Research Area III: Social Conflicts and Resilience

Research Focus

► Long and short-term effects of protest movements
► Resilience of social and political systems
► Paths of politico-religious mobilization
► Conflict interventions by regional actors

Crises, such as the coronavirus pandemic, can lead to societal conflicts and put pressure on politics and society. How societies deal with these challenges is determined to a large extent by their ability to cope with different crises, to adapt to new problem situations and to reposition themselves accordingly for possible future challenges. Our research focuses on the causes and consequences of social conflicts and the role of authority in them, as well as on the resilience of social and political systems and the framework conditions that promote resilience.

 Read More

One consequence of the contested nature of authority is resistance movements that social groups in numerous countries are organizing to bring about political change. Social and political protests have accordingly grown in number and significance over the past decade. Mobilization can be aimed at democratization processes. But they can also be directed against peace agreements. Moreover, as the rise of jihadist groups such as Boko Haram and the Islamic State illustrates, social mobilization often aims at the violent overthrow of existing orders.

In addition to the explanations for the mobilization of certain parts of the population, we are interested in the protest strategies used by social groups. Often, international actors play an important role in mobilizing social groups or in the subsequent state response. Our research therefore explores the question of when societal groups and/or the state receive support from external actors to mobilize/repress and how this influences the resilience of political orders. This includes the study of international peacekeeping missions, which often operate in a field of tension between transnational norms or goals of international actors and local realities in the areas of operation. Finally, we examine how social conflicts and crises influence the process of forming political orders, for example, by triggering changes in legal systems or in political decision-making processes.

So far, research has concentrated on the willingness of individuals or particular identity groups to mobilize. In our projects, we take a different approach by examining the role of social organizations. Social organizations have the networks and resources that are essential for successful mobilization. One focus here is on religious actors, political parties and rebel groups. We investigate the individual research questions in our projects using a theory-driven empirical approach that combines qualitative and quantitative methods.

Research Projects

African Non-Miltary Conflict Internvention Practices (ANCIP)

Party Competition and Collective Jihadist Radicalisation in Sub-Saharan Africa

Peace Report

Recent Publications

► Saalfeld, Jannis 2022: Rejectionist Islamism in su-Saharan Africa, in: International Affairs, 98: 2, 493-508. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1093/ia/iiac016

► Vüllers, Johannes 2021: Revolutions and Constitutional Crisis, in: Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics. Oxford University Press. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190228637.013.1607

► Vüllers, Johannes / Hellmeier, Sebastian 2021: Does Counter‐Mobilization Contain Right‐Wing Populist Movements? Evidence from Germany, in: European Journal of Political Research. DOI: 10.1111/1475-6765.12439

► Vüllers, Johannes / Krtsch, Roman 2020: Raise Your Voices! Civilian Protest in Civil Wars, in: Political Geography, 80, 102183. DOI: 10.1016/j.polgeo.2020.102183

Head of Research Area

PD Dr. Johannes Vüllers

Room: LS 030
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-4450
E-Mail: johannes.vuellers[at]uni-due.de
Homepage: johannesvuellers.com
Staff Portfolio

Participating Members

Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel

Room: LF 324
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-2021
E-Mail: tobias.debiel[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann

Room: LS 120
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-4421
E-Mail: christof.hartmann[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Jannis Saalfeld, M.A.

Room: LS 034
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-3847
E-Mail: jannis.saalfeld[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Dr. Carmen Wunderlich

Room: LF 316
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-2043
E-Mail: carmen.wunderlich[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Mona Saleh, M.A.

Room: LS 118b
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-3974
E-Mail: mona.saleh[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Jasmin Schmitz, M.A.

