Driving Simulators of the Chair of Mechatronics

Driving Simulators of the Chair of Mechatronics

At the Chair of Mechatronics, a highly flexible, modular drive simulator concept has been developed for many years. The development spectrum ranges from a simple static Mockup-simulator to a highly dynamic simulator with a real Vehicle cockpit and cylindrical Cave-Visualization.

One of the central elements is the complex multi-body vehicle model, which simulates a realistic vehicle behavior. The challenge in modeling is the real-time requirements for the system, which must also be ensured with a high degree of model complexity. The application fields of the driving simulators are diverse. For example, innovative driver assistance systems, e.g. Automated and piloted driving in a safe and reproducible development environment, simulating the failure of the electrical servo steering, investigating the effects of human behavior on the power requirements of electric vehicles, or testing the potential of communication between vehicles and the infrastructure in urban environments.

The driving simulator allows both humans (the human in the loop) and real hardware components (hardware in the loop) to be integrated quickly and efficiently into the development process, thus saving development time and costs.

Project supervisor at the Chair of Mechatronics:

Project participants at the Chair of Mechatronics:

Participating Chairs / Departments at the UDE:

Affiliation to the main focus of the Faculty of Engineering at UDE:

Link to the faculty (profile focal points): www.uni-due.de/iw/de/forschung/psp

Fahrsimulator 1 Fahrsimulator 2 Fahrsimulator 3 Fahrsimulator 4 Fahrsimulator 5

Fahrsimulator6 Fahrsimulator7

Fahrsimulatoren des Lehrstuhls für Mechatronik

Fahrsimulatoren des Lehrstuhls für Mechatronik

Am Lehrstuhl für Mechatronik wird seit vielen Jahren ein hochflexibles, modular aufgebautes Fahrsimulatorkonzept entwickelt. Das Entwicklungsspektrum reicht von einem einfachen statischen Mockup-Simulator bis hin zum hochdynamischen Simulator mit realem Fahrzeugcockpit und zylindrischer Cave-Visualisierung.

Eines der zentralen Elemente ist das komplexe Mehrkörper-Fahrzeugmodell, das ein realistisches Fahrzeugverhalten simuliert. Die Herausforderung bei der Modellbildung liegt in den Echtzeitanforderungen an das System, welche auch bei hohem Modellkomplexitätsgrad gewährleistet werden muss. Die Anwendungsfelder der Fahrsimulatoren sind vielfältig. So werden z. B. innovative Fahrerassistenzsysteme, wie z.B. automatisiertes und pilotiertes Fahren in einer sicheren und reproduzierbaren Entwicklungsumgebung getestet, der Ausfall der elektrischen Servolenkung simuliert, die Einflüsse des menschlichen Verhaltens auf den Energiebedarf elektrischer Fahrzeuge untersucht oder die Potentiale der Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und der Infrastruktur in urbanen Umgebungen erprobt.

Der Fahrsimulator ermöglicht es sowohl den Menschen (Human in the Loop) als auch reale Hardwarekomponenten (Hardware in the Loop) schnell und effizient in den Entwicklungsprozess zu integrieren und somit Entwicklungszeit und –kosten einzusparen.

Projektbetreuer am Lehrstuhl für Mechatronik:

Projektbeteiligte am Lehrstuhl für Mechatronik:

Beteiligte Lehrstühle/Abteilungen an der UDE:

Zugehöhrigkeit zu Profilschwerpunkten der Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften an der UDE:

Link zur Fakultät (Profilschwerpunkte): www.uni-due.de/iw/de/forschung/psp

Fahrsimulator 1 Fahrsimulator 2 Fahrsimulator 3 Fahrsimulator 4 Fahrsimulator 5

Fahrsimulator6Fahrsimulator7