EFRE THzIZ

Terahertz Integration Center

The THz semiconductor chips produced at the ZHO by the BHE and OE departments are well known in the international research community -- now the ZHO is creating the possibilities to realize complete THz modules. This will enable cooperation with industry and research institutes on the system level, for the applications of the day after tomorrow: 6G Terahertz communication with more than 100 Gigabit/s data rates, state-of-the-art radars, material recognition and medical imaging. For new production facilities and equipment, UDE is receiving over 6.5 million euros from state and EU funds from the EFRE/NRW. research infrastructures funding line. This will create a university terahertz integration center (THzIZ) that is unique in Germany and covers the entire spectrum from materials and chip technology to modules and systems.

Read more

Research Project ForLab SmartBeam

Research Laboratory Microelectronics Duisburg-Essen for High Frequency Beam Forming

Electronic and photonic high-frequency chips are developed in the research laboratory Microelectronics (ForLab) SmartBeam. New applications in robotics and autonomous traffic require high-resolution radar systems with the ability to distinguish between materials. This can be achieved with carrier frequencies in the THz frequency range. In order to generate THz radiation with sufficient intensity, individual THz emitters must be interconnected. These "phased array" configurations allow deflection of the beam in any direction to scan the environment -- this is the goal of ForLab SmartBeam.

The ForLab SmartBeam is funded by the BMBF with 4 M€ until 2021: a new metal-organic vapor phase deposition (MAPD) facility for the growth of semiconductor structures for THz transistors, an atomic layer deposition (ALD) facility and THz measurement instruments will be purchased in this project. Besides BHE, the OE and DSV departments are involved in ForLab.

Read more

JointLab Innovative materials and components for terahertz electronics

Joint Lab InP Devices of the University of Duisburg-Essen and Ferdinand-Braun-Institut, Berlin

The UDE has founded the Joint Lab "InP Devices" with the Ferdinand Braun Institute in Berlin.
The Joint Lab accesses the complementary infrastructures of FBH and UDE in order to combine the fundamental materials and device research at UDE - with a focus on indium phosphide (InP) - with the industrial process technology of FBH. With InP-based monolithic integrated RF circuits (MMIC), highest frequencies in the Terahertz (THz) band can be achieved and thus new system applications can be realized at low cost. The partners jointly research innovative semiconductor structures and components for THz applications and develop integrated components for the use of electronic THz technology. Applications include non-destructive material testing, high-resolution medical imaging and broadband communication systems.

Read more

DFG Collaborative Research Center/Transregio SFB/TRR 196 MARIE

Mobile Material Transceiver

The department BHE is involved in the SFB/TRR MARIE with two subprojects: C02 and C11. Both projects deal with the investigation of efficient electronic terahertz sources. These sources are realized with resonant tunnel diodes (RTD) and heterostructure bipolar transistors (HBT) by means of special semiconductor processes in the material system indium phosphide. Oscillators can still be operated efficiently at THz frequencies. Of particular importance is the control of the radiated frequency and the phase position of the oscillators in order to be able to interconnect them in fields. Here the principle of "subharmonic injection locking" is applied, i.e. the oscillators are phase-locked to a control oscillator with 2x or 3x low frequency.

Read more

Doctoral Training Network in Terahertz

Technologies for Imaging, Radar and Communication Applications (TeraApps)

TeraApps is a European Marie-Skłodowska-Curie PhD network for terahertz technologies led by the University of Glasgow. It comprises 15 PhD students who receive excellent training in the multidisciplinary field of semiconductor terahertz technologies in 10 leading European laboratories in science and industry for applications in imaging, radar, communications and sensor technology. In Duisburg the departments BHE and ATE are involved.

Read more

DFG Research Project Fast modulating nanowire LED in the blue/green spectral range

Nanowire LED blue/green

Gallium Nitride light emitting diodes with indium gallium nitride quantum wells marginalize the energy demand of lighting. But the modulation of the light from these quantum wells becomes very slow due to internal electric fields and prevents applications in optical communication technology. The lateral surface of GaN nanowires are field-free and offer a way out of this situation to achieve record values in optical data transmission.

