Graduates Project area I

Modulation of APC and NK cell function

Ylenia Longo, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Ingo Drexler (project 1)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

ylenia.longo@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Regulation of T cell immunity by
innate signals during poxvirus infection

Heba Islam, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Carsten Kirschning (project 2)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

heba.islam@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Analysis of rapid IFNγ production of NK cells
towards adaptive immunity and anti-bacterial
activities of macrophages early upon
bacterial infection

Jia Li, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Mengji Lu (project 3)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

jia.li@uk-essen.de

Project title:
 

Graduates Project area II

Crosstalk between APCs/NKs and lymphocytes

Philine Steinbach, M.Sc.

Supervisors: T. Knuschke, J. Buer (project 5)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

philine.steinbach@uk-essen.de

Project title:
The impact of CD47 signaling on the immune
response during influenza virus infection

Tijana Ristic, M.Sc.

Supervisors: Stefanie Flohé (project 6)

Department of Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

Project title:
Antigen-independent activation of T cells during polymicrobial sepsis and its impact on the differentiation and function of myeloid cells

Julia Falkenstein, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Wiebke Hansen (project 7)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

julia.falkenstein@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Impact of different macrophage subsets on
T cell responses and pathogen clearance
during Plasmodium yoelii infection

Zhongwen Hu, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Karl Lang (project 8)

Institute of Immunology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

zhongwen.hu@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Role of acid ceramidase in immune response

Julia Werner, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Philipp Lang (project 9)

Department of Molecular Medicine II
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

julia.werner2@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Interaction between NK cells
and CD8+ T cell immunity

Lara Katharina Olejnik, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Jörg Timm (project 10)

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

lara.olejnik@hhu.de

Project title:
Role of NKT cells in HCV infection
and HCV/HIV co-infection

Ramona Grothmann, M.Sc.

Associated PhD student
Supervisor: Jörg Timm

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

ramona.grothmann@hhu.de

Project title:
NK cell regulation in chronic viral infections:
immune evasion mechanisms of HCMV and HBV

Ralf Grutza, M.Sc.

Associated PhD student
Supervisor: Jörg Timm

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Düsseldorf
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf

ralf.grutza@med.uni-duesseldorf.de

Project title:
Regulation of T cells by NK cells in CMV seropositive
and negative individuals

Graduates Project area III

Cytokine-mediated regulation of immune responses

Mara Schwerdtfeger, M.Sc.

Supervisors: K. Sutter, U. Dittmer (project 11)

Institute for Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

mara.schwerdtfeger@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Modulation of anti-retroviral T cell responses
by different IFNα subtypes

Yulia Alejandra Flores Martinez, M.Sc.

Associated PhD student
Supervisor: Mirko Trilling

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

yulia.flores-martinez@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Identification and characterization of
DDB1/CRLs-interacting proteins
encoded by MLN4924-sensitive viruses

Franziska Baier, M.Sc.

Supervisor: Astrid Westendorf (project 14)

Institute of Medical Microbiology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

franziska.baier@uk-essen.de

Project title:
Interleukin-33-mediated dysbiosis and
the consequences for enteric bacterial infection

MD students

Friederike-Charlotte Krempe, cand. med.

Supervisor: Mirko Trilling

Institute of Virology
University Hospital Essen
University of Duisburg-Essen

friederike.krempe@stud.uni-due.de

Project title:
Identification and characterization of
anti-leukaemic factors secreted by AML cells
upon contact with HCMV particles

Contact

Research Training Group 1949
Immune Response in
Infectious Diseases -
Regulation between Innate
and Adaptive Immunity

Spokesperson:
Prof. Dr. Astrid Westendorf

Deputy: Prof. Dr. Jörg Timm
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Mirko Trilling

Coordination: Dr. Eva van Well

Phone: +49 201 723 35 88
E-Mail: eva.van-well@uni-due.de