Contact Persons at the Department of Philosophy

Winter Term 2022/23
For the current office hours, please refer to the staff pages!

Responsibilities and functions Persons

Head of Department

Deputy Head of Department

Prof. Dr. phil. Oliver Hallich
Secretariat: Iris Monka

Prof. Dr. phil. Neil Roughley
Secretariat: Anne-Janine Naujoks-Sprengel

Administrative Coordinator
  • General questions about studying
  • BAföG-Certificate (only necessary in special cases)
  • E2 Area Officer (B.A. degree)  
Dipl.-Kff. Leslie Arnolds
  • Student counselling for all teacher training courses
  • Contact for all practical phases in the teaching profession
  • Inclusion Officer

Prof. Dr. Raphael van Riel


Student advice service B.A. Angewandte Philosophie and M.A. Philosophie


Student advice M.A. Theorie des Sozialen

apl. Prof. Dr.phil.  Bernd Gräfrath

Dr. phil. Eva Weiler

Prof. Dr. Neil Roughley

Recognition of academic achievements and issuing of certificates of equivalence (all degree programmes).

You can find the forms for credit transfer here.

apl. Prof. Dr. phil.  Bernd Gräfrath

Students with disabilities and chronic illnesses can, if necessary, apply to the University of Duisburg-Essen for disadvantage compensation to ensure equal opportunities. Compensation for disadvantages must be applied for to the responsible examination board chairperson. In principle, an informal written application is sufficient. A medical statement must be attached to the application for disadvantage compensation. This must show that you are unable to complete the examination in the planned form and/or within the planned time due to the disability and/or chronic illness. Further information can be found in the information material provided on the Inclusion Portal.