49 203 379-8161
E-Mail: christof.schulz@uni-due.de

Symposium Plakat 2018