Personal Analytics

The Personal Analytics centre of competence is an interdisciplinary junior research group subsidised by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The research focus is the field of Human Computer Interaction for demographic change. The team consists of scientists from the disciplines computer science, cognitive science, electrical engineering, health science and philosophy.

News

Publications - 09.04.2018 Do self-monitoring applications promote social inequality?

When it comes to improving the health of the genereal population, mHealth technologies with self-monitoring and intervention components hold a lot of promise. However, due to various factors such as access, targeting, personal resources or incentives, self-monitoring applications run the risk of favouring certain populations. Thus, can self-monitoring applications increase health inequalities, thereby creating a problem of social justice? The new article "Promoting inequality? Self-monitoring applications and the problem of social justice" by Katrin Paldan, Hanno Sauer and Nils-Frederic Wagner deals with that question. It has been published in the journal "AI & Society" and can be found here.

Our team members Katja Herrmanny (l.) and Katrin Paldán / WAZ

Press Review - 21.10.2017 Research Team at University Duisburg-Essen is looking for "Better Eaters"

On the occasion of the start of the evaluation our app "Besser Esser" ("Better Eater") our team members Katja Herrmanny and Katrin Paldán were interviewed by the local newspaper "Westdeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung" (WAZ). The main topic was the status quo of the research project, notably of the apps developed for this purpose. The link to the full article can be found here (German language).

The "Besser Esser" study is currently carried out. If you are interested in participating, feel free to write a message to the organisator sarah.lueckmann@gmx.de. The study is conducted in German. For further information please consult the correspondent page on our website (Becoming research assistant).

The participants of the workshop

Informatik 2017 - 10.10.2017 Participatory Development of Socio-Technical Systems

This year's meet-up of the junior research groups "development of interdisciplinary competences" funded by BMBF took place during the Informatik 2017 (47th Annual Conference of the Society for Computer Science/Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI)) from 25.09. - 29.09.2017 in Chemnitz. It was arranged during the Workshop "Participatory Development of Socio-Technical Systems". As representative of Personal Analytics our team member Michael Schwarz (4th person from right on the photo) attended the workshop. The focus this year concentrated on the interdisciplinary aspects of the participatory development of socio-technical systems with elderly people. Thus, it was a question of how to integrate elderly people in the development process to meet the needs of this target group. Apart from that, the workshop aimed to encourage interdisciplinary discussion and networking between the junior research groups.

UMAP - 12.07.2017 Promoting activity with Implementation Intentions

From 9th to 12th July 2017 the 25th Conference on User Modeling, Adaption and Personalization, short UMAP, took place in Bratislava (Slovakia). Within the scope of the workshop "Temporal and Holistic User Modeling", our team member Michael Schwarz presented a project work on the topic of supporting active behaviour with the help of User Modelling. This work with the title "An Approach to Improve Physical Activity by Generating Individual Implementation Intentions" deals with the support of users in building healthy habits. Over a certain period, the app "DayActivizer" collects activity data which is used to derive a user model. If a lack of activity is detected, the app suggests time slots and activities that match the users interests and routines - based on the user model. Then the users can create so-called Implementation Intentions that aim to help them with the formation of their new habits. To reach this goal, Implementation Intentions have to be viable and to be formulated precisely. As an example: "If I have finished work on Thursdays, I will go running for 30 min."

Zukunftskongress - 04.07.2017 PAnalytics at Zukunftskongress

On 26th and 27th June the 3rd "Zukunftskongress" on the topic of "Bringing technology to the people" took place in Bonn. PAnalytics presented the card game "App Privacy Game" that was developed by our student assistant Alexandra Bergen as part of her Bachelor thesis. The game serves to explain playfully which permissions need to be granted to a health app in order to access which functions. In the course of that, an ethical discussion on data security aspects was encouraged.

Our student assistant Alexandra with Boris Roskothen

Workshops - 23.05.2017 A playful approach to science

In the context of their Bachelor theses our student assistants Alexandra Bergen and Simone Löppenberg organized creative workshops with game experts from the respective domains:

Alexandra started with a workshop on the development of a game to increase the awareness for data security aspects in health monitoring apps and to encourage ethical discussions on this topic. The workshop was attended by the PAnalytics project members and Boris Roskothen, owner of the toy shop Roskothen in Duisburg, who contributed not only his knowledge, but also the rooms for the workshop.

For her Bachelor thesis our student assistant Simone develops an Escape Game to encourage the ethical reflection on the topic autonomy. To her workshop expert Nicolas Ehring from Geschlossene Gesellschaft Duisburg was invited. Together with the PAnalytics staff he worked on the creation of ideas for the game concept.

Personal Analytics

Das Kompetenzzentrum Personal Analytics ist eine durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte interdisziplinäre Nachwuchsforschergruppe. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Mensch-Technik-Interaktion für den demografischen Wandel. Das Team besteht aus Wissenschaftlern aus den Fachgebieten Informatik, Kognitionswissenschaft, Elektrotechnik, Gesundheitswissenschaft und Philosophie.

Aktuelles

Unsere Mitarbeiterinnen Katja Herrmanny (l.) und Katrin Paldán / WAZ

Pressespiegel - 21.10.2017 Forscher-Team der Uni sucht Duisburger „Besser Esser“

Anlässlich des Starts der Evaluierung der App "Besser Esser" wurden unsere Mitarbeiterinnen Katja Herrmanny und Katrin Paldán von der WAZ interviewt. Thematisch ging es um den aktuellen Stand des Forschungsprojektes, sowie insbesondere der zu diesem Zweck entwickelten Apps. Den Link zum vollständigen Artikel finden Sie hier.

