Overview of project A05

Femtosecond Time-Resolved Soft X-Ray Spectroscopy for an Element Specific Analysis of Complex Nanostructures


Bovensiepen, Tarasevitch, Wende

This project investigates the non-equilibrium dynamics in time and space in complex materials after microscopic excitation by element specific probing using soft x-ray pulses which are generated at large scale unser facilities like synchrotron light sources and x-ray free electron laser or will be provided table-top using high harmonic generation. In order to analyse the microscopic principles of dynamics at interfaces we investigate simple model systems like heterostructures by near edge soft x-ray spectroscopy at absorption edges of the element of interest. So far, experiments at metal-insulator heterostructures used the absorption at the Fe L3 and the O K edge to achieve a microscopic understanding of energy transfer across the Fe/MgO interface.

figure A05

Schematic representation of UV / IR-pump/xray-probe investigations of Fe/MgO multilayers





Oscar Andres Naranjo-Montoya, Manuel Bridger, Alexander Tarasevitch and Uwe Bovensiepen
Compression and Characterization of Ultrashort Pulses at 1.5 and 3 µm Wavelength

DOI: 10.1364/EUVXRAY.2022.JW5A.10



Nico Rothenbach, Markus Ernst Gruner, Katharina Ollefs, Carolin Schmitz-Antoniak, Soma Salamon, Ping Zhou, Renkai Li, Mianzhen Mo, Suji Park, Xiaohong Shen, Stephen P. Weathersby, Jun Yang, Xijie Wang, Ondrej Šipr, Hubert Ebert, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten, Rossitza Pentcheva, Uwe Bovensiepen, Andrea Eschenlohr and Heiko Wende
Effect of Lattice Excitations on Transient Near-Edge X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy
Phys. Rev. B 104, 144302 (2021)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.104.144302

Nithin Suryadevara, Asato Mizuno, Lea Spieker, Soma Salamon, Stephan Sleziona, Andre Maas, Erik Pollmann, Benoît Heinrich, Marika Schleberger, Heiko Wende, Senthil Kumar Kuppusamy and Mario Ruben
Structural Insights into Hysteretic Spin-Crossover in a Set of Iron(II)-2,6-Bis(1H-Pyrazol-1-Yl)Pyridine) Complexes
Chem. Eur. J. 26, e20210385 (2022)
DOI: 10.1002/chem.202103853



Elena L. Fertman, A.V. Fedorchenko, Vladimir A. Desnenko, Vladimir Shvartsman, Doru C. Lupascu, Soma Salamon, Heiko Wende, A.I. Vaisburd, Andrius Stanulis, R. Ramanauskas, Nikolai M. Olekhnovich, Anatoly V. Pushkarev, Yu V. Radyush, Dmitry D. Khalyavin and A.N. Salak
Exchange Bias Effect in Bulk Multiferroic BiFe₀.₅Sc₀.₅O₃
AIP Advances 10, 045102 (2020)
DOI: 10.1063/1.5135586

Benedikt Eggert, Markus E. Gruner, Katharina Ollefs, Ellen Schuster, Nico Rothenbach, Michael Y. Hu, Jiyong Zhao, Thomas S Toellner, Wolfgang Sturhahn, Rossitzza Pentcheva, Beatriz Roldan Cuenya, Esen E. Alp, Heiko Wende and Werner Keune
Interface-Related Magnetic and Vibrational Properties in Fe/MgO Heterostructures from Nuclear Resonant Spectroscopy and First-Principles Calculations
Phys. Rev. Materials 4, 044402 (2020)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevMaterials.4.044402

Alexandra Terwey, Markus Ernst Gruner, Werner Keune, Joachim Landers, Soma Salamon, Benedikt Eggert, Katharina Ollefs, V. Brabänder, Iliya Radulov, Konstantin Skokov, Tom Faske, Michael Y. Hu, Jiyong Zhao, Esen E. Alp, Carlotta Giacobbe, Oliver Gutfleisch and Heiko Wende
Influence of Hydrogenation on the Vibrational Density of States of Magnetocaloric LaFe11.4Si1.6H1.6
Phys. Rev. B 101, 064415 (2020)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.101.064415

Martin Hähsler, Joachim Landers, Tim Nowack, Soma Salamon, Michael Zimmermann, Stefan Heißler, Heiko Wende and Silke Behrens
Magnetic Properties and Mössbauer Spectroscopy of Fe₃O₄/CoFe₂O₄ Nanorods
Inorg. Chem 59, 3677 (2020)
DOI: 10.1021/acs.inorgchem.9b03267



Joachim Landers, Soma Salamon, Hilke Remmer, Frank Ludwig and Heiko Wende
In-Field Orientation and Dynamics of Ferrofluids Studied by Mössbauer Spectroscopy
ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 11, 3160 (2019)
DOI: 10.1021/acsami.8b16356

Louis Frentzel-Beyme, Marvin Kloß, Roman Pallach, Soma Salamon, Henning Moldenhauer, Joachim Landers, Heiko Wende, Jörg Debus and Sebastian Henke
Porous Purple Glass - a Cobalt Imidazolate Glass with Accessible Porosity from a Meltable Cobalt Imidazolate Framework
J. Mater. Chem. A 7, 985 (2019)
DOI: 10.1039/c8ta08016j

Felix Huttmann, Nico Rothenbach, Stefan Kraus, Katharina Ollefs, Lucas M. Arruda, Matthias Bernien, Danny Thonig, Anna Delin, Jonas Fransson, Kurt Kummer, Nicholas B. Brookes, Olle Eriksson, Wolfgang Kuch, Thomas Michely and Heiko Wende
Europium Cyclooctatetraene Nanowire Carpets: a Low-Dimensional, Organometallic, and Ferromagnetic Insulator
J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 10, 911 (2019)
DOI: 10.1021/acs.jpclett.8b03711

Andre Seyen, Roland Kohn, Uwe Bovensiepen, Dietrich von der Linde and Alexander Tarasevitch
Toward Attosecond Pulse Synthesis from Solids: Spectral Shaping, Field Autocorrelation, and Two-Color Harmonic Generation
Phys. Rev. A 99, 033836 (2019)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevA.99.033836

Manuel Bridger, Oskar Naranjo-Montoya, Alexander Tarasevitch and Uwe Bovensiepen
Towards High Power Broad-Band OPCPA at 3 μm
Opt. Express 27, 31330 (2019)
DOI: 10.1364/OE.27.031330

Nico Rothenbach, Markus Ernst Gruner, Katharina Ollefs, Carolin Schmitz-Antoniak, Soma Salamon, Ping Zhou, R. Li, M. Mo, S. Park, X. Shen, S. Weathersby, J. Yang, X. J. Wang, Rossitza Pentcheva, Heiko Wende, Uwe Bovensiepen, Klaus Sokolowski-Tinten and Andrea Eschenlohr
Microscopic Non-Equilibrium Energy Transfer Dynamics in a Photoexcited Metal/Insulator Heterostructure
Phys. Rev. B 100, 174301 (2019)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.100.174301



Joachim Landers, Soma Salamon, Werner Keune, Markus Ernst Gruner, Maria Krautz, Jiyong Zhao, Michael Y. Hu, Thomas Toellner, Esen E. Alp, Oliver Gutfleisch and Heiko Wende
Determining the Vibrational Entropy Change in the Giant Magnetocaloric Material LaFe11.6S1.4 by Nuclear Resonant Inelastic x-Ray Scattering
Phys. Rev. B 98, 024417 (2018)
DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevB.98.024417