The Institute for Turkish Studies

The Institute for Turkish Studies is located in the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Duisburg-Essen on the Essen campus.

With its sub-fields and research areas, which take the multilingualism and diversity of Turkey and Germany as their starting point. The Institute of Turkish Studies has developed into a unique degree programme within Germany since it was founded in the winter semester of 1995/96. The Institute of Turkish Studies is characterised by the research objects, cognitive interests and working methods of its sub-fields: Linguistics, literature, cultural studies, history and subject didactics. Turkish Studies is currently the largest institute for Turkish studies outside Turkey.

The Institute of Turkish Studies forms its profile in distinction from, but not in contrast to, the Turkish studies programmes in Germany. While the historically and philologically oriented Turkish Studies programmes at German universities tend to be anchored in Oriental and Asian Studies and linked to the study of other Turkic languages, the teaching and research at the Institute of Turkish Studies focuses on republican Turkey. At the UDE, the study of the literature, culture and history of Turkey first promotes the students' linguistic competence at an academic level. In the classic modules on linguistics, literature and cultural studies as well as subject didactics, the Institute of Turkish Studies also offers the possibility of in-depth study in courses that focus on ethnic and religious diversity, multilingualism and transnationality. With the recruitment of the junior professorship for the history of Turkey in 2016, teaching at the UDE in the fields of contemporary history and non-European history was strengthened.

 Study programmes

Students at the Institute of Turkish Studies can choose between the two teacher training programmes "Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen" (HRSGe) and "Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen" (GyGe). In addition to the teaching degree, Turkish can also be taken as part of the "Kulturwirt" (Cultural Studies) degree programme and "Türkeistudien" (Turkish Studies) as an academic degree programme. More information on these degree programmes is available via this link.

Sub-disciplines

In the sub-discipline of literature and cultural studies, contemporary Turkish-language literature and culture are researched and taught in transnational and comparative contexts. By teaching the basics of literary studies as well as overarching historical and socio-cultural issues, Turkish and Kurdish-language literature is treated as a core part of Turkey's cultural landscape and history.

In the sub-discipline Linguistics of Turkish, general linguistic basic knowledge and linguistic research methods are taught on the one hand, which enable students to view and analyse the language as a sign system from different aspects. On the other hand, the focus is on the modern Turkish language. Linguistic peculiarities of Turkish and German Turkish are researched and taught analytically and descriptively. Another focus is on multilingualism and multiscripting of German-Turkish multilinguals in Germany.

The sub-discipline of historical studies contributes to the teaching of historical competence, which - regardless of their respective subject orientation - not only enables students to deal with history in a reflective manner, but also guides them in the acquisition of questioning, methodological, factual and value judgement competence.

The teacher training programme for the subject Turkish for HRSGe and GyGe is of central importance at the Institute for Turkish Studies. Teaching methodology consists of the fields of language didactics, literature didactics and the didactics of regional and cultural studies. The special interest of subject didactics is the examination of teaching and learning processes in class.

The sub-discipline of educational sciences analyses fundamental concepts and theories of the connection between school, education and society. The focus is on sociological issues of education, such as social inequality of educational opportunities and the social function of academic education, on the one hand, and on the other hand, more pedagogical-psychological approaches that have teaching and the individual student as their central subject, such as dealing with cultural diversity in the classroom, learning and motivation theories as well as support measures.

R12 R03 B07 Institute Director

Prof. Dr. Işıl Uluçam-Wegmann
Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-2578
E-Mail: isil.ulucam-wegmann@uni-due.de

Read more

R12 R03 B20 Deputy Director of the Institute:

Prof. Dr. Kader Konuk
Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-4355
E-Mail: kader.konuk@uni-due.de

Read more

R12 R03 B24 Custodianship:

Franz Füg, M.A.
Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-6634
Office Hours: tuesdays, 10-11 a.m. by appointment only.
E-Mail: franz.fueg@uni-due.de

Read more

R12 R03 B05 Secretariat:

N.N
Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-3876
Fax: +49 (0)201 183-2158
E-Mail: sekretariat.turkistik@uni-due.de  

Address

Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften
Institut für Turkistik
Universitätsstraße 12
D - 45141 Essen
The Institute of Turkish Studies is located on the Essen campus in building R12 on the 3rd floor in the B corridor.
Here you can find out about your travel options: Site plans and travel information

Explanation of the Institute's homepage

The Institute of Turkish Studies accepts no responsibility for information about the subject that is disseminated via student exchange on other internet portals, such as "Facebook". This concerns all information related to the subject.

The Turkish Studies homepage is the only website for whose content the Institute is responsible.

Startseite des Instituts für Turkistik

Das Institut für Turkistik

Das Institut für Turkistik ist in der Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften der Universität Duisburg-Essen am Campus Essen angesiedelt.

Mit seinen Teildisziplinen und Forschungsgebieten, die von der Mehrsprachigkeit und Diversität der Türkei sowie Deutschlands ausgehen, hat sich das Institut für Turkistik seit seiner Entstehung im WS 1995/96 zu einem einzigartigen Studiengang in ganz Deutschland entwickelt. Das Institut für Turkistik zeichnet sich durch die Forschungsgegenstände, Erkenntnisinteressen und Arbeitsmethoden seiner Teildisziplinen aus: Linguistik, Literatur-, Kultur-, Geschichtswissenschaft sowie Fachdidaktik. Die Turkistik stellt das bisher größte Institut für Türkeistudien außerhalb der Türkei dar.

