Home

Banner 2 Neu Englisch

Affective and cognitive mechanisms of specific Internet-use disorders (ACSID)

ACSID Logo neu

In the eleventh revision of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11) of the WHO, gambling disorder and gaming disorder are classified as “disorders due to addictive behaviors”, which are considered as occurring either predominantly offline or predominantly online. Also in the ICD-11, other behaviors may be considered for the category “other specified disorders due to addictive behaviors”. We consider problematic online pornography use (although this may also be considered a subtype of compulsive sexual behavior disorder in the ICD-11), problematic online buying-shopping, and problematic use of social networks as potential disorders belonging to this category.

Studies addressing the (bio-)psychological processes involved in different types of the aforementioned predominantly online addictive behaviors are needed in order to improve prevention and treatment. The proposed Research Unit focuses on the most prominent predominantly online addictive behaviors, namely gaming, pornography use, buying-shopping, and social-networks use. We use the umbrella term Internet-use disorders (IUD) when referring to the aggregated group of specific types of an uncontrolled and addictive use of Internet applications. The overall goal of the Research Unit is to contribute to a better understanding of the common and differential psychological and neurobiological processes underlying different types of IUD.

Based on a comprehensive theoretical model, namely the Interaction of Person-Affect-Cognition-Execution (I-PACE) model, we aim to investigate the involvement of the theoretically argued (bio)psychological processes, in particular affective and cognitive mechanisms, involved in the development and maintenance of these predominantly online addictive behaviors. The core concepts, which will be addressed in the Research Unit are cue reactivity and craving, executive functions and specific inhibitory control, implicit cognitions, and decision making. A cross-sectional comparison together with a follow-up investigation of individuals with recreational/non-problematic use, risky use, and pathological use of specific Internet applications, will allow for the identification of stages of the process of a predominantly online addictive behavior. Deutschlandkarte englisch

One central characteristic of the proposed Research Unit is that we will investigate more than 1450 participants at several sites using the same core battery of experimental paradigms, neuropsychological tasks, questionnaires, biomarkers, and ambulatory assessment, and including a six-months follow-up survey. By investigating the hypotheses regarding the involvement of affective and cognitive mechanisms in IUD in the proposed Research Unit, we will not only contribute to a better scientific understanding of the psychological processes of IUD, but we can also contribute to clinical applications by showing which affective and cognitive mechanisms should be addressed more intensively in prevention and treatment.

Projectnumber 411232260



11.02.2022 Annual Report 2021

We look back on a successful year 2021, in which FOR 2974 started its work in May. Despite difficult conditions and without being able to physically meet once as a whole group, we have so far been able to achieve the milestones we set and in particular to meet the start of data collection with only minor delays. What has happened in FOR 2974 since May 2021? A lot!

Read more

19.05.2021 Twitter Account

The research group is now on Twitter!
Click here to not miss any updates!

 

All News

25.09.2020 DFG research group approved

The German Research Foundation (DFG) has approved the research group (FOR 2974) "Affective and cognitive mechanisms of specific Internet-use disorders" (ACSID).

 

All News

Alle Logos 2

Startseite

banner 2 neu

Affective and cognitive mechanisms of specific Internet-use disorders (ACSID)

ACSID Logo neu

In der elften Revision der Internationalen Klassifikation der Krankheiten (ICD-11) der WHO werden die Glücksspielstörung und die Computerspielstörung als Störungen durch süchtiges Verhalten klassifiziert, die als vorrangig offline bzw. vorrangig online ausgeführt weiter spezifiziert werden können. Weitere süchtige Verhaltensweisen können in die Kategorie „andere spezifische Störungen durch süchtiges Verhalten“ eingeordnet werden. Wir erachten die Pornographienutzungsstörung (wenngleich sie auch als Subfacette einer Störung durch zwanghaftes sexuelles Verhalten aufgefasst werden kann), die Störung des Kaufverhaltens und die Soziale-Netzwerks-Nutzungsstörung als potentielle Störungen, die als „andere spezifische Störungen durch süchtiges Verhalten“ klassifiziert werden könnten.

Studien, die (bio-)psychologische Prozesse untersuchen, die den genannten vorrangig online ausgeführten süchtigen Verhaltensweisen zugrunde liegen könnten, sind notwendig, um Prävention und Therapie zu verbessern. Die beantragte Forschungsgruppe fokussiert auf die prominentesten online ausgeführten süchtigen Verhaltensweisen: Computerspielen, Pornographienutzung, Kaufen und die Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke. Den Oberbegriff Internetnutzungsstörungen verwenden wir, wenn wir uns auf die aggregierte Gruppe der spezifischen Formen einer unkontrollierten und süchtigen Nutzung von Internetapplikationen beziehen. Das übergeordnete Ziel der Forschungsgruppe ist es, zu einem besseren Verständnis gemeinsamer und differentieller psychologischer und neurobiologischer Prozesse, die den spezifischen Internetnutzungsstörungen zugrunde liegen, beizutragen.

Basierend auf dem theoretischen I-PACE (Interaction of Person-Affect-Cognition-Execution) Modell beabsichtigen wir, die (bio-)psychologischen Prozesse, insbesondere die affektiven und kognitiven Mechanismen, der Entstehung und Aufrechterhaltung der genannten, vorrangig online ausgeführten, süchtigen Verhaltensweisen zu untersuchen. Die Kernkonzepte, die in der Forschungsgruppe adressiert werden sollen sind Reizreaktivität, Exekutivfunktionen und spezifische Inhibitionskontrolle, implizite Kognitionen und Entscheidungsverhalten. Ein Querschnittsvergleich zusammen mit einer Folgebefragung von Personen mit unproblematischem, riskantem und pathologischem Verhalten soll die Stadien des Suchtprozesses aufzeigen.Deutschlandkarte deutsch

Ein Hauptmerkmal der Forschungsgruppe ist, dass wir beabsichtigen, mehr als 1450 Personen mit der gleichen Kernbatterie von experimentellen Paradigmen, neuropsychologischen Aufgaben, Fragebögen, Biomarkern, einem ambulanten Assessment, und einer sechs-Monats-Nachbefragung zu untersuchen. Durch die Prüfung der Hypothesen bezüglich der zugrundeliegenden affektiven und kognitiven Mechanismen möchten wir nicht nur zu einem besseren Verständnis der psychologischen Prozesse von Internetnutzungsstörungen beitragen, sondern auch aufzeigen, welche affektiven und kognitiven Prozesse in der Prävention und Therapie stärker adressiert werden sollten.

​​Projektnummer 411232260

19.05.2021 Twitter Account

Die Forschungsgruppe ist nun auf Twitter!

Hier klicken, um keine Updates zu verpassen!

 

Alle Neuigkeiten

01.05.2021 Start der Forschungsgruppe

Die Forschungsgruppe (FOR 2974) hat zum 1. Mai 2021 ihre Arbeit aufgenommen. In sieben Teilprojekten sollen die psychologischen und neurobiologischen Prozesse der Entstehung und Aufrechterhaltung von spezifischen Internetnutzungsstörungen erforscht werden.

Alle Neuigkeiten

25.09.2020 DFG Forschungsgruppe bewilligt

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) hat die Forschungsgruppe (FOR 2974) „Affective and cognitive mechanisms of specific Internet-use disorders" (ACSID) bewilligt. 

 

Vollständiger Text

Alle Logos 2