Die "Besser Esser" Studie wird aktuell durchgeführt. Wenn Sie Interesse an der Teilnahme haben, schreiben Sie gerne eine Nachricht an die Studienleiterin sarah.lueckmann@gmx.de. Weitere Informationen zur Tätigkeit als ForschungshelferIn finden Sie auf dieser Webseite im Menü unter "Forschungshelfer*in werden".

Die TeilnehmerInnen des Workshops

Informatik 2017 - 10.10.2017 Partizipatives Entwerfen soziotechnischer Systeme

Das diesjährige Treffen der vom BMBF geförderten Nachwuchsforschergruppen "Interdisziplinärer Kompetenzaufbau" hat im Rahmen der Informatik 2017 (47. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI)) vom 25.09. - 29.09.2017 in Chemnitz stattgefunden. Dafür vorgesehen war der Workshop "Partizipatives Entwerfen soziotechnischer Systeme". Als Vertreter von Personal Analytics nahm unser Mitarbeiter Michael Schwarz (auf dem Foto 4. v. r.) teil. Der Fokus des Workshops lag dieses Jahr auf den interdisziplinären Aspekten des partizipativen Entwerfens soziotechnischer Systeme mit älteren Menschen. Es ging also um die Frage, wie man ältere Menschen in den Entwicklungsprozess einbeziehen kann, um Systeme besser auf diese Zielgruppe zuzuschneiden. Daneben diente der Workshop zur interdisziplinären Diskussion und Vernetzung der Nachwuchsforschergruppen.

UMAP - 12.07.2017 Bewegung mithilfe von Handlungsplänen fördern

Vom 09. bis 12.07.2017 fand die 25. Conference on User Modeling, Adaption and Personalization, kurz UMAP, in Bratislava (Slowakei) statt. Im Rahmen des Workshops "Temporal and Holistic User Modeling" stellte unser Mitarbeiter Michael Schwarz eine Projektarbeit zum Thema Bewegungsförderung mithilfe von Nutzermodellierung vor. Bei dieser Arbeit mit dem Titel "An Approach to Improve Physical Activity by Generating Individual Implementation Intentions" geht es um die Unterstützung der NutzerInnen bei der Bildung gesunder Gewohnheiten. Dabei werden mithilfe der App "DayActivizer" über einen längeren Zeitraum Bewegungsdaten gesammelt, aus welchen ein Benutzermodell abgeleitet wird. Wird ein routinemäßiger Mangel an körperlicher Aktivität festgestellt, so werden den NutzerInnen mögliche Zeitfenster und Aktivitäten vorgeschlagen, die - basierend auf dem Nutzermodell - zu ihnen passen. Die NutzerInnen können daraufhin Handlungspläne, sogenannte Implementation Intentions, erstellen, mithilfe derer die Bildung von Gewohnheiten erleichtert werden soll. Dazu müssen diese möglichst präzise formuliert und machbar sein. Diese können zum Beispiel wie folgt aussehen: "Immer wenn ich Donnerstags von der Arbeit nach Hause komme, gehe ich 30 min joggen.".

Zukunftskongress - 04.07.2017 PAnalytics beim Zukunftskongress

Am 26. und 27.06. fand der 3. Zukunftskongress zum Thema "Technik zum Menschen bringen" in Bonn statt. PAnalytics stellte dort unter anderem das im Rahmen von unserer studentischen Hilfskraft Alexandra Bergen entwickelte Kartenspiel "App Privacy Game - Findest du die passende Berechtigung?" vor. So wurde am PAnalytics-Stand spielerisch darüber aufgeklärt, welche Daten einer Gesundheitsapp im Gegenzug zu welchen Funktionen freigegeben werden müssen. Das Spiel soll eine ethische Diskussion zu Datenschutzaspekten bei der Nutzung von Gesundheitsapps anregen.

Unsere SHK Alexandra und Boris Roskothen beim Kreativworkshop

Workshops - 23.05.2017 Wissenschaft spielerisch vermitteln

Im Rahmen ihrer Abschlussarbeiten veranstalteten unsere studentischen Hilfskräfte Alexandra Bergen und Simone Löppenborg Kreativworkshops mit Spieleexperten aus der jeweiligen Branche:

Den Anfang machte Alexandra mit einem Workshop zur Entwicklung eines Spiels, das die Awareness für Datenschutzaspekte in Gesundheitsmonitoringanwendungen steigern und zur ethischen Diskussion dieses Themas anregen soll. Am Workshop nahmen die PAnalytics-Projektmitarbeiter sowie Spieleexperte Boris Roskothen, Inhaber des Spielwarengeschäfts Roskothen teil, der neben seinem Know-How auch seine Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung stellte.

Unsere SHK Simone entwickelt im Rahmen ihrer Bachelorarbeit ein Escape Game, welches zur ethischen Reflektion des Themas Autonomie beitragen soll. Auch dafür wurde in der Anfangsphase ein interdisziplinärer Kreativworkshop veranstaltet. Als Experte war zu diesem Workshop Nicolas Ehring von der Geschlossenen Gesellschaft Duisburg geladen, der den PAnalytics-Mitarbeitern bei der Ideengenerierung für das Konzept mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stand.

 

Für ältere Neuigkeiten, siehe Menüpunkt "Aktuelles".