Read more

DFG Research Project Nanowire Heterostructure Bipolar Transistor (NW-HBT)

III/V nanowire core-shell structures offer a complex nanoscale topology for hetero bipolar transistors. For the function of the device a loss of poor transport of minorities through the base is crucial. The project aims at a suitable material design for a highly efficient suppression of the recombination mechanisms with the goal to demonstrate for the first time with a nanowire bipolar transistor.

Read more

DFG Research Project Analysis of charge transport in charge separating III/V nanowire contacts

The leakage current via p-n contacts in semiconductor nanowires is orders of magnitude above theoretical models and limits p-n applications in solar cells, light-emitting diodes and transistors. In this project leakage current mechanisms are analyzed and strategies for reduction are developed. Using the example of tunnel-assisted defect recombination, an experimental reduction of the leakage current by many orders of magnitude was successful.

Project partners: Prof. Thomas Hannappel, TU Ilmenau

Read more

EFRE THzIZ

Terahertz-Integrationszentrum

Die im ZHO von den Fachgebieten BHE und OE entstehenden THz-Halbleiterchips sind sind in der internationalen research community gut bekannt -- jetzt werden im ZHO die Möglichkeiten zur Realisierung ganzer THz-Module geschaffen. Dies ermöglicht die Zusammenarbeit mit Industrie und Forschungsinstituten auf der Systemebene, für die Anwendungen von übermorgen: 6G Terahertz-Kommunikation mit mehr als 100 Gigabit/s Datenraten, modernste Radare, Materialerkennung und medizinische Bildgebung. Für neue Produktionsanlagen und Geräte erhält die UDE über 6,5 Millionen Euro aus Landes- und EU-Mitteln aus der Förderlinie EFRE/NRW.Forschungsinfrastrukturen. Dadurch entsteht ein deutschlandweit einmaliges universitäres Terahertz-Integrationszentrum (THzIZ), das die Breite vom Material über Chiptechnologie bis zu modulen und Systemen abdeckt.

Mehr lesen

Forschungsprojekt ForLab SmartBeam

Forschungslabor Mikroelektronik Duisburg-Essen für Hochfrequenz-Strahlformung

Im Forschungslabor Mikroelektronik (ForLab) SmartBeam werden elektronische und photonische Höchstfrequenz-Chips entwickelt. Neue Anwendungen in der Robotik und im autonomen Verkehr erfordern hochaufgelöste Radarsysteme mit der Fähigkeit zur Materialunterscheidung. Dies kann mit Trägerfrequenzen im THz-Frequenzbereich erreicht werden. Um THz-Strahlung mit ausreichender Intensität zu generieren, müssen einzelne THz-Emitter zusammengeschaltet werden. Diese "phased array" Konfigurationen ermöglichen die Ablenkung des Strahls in beliebige Richtungen, zum Scannen des Umfelds -- dies ist das Ziel von ForLab SmartBeam.

Das ForLab SmartBeam wird vom BMBF bis 2021 mit 4 M€ gefördert: eine neue Kristallzuchtanlage (metal-organic vapor phase deposition) für das Wachstum von Halbleiterstrukturen für THz-Transistoren, eine Anlage zur Atomlagenabscheidung (ALD) sowie THz-Messinstrumente werden in diesem Projekt neu beschafft. Neben BHE sind an ForLab die Fachgebiete OE und DSV beteiligt.

Mehr lesen

JointLab Innovative Materialien und Bauelemente für die Terahertz-Elektronik

Joint Lab InP Devices von Universität Duisburg-Essen und Ferdinand-Braun-Institut, Berlin

Die UDE hat mit dem Ferdinand-Braun-Institut in Berlin das Joint Lab "InP Devices" gegründet. 
Das Joint Lab greift auf die komplementären Infrastrukturen des FBH und der UDE zu, um die grundlegende Material- und Bauelementforschung an der UDE – mit Schwerpunkt auf Indiumphosphid (InP) – mit der industrietauglichen Prozesstechnologie des FBH zu kombinieren. Mit InP-basierten monolithisch integrierten HF-Schaltkreisen (MMIC) lassen sich höchste Frequenzen im Terahertz (THz)-Band erreichen und somit neue Systemanwendungen kostengünstig realisieren. Gemeinsam erforschen die Partner innovative Halbleiterstrukturen und -bauelemente für THz-Anwendungen und entwickeln integrierte Komponenten für den Einsatz der elektronischen THz-Technologie. Die Applikationen liegen unter anderem in der zerstörungsfreien Materialprüfung, der hochauflösenden medizinischen Bildgebung sowie in Breitbandkommunikations-Systemen. 

