Research Area I: Global Governance for Sustainable Development

Research Focus

► Reducing inequalities via the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
► Problematizing the concept of development and overcoming traditional roles in development cooperation
► Participation of non-state actors and new forms of accountability
► Transnational and global governance practices in the areas of global health, land, food and poverty reduction 

With the catalogue of 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the member states of the United Nations have committed themselves to concertedly addressing crucial problems such as poverty, hunger, environmental degradation, lack of access to education or health care by 2030. The focus is on reducing the inequalities that still exist between countries, within societies or between the sexes. The commitment to “sustainable development” also puts the traditional concept of development to the test. The addressees of development are no longer exclusively countries of the Global South, but societies worldwide. More than ever before, development cooperation is understood as part of a multi-layered structure of global governance practices.

Read More

With the growing complexity of cross-border problems and the growing number of actors, of instruments used and, in many cases, parallel processes, it is increasingly controversial who sets binding rules for whom and with what objective. In other words, the controversy is over who has authority and what this authority is based on. The values propagated and the governance practices associated with them are also being critically scrutinized. This becomes clear in the discussion of partnerships as an instrument for dealing with problems at all levels of action. For this instrument, hailed as a panacea, raises pressing questions, not only theoretical but also very practical, about its interpretation, legitimacy, its effectiveness and, above all, the way in which it is implemented at local level.

In networks between state, private and civil society actors, too, immanent hierarchies develop because of concentrations of power. The challenge therefore arises how the participation of relevant stakeholders can be ensured in the face of existing power inequalities. Besides the question of who is allowed to participate in political processes and who is ultimately allowed to make binding decisions for a group (based on which “good reasons”?), we also address the question of how and in what form the rule-making actors can be held accountable. We combine these questions, for example, in analyses of how civil society actors can be engaged “meaningfully”.

In this research area, we also engage with the practice of development cooperation. On a substantive-strategic level, one focus is on the extent to which projects of development cooperation and the associated forms and norms of governance reflect the desired coherence and overcoming of silos. At the actor level, we are interested in whether traditional roles and relationships between state donors and recipients are overcome, the range of actors involved is broadened, and processes are made more participatory.

Empirically, we examine the issues raised in the context of the design and practices of global governance for sustainable development, particularly in the areas of global health, land, food/food insecurity, poverty (alleviation) and resilience.

Research Projects

Global Trends. Analysis

Ways out of Poverty, Vulnerability and Food Insecurity

Recent Publications

► Gaesing, Karin 2020: Access to Land and Securing of Land Rights in Development Cooperation. Analyses and Recommendations. Duisburg: INEF, AVE-Studie 22b. 

► Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2021: Der wachsende Einfluss privater Stiftungen, in: Vereinte Nationen, 69: 2, 57-62. DOI: 10.35998/VN-2021-0007

Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2021: Transformation through ‘Meaningful’ Partnership? SDG 17 as Metagovernance Norm and Its Global Health Implementation, in: Politics and Governance, 9: 1, 153-163. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.17645/pag.v9i1.3656

Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2020: The Threat of Thinking in Threats: Reframing Global Health During and After COVID-19, in: Zeitschrift für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung, 9: 2, 309-320. DOI: 10.1007/s42597-020-00049-7

Head of Research Area

Dr. Cornelia Ulbert

Room: LS 119
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-4422
E-Mail: cornelia.ulbert[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Participating Members

Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel

Room: LF 324
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-2021
E-Mail: tobias.debiel[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Dr. Karin Gaesing

Room: LS 031
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-3973
E-Mail: karin.gaesing[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Dr. Elena Sondermann

Room: LS 033
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-1916
E-Mail: elena.sondermann[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Forschungsbereich I: Global Governance für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Forschungsschwerpunkte

► Umsetzung der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) zum Abbau von Ungleichheiten
► Problematisierung des Entwicklungsbegriffs und Überwindung traditioneller Rollen in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit
► Partizipation nicht-staatlicher Akteure und neue Formen von Rechenschaftspflichtigkeit (Accountability)
► Praktiken von transnationaler und globaler Governance in den Bereichen globale Gesundheit, Land, Ernährung und Armutsbekämpfung

Mit dem Katalog der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (sustainable development goals, SDGs) haben sich die Mitgliedstaaten der Vereinten Nationen verpflichtet, zentrale Probleme wie Armut, Hunger, Umweltzerstörung, den mangelnden Zugang zu Bildung oder Gesundheitsversorgung bis 2030 konzertiert anzugehen. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei der Abbau der immer noch existierenden Ungleichheiten zwischen Ländern, innerhalb von Gesellschaften oder zwischen den Geschlechtern. Mit der Verpflichtung auf „nachhaltige Entwicklung“ wird auch der traditionelle Entwicklungsbegriff auf den Prüfstand gestellt. Adressaten von Entwicklung sind nicht mehr ausschließlich Staaten des Globalen Südens, sondern Gesellschaften weltweit. Stärker als zuvor wird Entwicklungszusammenarbeit als ein Bestandteil eines vielschichtigen Gefüges von Global Governance-Praktiken verstanden.

