Welcome to Physics Education at the University of Duisburg-Essen

Where to find us... Physics Education in Essen

Physics Education at the University of Duisburg-Essen (WG's Prof. Fischer, Prof. Härtig & Prof. Theyßen) is located in Building T03 right at the Essen Campus: on the 4th floor (R04) you find the offices of the staff whereas on the 5th and 6th floor (R05 and R06) there are the facilities for lectures, seminars and practical training. Most of the lessons take place here. 

What exactly is... Physics Education ?

The natural science of physics is integral to a well-rounded education. From an individual perspective, physics is important in providing us with a sense of orientation in the world and helping us to make sound decisions in modern society. From a societal perspective, physics is crucial as well given the increasing demand for people who can apply physics knowledge and practical skills to the design and use of ecological and industrial technologies.  
Everyone who has gone through a traditional school system, however, is well aware that it is no easy task acquiring a theoretical and practical understanding of physics in the classroom setting. A central focus of research in physics education is therefore to describe and explain learning processes that are specific to the subject of physics and shared by students from all levels and types of schools. This research also encompasses the study and optimization of teaching methods, and seeks to develop instruments for improving the quality of teaching and teacher training in physics education.  
  
The working groups on physics education investigate the contexts and conditions under which classroom learning takes place, and study the effects of teacher training on physics instruction at all school levels, drawing methodologies from the fields of psychology and educational science. A further  Research focus, conducted in close cooperation with the disciplines of biology and chemistry, is the investigation of aspects of teaching and learning that are unique to these three natural sciences.

Lectures summer term 2022

The courses of the summer term 2022 start on 04 April 2022. The lecture period ends on 15 July 2022.

To enable teaching, students must register in the Moodle course rooms of the events. Further information on the exact form of the course and on accompanying exercises / projects can be obtained by the students directly from the respective lecturer via the Moodle course room.

The current course catalogue as a PDF document can be found here.

The following table [german only] provides an overview of the courses offered and is constantly being updated.

Course catalogue summer term 2022

Willkommen in der Didaktik der Physik der Universität Duisburg-Essen

Wo findet man uns? Physikdidaktik in Essen

Die Didaktik der Physik findet man auf dem Campus Essen im Gebäude T03. In der vierten Etage (R04) sind die Büros der Mitarbeiter:innen, in der fünften und sechsten Etage (R05 und R06) befinden sich Seminar-, Labor- und Praktikumsräume, wo ein großer Teil der Lehre stattfindet.

Womit beschäftigt sich eigentlich die... Didaktik der Physik?

Die Naturwissenschaft Physik ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Bildung, die Menschen in einer modernen Gesellschaft einerseits benötigen, um sich orientieren und entscheiden zu können; andererseits werden aus gesellschaftlicher Sicht verstärkt Menschen mit Fähigkeiten in Physik benötigt, die in der Lage sind, konkurrenzfähige ökologische und industrielle Technologien zu entwickeln und einzusetzen. Dass der Erwerb von Wissen und Fertigkeiten im Physikunterricht der Schule nicht zu den einfachsten Aufgaben gehört, hat dagegen jeder Mensch erfahren, der unser Schulwesen durchlaufen hat.  
 
Die Didaktik der Physik beschreibt und erklärt unter anderem für das Fach spezifische Lernprozesse von Schülerinnen und Schülern aller Schulformen und Schulstufen, sie untersucht und optimiert Unterrichtsprozesse, und sie entwickelt Instrumente zur Qualitätsentwicklung für den Physikunterricht und die Ausbildung von Physiklehrerinnen und Physiklehrern. Die Arbeitsgruppe erforscht die Bedingungen schulischen Lernens und die Wirkung von Lehrerausbildung im Fach Physik aller Schulstufen und integriert dabei sowohl psychologische als auch erziehungswissenschaftliche Forschungsmethoden. In Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern werden als ein Schwerpunkt die Besonderheiten des Lehrens und Lernens der drei Naturwissenschaften herausgearbeitet.

Aktuell Lehre im SoSe 2022

Die Lehrveranstaltungen des Sommersemesters 2022 beginnen am 04. April 2022. Die Vorlesungszeit endet am 15. Juli 2022.

Um die Lehre zu ermöglichen, müssen sich die Studierenden in die Moodle-Kursräume der Veranstaltungen eintragen. Weitere Informationen zur genauen Form der Veranstaltung und zu begleitenden Übungen / Projekten erfahren die Studierenden direkt über den Moodle-Kursraum vom jeweiligen Lehrenden.

Das aktuelle Vorlesungsverzeichnis als PDF-Dokument ist hier zu finden.

Die verlinkteTabelle gibt einen Überblick über die angebotenen Veranstaltungen und wird ständig ergänzt.

Veranstaltungen Fachdidaktik SoSe 2022