Teaching Staff

The MA Development and Governance comprises a variety of lectures and courses along the modules. Teaching is being done by professors and lecturers from the University of Duisburg-Essen as well as researchers from the German Development Institute. Follow the links below and find out more about our knowledgable teaching staff.

Please refrain from emailing research proposals to our teaching staff before you begin your studies here.
If you have any questions regarding the programme itself, please contact Mr. Mayer at ma-devgov@uni-due.de

Prof. Dr. Dr. Nele Noesselt

Professor of Politics in China / East Asia

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel

Professor of International Relations and Development Policy,
Director of the Centre for Global Cooperation Research (GCR)

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann

Professor of International Relations and Development Policy, regional focus Africa
Director of the Institute for Development and Peace (INEF)

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Michael Kaeding

Professor of European Integration and European Politics

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Susanne Pickel

Professor of Comparative Politics

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Andreas Blätte

Professor of Public Policy

Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Nicolai Dose

Professor of Public Administration (Chair for Political Sciences and Public Administration), Managing Director of the Rhine Ruhr Institute for Social Research and Policy Consulting e.V. (RISP)

Staff Portfolio

PD Dr. Jörg Faust

Director of the German Institute for Development Evaluation / Deutsches Evaluierungsinstitut der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit DEval gGmbH


PD Dr. Julia Leininger

Head of department „Transformation of political (dis-)order“ am German Institute of Development and Sustainability (IDOS)

Staff Portfolio