Graduates Project area I

Modulation of APC and NK cell function

Cornelia Barnowski, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Ingo Drexler (project 1)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

cornelia.barnowski@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Role of innate immune triggers for the
induction of poxviral CD8 T cell responses

Heba Islam, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Carsten Kirschning (project 2)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

heba.islam@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Analysis of rapid IFNγ production of NK cells
towards adaptive immunity and anti-bacterial
activities of macrophages early upon
bacterial infection

Qian Li, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Mengji Lu (project 3)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

qian.li.1990@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
TLR7 promotes CD8+ T cell immunity by enhancing
cellular metabolism in a TCR-dependent manner

Jernej Pušnik, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Hendrik Streeck (project 4)

Institute for HIV Research
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

jernej.pusnik@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Shaping HIV specific immune responses
through adjuvant triggered pathways

Graduates Project area II

Crosstalk between APCs/NKs and lymphocytes

Christina Wenzek, M.Sc.

Supervisors: T. Knuschke, J. Buer (project 5)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

christina.wenzek@uk-essen.de

Project title:
CD47 and its impact on innate and adaptive
immune responses during influenza virus infection

Anne-Charlotte Antoni, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Stefanie Flohé (project 6)

Department of Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

anne-charlotte.antoni@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Bystander activation of memory T cells in the
bone marrow during polymicrobial sepsis and
its impact on the differentiation of dendritic cells

Hanna Abberger, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Wiebke Hansen (project 7)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

hanna.abberger@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Antigen-presenting cells during
Plasmodium yoelii infection

Lamin B. Cham, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Karl Lang (project 8)

Institute of Immunology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

lamin.cham@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Melanoma Cell Adhesion Molecule (MCAM) is essential
in the antiviral control and survival during
VSV infection

Anfei Huang, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Philipp Lang (project 9)

Department of Molecular Medicine II
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

huang_anfei@163.com

Project title:
Interaction between NK cells
and CD8+ T cell immunity

Christopher Menne, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Jörg Timm (project 10)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

christopher.menne@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Role of NKT and NK cells in chronic viral infection

Ralf Grutza, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Jörg Timm (associated student)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

ralf.grutza@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Regulation of T cells by NK cells in CMV seropositive
and negative individuals

Graduates Project area III

Cytokine-mediated regulation of immune responses

Rouven-Luca Kaiserling, M.Sc.

Supervisors: K. Sutter, U. Dittmer (project 11)

Institute for Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

rouven-luca.kaiserling@uni-due.de

Project title:
Modulation of retrovirus-specific CD4+ T cell
responses by IFNα subtypes

Jens Lichte, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Klaus Pfeffer (project 12)

Institute of Medical Microbiology and Hospital Hygiene
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

jens.lichte@uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Functional characterization of mGBP proteins
in the host defense against chlamydia and
intracellular parasites

Mareike Eilbrecht, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Mirko Trilling (project 13)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

mareike.eilbrecht@uni-due.de

Project title:
The role of interferon-dependent JAK-STAT signaling
for adaptive immune responses
against cytomegaloviruses

Yulia Alejandra Flores Martinez, M.Sc.

Associated PhD student
Supervisor: Mirko Trilling (associated student)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

yulia.flores-martinez@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Identification and characterization of
DDB1/CRLs-interacting proteins
encoded by MLN4924-sensitive viruses

Vittoria Palmieri, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Astrid Westendorf (project 14)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

vittoria.palmieri@uk-essen.de

Project title:
The role of IL-33 on innate and adaptive immunity
during Citrobacter rodentium-induced inflammation

Nhi Ngo Thi Phuong, M.Sc.

Associated PhD student
Supervisors: Astrid Westendorf, Eva Pastille

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

nhi.ngothiphuong@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Impacts of modulation of specific molecules ST2
and IL-33 on development and growth
of colon cancer

MD students

Björn Bösken, cand. med.

Supervisor: Stefanie Flohé

Department of Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

bjoern.boesken@uk-essen.de

Project title:
IL-15 antagonizes trauma-induced suppression
of CD56bright NK cells – potential involvement of c-Kit

Tabea Faßnacht, cand. med.

Supervisor: Astrid Westendorf

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

tabea.fassnacht@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Impact of colonic Toll like receptor signaling
on colitis associated colon cancer

Carsten Geissler, cand. med.

Supervisor: Jörg Timm

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

carsten.geissler@uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
The role of CD100 in controlling HCV infection

Patricia Kamolz, cand. med.

Supervisor: Ingo Drexler

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

patricia.kamolz@uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Characterization of MHC II-restricted processing and
presentation pathways of MVA-delivered antigens

Friederike-Charlotte Krempe, cand. med.

Supervisor: Mirko Trilling

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

friederike.krempe@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Identification and characterization of
anti-leukaemic factors secreted by AML cells
upon contact with HCMV particles

Katharina Loevenich, cand. med.

Supervisor: Wiebke Hansen

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

katharina.loevenich@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
The role of IL-10 during Plasmodium yoelii infection

Florian Scheffel, cand. med.

Supervisor: Torben Knuschke

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

florian.scheffel@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Aktivierung einer HIV-gerichteten CD8+-T-Zellantwort
mit Hilfe eines Nanopartikel basierten impfstoffes

Contact

Research Training Group 1949
Immune Response in
Infectious Diseases -
Regulation between Innate
and Adaptive Immunity

Spokesperson:
Prof. Dr. Astrid Westendorf

Deputy: Prof. Dr. Jörg Timm
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Mirko Trilling

Coordination: Daniela Catrini

Phone: +49 201 723 35 88
E-Mail: daniela.catrini@uni-due.de