Das Institut für Turkistik bildet sein Profil in Abgrenzung von, aber nicht im Gegensatz zu den turkologischen Studiengängen in Deutschland. Während die historisch-philologisch orientierten Turkologie-Studiengänge an deutschen Universitäten eher in den Orient- und Asienwissenschaften verankert und mit dem Studium anderer Turksprachen verknüpft sind, konzentriert sich die Lehre und Forschung am Institut für Turkistik auf die republikanische Türkei. An der UDE fördert das Studium der Literatur, Kultur und Geschichte der Türkei zunächst die sprachliche Kompetenz der Studierenden auf einem akademischen Niveau. In den klassischen Modulen zu Linguistik, Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft sowie Fachdidaktik bietet das Institut für Turkistik außerdem die Möglichkeit der Vertiefung in Lehrveranstaltungen, die ethnische und religiöse Diversität, Mehrsprachigkeit und Transnationalität in den Vordergrund stellen. Mit der Einwerbung der Juniorprofessur für die Geschichte der Türkei im Jahre 2016 wurde die Lehre an der UDE in den Bereichen der Zeitgeschichte und außereuropäischen Geschichte gestärkt.

Studiengänge

Zur Auswahl stehen den Studierenden im Institut für Turkistik die beiden Lehramtsstudiengänge "Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen" (HRSGe) sowie "Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen" (GyGe). Neben dem Lehramt kann Türkisch außerdem im Rahmen des Studiengangs "Kulturwirt" belegt werden und als akademischer Studiengang "Türkeistudien" gewählt werden. Nähere Informationen zu den Studiengängen stehen unter diesem link zur Verfügung.

Teildisziplinen

In der Teildisziplin Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften wird die zeitgenössische türkischsprachige Literatur und Kultur in transnationalen und komparatistischen Zusammenhängen erforscht und unterrichtet. Durch die Vermittlung literaturwissenschaftlicher Grundlagen sowie übergreifender historischer und soziokultureller Fragestellungen wird die türkisch- sowie kurdischsprachige Literatur als ein zentraler Teil der Kulturlandschaft und -geschichte der Türkei behandelt.

In der Teildisziplin Linguistik des Türkischen werden einerseits allgemeines linguistisches Grundlagenwissen und linguistische Forschungsmethoden vermittelt, die den Studierenden ermöglichen, die Sprache als Zeichensystem aus unterschiedlichen Aspekten zu betrachten und zu analysieren. Andererseits richtet sich der Blick auf die moderne türkische Sprache. Linguistische Besonderheiten des Türkeitürkischen und des Deutschlandtürkischen werden analytisch und deskriptiv erforscht und unterrichtet. Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bildet dabei die Mehrsprachlichkeit sowie Mehrschriftlichkeit deutsch-türkisch Mehrsprachiger in Deutschland.

Die Teildisziplin Geschichtswissenschaft trägt vor allem zu der Vermittlung der Geschichtskompetenz bei, die - unabhängig von ihrer jeweiligen fachlichen Orientierung - die Studierenden nicht nur zum reflektierten Umgang mit der Geschichte befähigt, sondern darüber hinaus auch zum Erwerb der Frage-, Methoden-, Sach- und Werturteilskompetenz anleitet.

Dem Lehramtsstudium für das Unterrichtsfach Türkisch für HRSGe und GyGe kommt am Institut für Turkistik eine zentrale Bedeutung zu. Die Fachdidaktik konstituiert sich aus ihren Arbeitsgebieten Sprachdidaktik, Literaturdidaktik sowie der Didaktik der Landes- und Kulturkunde. Das besondere Interesse der Fachdidaktik gilt der Auseinandersetzung mit unterrichtlichen Lehr- und Lernprozessen.

In der Teildisziplin Bildungswissenschaften werden grundlegende Begrifflichkeiten und Theorien des Zusammenhangs von Schule, Bildung und Gesellschaft analysiert. Schwerpunkte sind dabei zum einen bildungssoziologische Themen wie soziale Ungleichheit der Bildungschancen und gesellschaftliche Funktion von akademischer Bildung, zum anderen stärker pädagogisch-psychologische Ansätze, die den Unterricht und den individuellen Schüler zum zentralen Gegenstand haben, so etwa der Umgang mit kultureller Vielfalt im Klassenzimmer, Lern- und Motivationstheorien sowie Fördermaßnahmen.

Institutsdirektorin:

Prof. Dr. Kader Konuk

R12 R03 B20

Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-4355

E-Mail: kader.konuk@uni-due.de

 

Kustodin: 

Sabine Fazis, M.A.

R12 R03 B24

Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-6634

E-Mail: sabine.fazis@uni-due.de

 

Sekretariat:

Petra Lindner-Roullé

Sandra Hemmelmann

Anne-Janine Naujoks-Sprengel, M.A.

R12 R03 B05

Tel.: +49 (0)201 183-3876

Fax: +49 (0)201 183-2158

E-Mail: sekretariat.turkistik@uni-due.de

Adresse:

Universität Duisburg-Essen
Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften
Institut für Turkistik
Universitätsstraße 12
D - 45141 Essen

Das Institut für Turkistik befindet sich am Campus Essen im Gebäude R12 in der 3. Etage im B-Gang. 

Hier können Sie sich über Ihre Anreisemöglichkeiten informieren: Lagepläne und Anreiseinformationen

Erklärung zur Homepage des Instituts

Das Institut für Turkistik übernimmt keine Verantwortung für Informationen über das Fach, die via Studentenaustausch auf anderen Internetportalen, wie z. B. auf "Facebook", verbreitet werden. Dies betrifft alle Informationen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Fach stehen.

Die Homepage der Turkistik ist die einzige Website, für deren Inhalte das Institut verantwortlich ist.