Ph.D. Programme International Relation/Peace and Development Studies

Together with the professorships of International Relations and Development Policy at the Institute for Political Science at the University of Duisburg-Essen (Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel, Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann) and Prof. Dr. Hartwig Hummel (Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf), INEF offers a doctoral programme in the field of "International Relations / Peace and Development Research".

The programme does not receive third-party funding and therefore cannot offer scholarships.

Supervision by one of the professors mentioned above is a prerequisite for participation in the Ph.D. programme.

The participating doctoral students are integrated into a structure which enables them to plan their Ph.D. project in manageable individual steps. In addition, they are familiarized with selected methods and theoretical approaches in regularly offered workshops. The programme not only facilitates networking among the doctoral students, but also serves to link individual Ph.D. projects with the research profiles of the participating institutes.

Read More

Goals

Structuring: The Ph.D. students are integrated into a structure that allows them to plan their PhD project into straightforward individual steps and to finish it within three years if possible.

Method and Theory Training: The Ph.D. students are familiarised with selected methods and theoretical approaches. The courses are closely planned in cooperation with the Ph.D. students, allowing them to integrate the respective knowledge in their Ph.D. projects.

Networking: The programme does not only allow the networking among the students but also the connection between the Ph.D. projects and the research profiles of the participating institutes. Hereby, research and publication output can be increased significantly.

Qualifications

Beside the qualifications and requirements in the Ph.D. regulations of the participating Universities, a condition to take part in the Ph.D. course is the supervision of the Ph.D. project by one of the professors of the core team. Please contact the person in question directly (see Core Team).

Focus

The course focuses thematically on the research fields International Relations, Peace and Conflict Research and Development and Transformation Research. Beyond that, the following topics are addressed during three two-day workshops per year:

  • Training of selected theoretic approaches, which can be used within the development of the research design
  • Applied tuition of Social Sciences methods with an emphasis on qualitative methods
  • Experience and strategies for the challenges in the writing process as well as during field research
  • Presentation and discussion of drafts, while every participant has to pass three 'mile stones': (1) exposé (2) planning and discussion of the empirical part of the research (field research, document and content analysis, discourse analysis, expert interviews etc.) (3) results
  • Analysis of theses as "best practices" and "worst practices"
  • Organisation of joint conference panels

Core team

  • Prof Tobias Debiel (Professor of International Relations and Development at the University of Duisburg-Essen, Director of INEF)
  • Prof Christof Hartmann (Professor of International Relations and Development with a focus on sub-Saharan Africa at the University of Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof Hartwig Hummel (Heinrich Heine University, Düsseldorf)

The programme is designed as an accompanying training measure for PhD candidates supervised by the professors listed above.

DokNet

You find further information and details on doctoral degrees at the Faculty of Social Science (University Duisburg-Essen) on the site of the doctoral programme doknet.

UAR Graduate Centre

The UA Ruhr Graduate Centre for Development Studies is a collaboration project in the framework of the University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr (UAR). The three involved institutes from the Ruhr-University Bochum and the University Duisburg-Essen cooperate to conjoin their distinctive research and teaching areas for complementary benefits. Pease find further information about the Graduate Centre here.

Promotionskolleg Internationale Beziehungen/Friedens- und Entwicklungsforschung

Das INEF bietet seit Herbst 2006 gemeinsam mit den Professuren für Internationale Beziehungen und Entwicklungspolitik am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Duisburg-Essen (Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel, Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann) sowie mit Prof. Dr. Hartwig Hummel (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf) ein Promotionskolleg im Bereich „Internationale Beziehungen/Friedens- und Entwicklungsforschung“ an.

Das Promotionskolleg ist nicht drittmittelfinanziert und kann daher keine Stipendien anbieten.

Die Betreuung durch einen der genannten Professoren ist Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme am Promotionskolleg.