Mehr lesen

Mit der wachsenden Komplexität grenzüberschreitender Probleme und der Zunahme der Akteure, der eingesetzten Instrumente und vielfach parallellaufender Prozesse ist immer umstrittener, wer für wen und mit welcher Zielsetzung verbindliche Regeln setzt, wer also Autorität hat und worauf diese basiert. Die propagierten Werte und die damit einhergehenden Governance-Praktiken werden ebenso kritisch auf den Prüfstand gestellt. Deutlich wird dies an der Diskussion um Partnerschaften als Instrument der Problembearbeitung auf allen Handlungsebenen. Denn bei diesem als Allheilmittel gepriesenen Instrument stellen sich drängende, nicht nur theoretische, sondern auch sehr praktische Fragen nach dessen Ausdeutung, Legitimität, seiner Wirksamkeit und vor allem der Art und Weise der Umsetzung auf lokaler Ebene.

Auch in Netzwerken zwischen staatlichen, privaten und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren entwickeln sich durch Machtkonzentrationen immanente Hierarchien. Daher stellt sich die Herausforderung, wie angesichts existierender Machtungleichheiten die Partizipation relevanter Stakeholder sichergestellt werden kann. Neben der Frage, wer an politischen Prozessen teilhaben darf und wer letztendlich für ein Kollektiv verbindliche Entscheidungen (basierend auf welchen „guten Gründen“) treffen darf, widmen wir uns daher darüber hinaus der Frage, wie und in welcher Form die regelsetzenden Akteure zur Rechenschaft gezogen werden können (Accountability). Konkret verbinden wir diese Fragen beispielsweise in Analysen zum „meaningful engagement“ von zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren.

In diesem Forschungsbereich setzen wir uns auch mit der Praxis von Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auseinander. Auf einer inhaltlich-strategischen Ebene liegt ein Schwerpunkt darauf, inwiefern Projekte der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und die damit einhergehenden Formen und Normen von Governance die angestrebte Kohärenz und Überwindung von Silos widerspiegeln. Auf der Akteursebene interessiert uns, ob traditionelle Rollen und Beziehungen zwischen staatlichen Gebern und Empfängern überwunden werden, der Kreis der beteiligten Akteure erweitert wird und Prozesse insgesamt partizipativer gestaltet werden.
Empirisch untersuchen wir die aufgeworfenen Fragestellungen im Kontext der Ausgestaltung und der Praktiken von Global Governance für nachhaltige Entwicklung vor allem in den Bereichen globale Gesundheit, Land, Ernährung(sunsicherheit), Armut(sbekämpfung) und Resilienz.

Forschungsprojekte

Globale Trends. Analysen

Wege aus Armut, Vulnerabilität und Ernährungsunsicherheit

Aktuelle Publikationen

► Gaesing, Karin 2020: Access to Land and Securing of Land Rights in Development Cooperation. Analyses and Recommendations. Duisburg: INEF, AVE-Studie 22b. 

► Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2021: Der wachsende Einfluss privater Stiftungen, in: Vereinte Nationen, 69: 2, 57-62. DOI: 10.35998/VN-2021-0007

Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2021: Transformation through ‘Meaningful’ Partnership? SDG 17 as Metagovernance Norm and Its Global Health Implementation, in: Politics and Governance, 9: 1, 153-163. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.17645/pag.v9i1.3656

Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia 2020: The Threat of Thinking in Threats: Reframing Global Health During and After COVID-19, in: Zeitschrift für Friedens- und Konfliktforschung, 9: 2, 309-320. DOI: 10.1007/s42597-020-00049-7

Forschungsbereichsleitung

Dr. Cornelia Ulbert

Raum: LS 119
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-4422
E-Mail: cornelia.ulbert[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Mitglieder des Forschungsbereichs

Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel

Raum: LF 324
Telefon: +49 (0203)-379-2021
E-Mail: tobias.debiel[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Dr. Karin Gaesing

Raum: LS 031
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-3973
E-Mail: karin.gaesing[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Arne Rieber, M.Sc.

Raum: LS 031
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-91436
E-Mail: arne.rieber[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Elena Sondermann, M.A.

Raum: LS 033
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-1916
E-Mail: elena.sondermann[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil