For information on studying at the University of Duisburg-Essen as an international student, please refer to the  International Office

Outgoings: Application procedure


Online application via the AAA (Akademisches AuslandsAmt) possible from the beginning of December.

Deadline: last Friday in January.

Applicants choose three universities in order of preference. Applicants studying to become a teacher ("Lehramt") have preference over 2-Fach BA and BA KUWI students. Hand in a paper copy of your application to Neil Deane with CV and photo, letter of application (“Motivationsschreiben”), in English, together with “Notenspiegel”. Places offered by the end of February at the latest. Short interviews sometimes necessary in February.

Outgoing students will be registered with their host universities and have accommodation and other formalities organised by July. The courses they attend abroad will be set down in their “Learning agreement” which will be signed by the “Auslandsamt” and Neil Deane. Recognition of courses will be sanctioned and signed by Dr. Michaela Meyer.

> click here for a brief overview over the programme and its financial support opportunities (AAA).

Partner Universities

As a part of the ERASMUS Programme, our partners are situated all over England and Europe:

England Europe

Kingston University: 2 places (September – December)

University of Malaga, Spain: 4 places (September – December)

Newman University College Birmingham: 2 places (September – December)

University of Montpellier, France: 5 places (September – December)

City University Birmingham: 4 places (2 students September – December; 2 students January – April)

University of Tampere, Finland: 3 places (September – December)

University of Chester: 4 places (4 students September – May)

Nicolas Copernicus University of Torun, Poland: 2 places (September – December)

Edge Hill University, Ormskirk: 6 places (3 students September – December; 3 students January – April)

Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway: 2 places (September – December)

Beckett University, Leeds: 4 places (September – December)

University of Ljubljana, Slovenia: 2 places (September – December)

University of Chichester: 6 places (3 students September – December; 3 students January – April)

Cukurova Universitesi, Adana, Turkey: 2 places (September – December)

  Universitat des Illes Balears, Palma de Mallorca, Spain: 2 places (September – December)

Uppsala University, Sweden: 2 places (September – December)


Universita degli Studi di Firenze (Florence), Italy: 2 places (September – December)


Picture shows of both sides of a postcard sent by an erasmus student from abroad, saying: Dear Mr Deane, I'm in Chester right now. Chester is such a lovely city! I met amazing people. Studying here has been a life changing experience! Thanks for this opportunity!! Take care, best wishes Gizem

Icon News News & Events

icon: address​ Address

University of Duisburg-Essen
Department of Anglophone Studies
Universitaetsstr. 12
45141 Essen

The Department of Anglophone Studies ist located in 4th floor hallway A and H, 5th floor hallway A and B.

Read more