Medical Technoloy Systems - Research

Topics and areas

Medical technology is not only a highly relevant and interesting field of research, but due to demographic change in Germany, Europe and most industrialized nations, it is also particularly relevant for a broad field of medical technology applications, ranging from prevention to acute medical care, surgery, rehabilitation and nursing to clinical and outpatient care for people with disabilities or the elderly. There are many questions that need to be addressed and answered by a well-balanced research agenda, which on the one hand offers sufficient freedom for basic research and on the other hand keeps applicability in mind. For applicability, not only the technical solution and its power to change are relevant, but above all its social and individual acceptance. This applies in particular to rehabilitation systems and assistance systems that are in direct contact with people, i.e. that physically interact or cooperate with them. Research and development in this field can therefore only be successful if all facets that these special challenges entail are taken into account through interdisciplinary collaboration in basic and applied research.

Research topics of the Department of Medical Technology Systems are therefore broadly based and range from basic questions on the requirements for human-machine interfaces to the use of psychophysiological data for the recognition of the state and intention of a person interacting with or being supported by a medical technology system to the research and development of technical solutions for the processing and use of such data for multimodal and multisensory medical technology interaction and assistance systems.

Methodologically, the focus is on the use and further development of signal processing methods and machine learning, not only to evaluate multimodal psychophysiological data from humans and to learn models, but also to optimize technical systems and interfaces as automatically as possible through explicit or implicit feedback from humans. This is a basic prerequisite for more individualized support or rehabilitation of users. The research and development of new machine learning methods that enable the integration and use of human feedback is therefore of central importance.

Furthermore, research focuses on medical systems that act (semi-) autonomously, i.e. robotic systems that gain insight into the state and intentions of humans via embedded processing of psychophysiological data and learn to provide optimal support themselves. Issues such as efficient "onboard" processing and learning on such data, as well as automatic acquisition of training data while the systems are in use, are central here and find application, for example, in individualized rehabilitation using exoskeletons after, e.g., stroke.

In summary, the main research goal is to explore and develop reliable and intuitive human-robot interaction solutions that are applicable in realistic scenarios. The focus is on the development of new methods, especially new machine learning methods and scenarios for different application areas of such systems in medical technology. In particular, basic questions, such as neuroscientific questions about the plasticity of the brain, the processing of important information, motion planning or factors influencing the cognitive resilience of humans in complex interaction scenarios are to be investigated with the tools of machine learning methods.

Research topics and areas include in detail:

  • Processing and learning on psychophysiological data, such as the:
    • human electroencephalogram,
    • electromyogram,
    • eye movement data,
    • motion data,
    • facial expression,
    • speech,
    • and multisensory and multimodal combinations of such data.
  • Development of multisensory and multimodal interfaces for implicit and explicit interaction, such as:
    • brain-computer interfaces,
    • speech assistance systems,
    • systems for emotion recognition on multimodal data, such as speech, facial expressions or gestures, or
    • tactile interfaces.
  • Control and feedback control approaches for robotic assistance systems that take into account human state and intention, on topics such as:
    • intuitive user interfaces,
    • safety control on different levels, such as hardware solutions, motor drivers up to high-level solutions, or
    • kinematic and dynamic control of robotic assistance systems, taking into account the state and intention of the human being.
  • Embedded, distributed systems for control, data processing and evaluation of psychophysiological data in medical systems, based on e.g.
    • Parallel processing using FPGAs or<
    • Microcontrollers for sensor processing and motor control.

Systeme der Medizintechnik - Forschung

Themen und Bereiche

Die Medizintechnik ist nicht nur ein hochrelevantes und interessantes Forschungsfeld, sondern aufgrund des demographischen Wandels in Deutschland, Europa und den meisten Industrienationen besonders relevant für ein breites Feld an Medizintechnik-Anwendungen, das von der Prävention über die akutmedizinische Versorgung, Chirurgie, Rehabilitation und Pflege bis hin zur klinischen und ambulanten Versorgung von Menschen mit Behinderungen oder älteren Menschen reicht. Es ergeben sich viele Fragestellungen für deren Bearbeitung und Beantwortung es eine ausgewogene Forschungsagenda bedarf, die einerseits genügend Freiraum für die Grundlagenforschung bietet und andererseits die Anwendbarkeit im Blick hat. Für die Anwendbarkeit sind nicht nur die technische Lösung und ihre Veränderungskraft relevant, sondern vor allem deren soziale und individuelle Akzeptanz. Dies gilt insbesondere für Rehabilitationssysteme und Assistenzsysteme, die im direkten Kontakt mit dem Menschen stehen, also mit ihm physisch interagieren oder kooperieren. Forschung und Entwicklung in diesem Gebiet kann daher nur dann erfolgreich sein, wenn alle Facetten, die diese speziellen Herausforderungen mit sich bringen, durch interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Grundlagen- und Anwendungsforschung Beachtung finden.