Mehr lesen

DFG Sonderforschungsbereich/Transregio SFB/TRR 196 MARIE

Mobile Material Transceiver

Das Fachgebiet BHE ist im SFB/TRR MARIE mit zwei Teilprojekten beteiligt: C02 und C11. In beiden Projekten geht es um die Erforschung effizienter elektronischer Terahertz-Quellen. Diese Quellen werden mit resonanten Tunneldioden (RTD) und Heterostruktur-Bipolartransistoren (HBT) mittels spezieller Halbleiter-Prozesse im Materialsystem Indiumphosphid realisiert. Oszillatoren können auch bei THz-Frequenzen noch effizient betrieben werden. Von besonderer Bedeutung ist die Kontrolle der abgestrahlten Frequenz und der Phasenlage der Oszillatoren, um diese in Feldern zusammenschalten zu können. Hierbei wird das Prinzip des "subharmonic injection locking" angewendet, d.h. die Oszillatoren werden an einen Kontroll-Oszillator mit 2x oder 3x niedriger Frequenz phasenstarr gekoppelt.

 

Mehr lesen

Doctoral Training Network in Terahertz

Technologies for Imaging, Radar and Communication Applications (TeraApps)

TeraApps ist ein europäisches Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Doktoranden Netzwerk für Terahertz-Technologien unter Führung der University of Glasgow. Es umfasst 15 Doktorenden, die auf dem multidisziplinären Gebiet der Halbleiter-Terahertz-Technologien in 10 führenden europäischen Laboren in Wissenschaft und Industrie eine ausgezeichnete Ausbildung für die Anwendungsbereiche Bildgebung, Radar, Kommunikation und Sensorik erhalten. In Duisburg sind die Fachgebiete BHE und ATE beteiligt.

Mehr lesen

DFG-Forschungsprojekt Schnell modulierbare Nanodraht-LED im blau/grünen Spektralbereich

Nanodraht-LED blau/grün

Gallium Nitrid Leuchtdioden mit Indium Gallium Nitrid Quantenbrunnen marginalisieren den Energiebedarf der Beleuchtung. Aber die Modulation des Lichtes aus diesen Quantenbrunnen wird durch interne elektrische Felder sehr langsam und verhindert Anwendungen in der optischen Kommunikationstechnik. Die Seitenfläche von GaN Nanodrähte sind feldfrei und weisen hier einen Ausweg zu Rekordwerten der optischen Datenübertragung.

Mehr lesen

DFG-Forschungsprojekt Nanodraht-Heterostruktur Bipolartransistor (NW-HBT)

III/V Nanodraht Kern/Hülle-Strukturen bieten eine komplexe nanoskalige Topologie für Hetero Bipolartransistoren. Für die Funktion des Bauelementes ist ein Verlust armer Transport der Minoritäten durch die Basis entscheidend. Das Projekt zielt auf eine geeignetes Materialdesign für eine höchst effiziente Unterdrückung der Rekombinationsmechanismen mit dem Ziel damit erstmalig mit einen Nanodraht Bipolartransistor zu demonstrieren.

Mehr lesen

DFG-Forschungsprojekt Analyse des Ladungstransportes in Ladungstrennenden III/V Nanodraht Kontakten

Der Leckstrom über p-n-Kontakte in Halbleiternanodrähten ist Größenordnungen oberhalb der theoretischen Modelle und limitiert p-n-Anwendungen in Solarzellen, Leuchtdioden und Transistoren. In diesem Projekt werden Leckstrom Mechanismen analysiert und Strategien zur Reduktion entwickelt. Am Beispiel der tunnelunterstützten Defektrekombination gelang eine experimentelle Absenkung des Leckstroms um viele Größenordnungen.

Projektpartner: Prof. Thomas Hannappel, TU Ilmenau

Mehr lesen