Die teilnehmenden Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden werden über das Promotionskolleg in eine Struktur eingebunden, die es ihnen ermöglicht, ihr Dissertationsprojekt in überschaubaren Einzelschritten zu planen und so zu einem erfolgreichen Abschluss zu führen. Darüber hinaus werden diese im Rahmen von regelmäßig angebotenen Workshops mit ausgewählten Methoden und theoretischen Ansätzen vertraut gemacht. Das Promotionskolleg dient nicht nur der Vernetzung der Promovierenden untereinander, sondern auch der möglichen Verkopplung der Promotionsarbeiten mit den Forschungsprofilen der beteiligten Institute.

weiter lesen

Ziele

Strukturierung: Die PromovendInnen werden in eine Struktur eingebunden, die es ihnen ermöglicht, ihr Dissertationsprojekt in überschaubaren Einzelschritten zu planen und möglichst innerhalb von drei Jahren abzuschließen.

Methoden-/Theorievermittlung: Die PromovendInnen werden mit ausgewählten Methoden und theoretischen Ansätzen vertraut gemacht. Es handelt sich hierbei um ein Angebot, das eng mit den PromovendInnen abgestimmt wird und dazu dient, die entsprechenden Kenntnisse in das jeweilige Forschungsvorhaben ergänzend einfließen zu lassen.

Vernetzung: Das Promotionskolleg dient nicht nur der Vernetzung der PromovendInnen untereinander, sondern auch der möglichen Verkopplung der Promotionsarbeiten mit den Forschungsprofilen der beteiligten Institute. Forschungsleistung und Publikationsoutput können hierdurch nennenswert erhöht werden.

Voraussetzung

Voraussetzung zur Teilnahme an dem Promotionsprogramm ist, neben den formalen Vorgaben der entsprechenden Promotionsordnungen, dass die Dissertation von einem der beteiligten promotionsberechtigten Dozenten betreut wird. Hierzu nehmen Sie bitte mit der betreffenden Person Kontakt auf (siehe Kernteam).

Schwerpunkte

Thematische Schwerpunkte des Kollegs liegen auf den Forschungsfeldern Internationale Beziehungen, Friedens- und Konfliktforschung sowie Entwicklungs- und Transformationsforschung. Darüber hinaus werden folgende Schwerpunkte in den drei zweitägigen Workshops pro Jahr behandelt:

  • Vermittlung einschlägiger theoretischer Ansätze, die bei der Entwicklung des Forschungsdesigns herangezogen werden können
  • Anwendungsorientierte Vermittlung sozialwissenschaftlicher Methoden mit einem Akzent auf qualitativen Methoden
  • Erfahrungsberichte und Lösungsstrategien zu Herausforderungen im Schreibprozess und bei der Forschungsdurchführung
  • Präsentation und Diskussion schriftlicher Ausarbeitungen, wobei jede PromovendIn drei Meilensteine zu bewältigen hat: (1) Exposé, (2) Planung oder Auswertung des empirischen Teils der Forschung (Feldforschung, Dokumenten- und Inhaltsanalyse, Diskursanalyse, Eliteninterviews, etc.), (3) Forschungsergebnisse zum Abschluss der Dissertation
  • Analyse hervorragender und evtl. auch missglückter Dissertationen im Sinne von "best practices" (bzw. "worst practices")
  • Organisation gemeinsamer Tagungspanels

Kernteam

  • Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel (Professor für Internationale Beziehungen und Entwicklungspolitik an der Universität Duisburg-Essen, Direktor des INEF)
  • Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann (Professur für Internationale Beziehungen und Entwicklungspolitik mit Regionalschwerpunkt Subsahara-Afrika an der Universität Duisburg-Essen)
  • Prof. Dr. Hartwig Hummel (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)

Das Promotionskolleg ist als ein begleitendes Ausbildungsprogramm für jene Promovendinnen und Promovenden konzipiert, die von den genannten Professoren betreut werden.

DokNet

Sie erhalten weitere Informationen und Details zur Promotion an der Fakultät für Gesellschaftswissenschaften der Universität Duisburg-Essen auf der Seite der Graduiertenförderung "doknet".

UAR Graduate Centre

The UA Ruhr Graduate Centre for Development Studies is a collaboration project in the framework of the University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr (UAR). The three involved institutes from the Ruhr-University Bochum and the University Duisburg-Essen cooperate to conjoin their distinctive research and teaching areas for complementary benefits. Pease find further information about the Graduate Centre here.