Forschungsthemen des Fachbereichs Systeme der Medizintechnik sind daher breit aufgestellt und reichen von Grundlagenfragen zur Anforderungen an die Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen über Nutzung von psychophysiologischen Daten für die Erkennung des Zustandes und der Intention einer mit einem Medizintechniksystem interagierenden oder von diesen unterstützten Person bis hin zur Forschung und Entwicklung technischer Lösungen der Verarbeitung und Nutzung solcher Daten für multimodale und multisensorielle medizintechnische Interaktions- und Assistenzsysteme.

Methodisch liegt ein Schwerpunkt auf der Nutzung und Weiterentwicklung von Verfahren zur Signalverarbeitung und dem Maschinellem Lernen, um nicht nur multimodale psychophysiologische Daten vom Menschen auszuwerten und Modelle zu erlernen, sondern um insbesondere auch technische Systeme und Schnittstellen durch explizites oder implizites Feedback des Menschen möglichst automatisch zu optimieren. Dies ist Grundvoraussetzung dafür, Menschen individueller zu unterstützen oder zu rehabilitieren. Die Forschung und Entwicklung neuer maschineller Lernmethoden, die die Integration und Nutzung von menschlichem Feedback ermöglichen, ist somit von zentraler Bedeutung.

Im Fokus der Forschung stehen des Weiteren medizintechnische System die (halb-) autonom agieren, also robotische Systeme, die über eingebettete Verarbeitung psychophysiologischer Daten Einblick in den Zustand und die Intentionen des Menschen erhalten und selbst lernen, optimal zu unterstützen. Fragen, wie die effiziente „onboard“ Verarbeitung und Lernen auf solchen Daten sowie die automatische Gewinnung von Trainingsdaten während der Nutzung der Systeme, sind hier zentral und finden z.B. Einsatz bei der individualisierten Rehabilitation mittels Exoskeletten nach z.B. Schlaganfall.

Zusammenfassend ist das Hauptforschungsziel die Erforschung und Entwicklung zuverlässiger und intuitiver Mensch-Roboter-Interaktionslösungen, die in realitätsnahen Szenarien anwendbar sind. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Entwicklung neuer Methoden, insbesondere neuer maschineller Lernverfahren und Szenarien für verschiedene Anwendungsbereiche solcher Systeme der Medizintechnik. Hierbei sollen insbesondere auch Grundlagenfragen, wie z.B. neurowissenschaftliche Fragestellungen zur Plastizität des Gehirns, der Verarbeitung wichtiger Information, der Bewegungsplanung oder Einflussfaktoren der kognitiven Belastbarkeit des Menschen in komplexen Interaktionsszenarien mit den Werkzeugen maschineller Lernverfahren untersucht werden.

Forschungsthemen und Bereiche sind im Einzelnen:

  • Verarbeitung und Lernen auf psychophysiologische Daten, wie dem:
    • Elektroenzephalogramm,
    • Elektromyogramm
    • Augenbewegungsdaten
    • Bewegungsdaten
    • Mimik
    • Sprache
    • und multisensorielle und multimodale Kombinationen
  • Entwicklung multisensorischer und multimodaler Schnittstellen zur impliziten und expliziten Interaktion, wie:
    • Gehirn-Computer Schnittstellen
    • Sprach-Assistenzsysteme
    • Systeme zur Erkennung der Emotionslage auf multimodalen Daten, wie Sprache, Mimik oder Gestik
    • Taktile Schnittstellen
  • Steuerungs- und Regelungsansätze für robotische Assistenzsysteme, die den Zustand und die Intention des Menschen beachten, zu Themen wie:
    • Intuitive Nutzerschnittstellen
    • Sicherheitsregelung auf verschiedenen Ebenen, wie Hardware Lösungen, Motortreiber bis hin zu high-level Lösungen
    • Kinematische und dynamische Regelung von robotischen Assistenzsystemen unter Beachtung des Zustandes und der Intention des Menschen
  • Eingebettete, verteilte Systeme zur Regelung, Datenverarbeitung und Auswertung psychophysiologischer Daten im medizintechnischen System, basierend auf z.B.
    • Parallelverarbeitung mittels FPGAs
    • Mikrocontrollern zur Sensorverarbeitung und Motorsteuerung