Room: LS 118b
Phone: +49 (0)203-379-1919
E-Mail: jasmin.schmitz[at]uni-due.de
Staff Portfolio

Forschungsbereich III: Gesellschaftliche Konflikte und Resilienz

Forschungsschwerpunkte

► Lang- und Kurzzeiteffekte von Protestbewegungen
► Resilienz gesellschaftlicher und politischer Systeme
► Pfade politisch-religiöser Mobilisierung
► Konfliktinterventionen regionaler Akteure

Krisen, wie die Coronavirus-Pandemie, können zu gesellschaftlichen Konflikten führen und Politik und Gesellschaft unter Druck setzen. Wie Gesellschaften mit diesen Herausforderungen umgehen, wird zu einem großen Teil von ihrer Fähigkeit bestimmt, unterschiedliche Krisen zu bewältigen, sich neuen Problemlagen anzupassen und möglichen zukünftigen Herausforderungen entsprechend neu aufzustellen. In unserer Forschung beschäftigen wir uns mit den Ursachen und Folgen gesellschaftlicher Konflikte und welche Rolle Autorität dabei spielt, sowie der Resilienz gesellschaftlicher und politischer Systeme und den Rahmenbedingungen, die Resilienz befördern.

Mehr lesen

Eine Folge der Umstrittenheit von Autorität sind Widerstandsbewegungen, die gesellschaftliche Gruppen in zahlreichen Ländern organisieren, um politische Veränderungen zu bewirken. Soziale und politische Proteste haben entsprechend in der vergangenen Dekade an Zahl und Bedeutung gewonnen. Die Mobilisierung kann dabei auf Demokratisierungsprozesse abzielen. Sie kann aber auch gegen Friedensabkommen gerichtet sein. Darüber hinaus – das verdeutlicht u.a. der Aufstieg jihadistischer Gruppierungen wie Boko Haram und des Islamischen Staats – zielt soziale Mobilisierung oft auf den gewaltsamen Umsturz bestehender Ordnungen ab.

Neben den Erklärungen für die Mobilisierung bestimmter Teile der Bevölkerung interessiert uns, welche Proteststrategien gesellschaftliche Gruppen anwenden. Oft spielen bei der Mobilisierung gesellschaftlicher Gruppen bzw. der folgenden staatlichen Reaktion internationale Akteure eine wichtige Rolle. Wir gehen daher in unserer Forschung der Frage nach, wann gesellschaftliche Gruppen und/oder der Staat Unterstützung von externen Akteuren zur Mobilisierung/Repression bekommen und wie dies die Resilienz politischer Ordnungen beeinflusst. Dies schließt die Untersuchung von internationalen Friedensmissionen mit ein, die oft in einem Spannungsfeld zwischen transnationalen Normen bzw. Zielen internationaler Akteure und der lokalen Wirklichkeit in den Einsatzgebieten agieren. Schließlich untersuchen wir, wie gesellschaftliche Konflikte und Krisen den politischen Ordnungsbildungsprozess beeinflussen, also etwa Änderungen in Rechtssystemen oder in politischen Entscheidungsprozessen auslösen.

Bislang dominiert in der Forschung der Blick auf die Bereitschaft von Individuen oder partikularen Identitätsgruppen zur Mobilisierung. In unseren Projekten gehen wir einen anderen Weg, indem wir die Rolle gesellschaftlicher Organisationen untersuchen. Gesellschaftliche Organisationen haben die Netzwerke und Ressourcen, die für eine erfolgreiche Mobilisierung unabdingbar sind. Ein Fokus liegt hierbei auf religiösen Akteuren, politischen Parteien und Rebellengruppen. Wir untersuchen die einzelnen Aspekte in verschiedenen Projekten mit einem theoriegeleiteten empirischen Ansatz, der qualitative und quantitative Methoden miteinander verbindet.

Forschungsprojekte

Parteienwettbewerb und kollektive dschihadistische Radikalisierung in Subsahara-Afrika

Friedensgutachten

Aktuelle Publikationen

► Anderl, Felix / Bales, Marius / Bliss, Frank / Brunke, Laura Isabella / Debiel, Tobias  (Koordination) / Mutschler, Max / Scheper, Christian / Sondermann, Elena / Ulbert, Cornelia / Vüllers, Johannes (Koordination) 2021: Covid-19 und der Globale Süden / Nachhaltiger Frieden, in Friedensgutachten 2021. Berlin: Transcript, 75-93.

► Saalfeld, Jannis 2021: Inter-Secular Party Competition and the (Non-)Formation of Salafi-Jihadist Milieus: Evidence from Tanzania, in: Studies in Conflict & Terrorism (online first). DOI: 10.1080/1057610X.2021.1945187

► Vüllers, Johannes 2021: Revolutions and Constitutional Crisis, in: Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics. Oxford University Press. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190228637.013.1607

► Vüllers, Johannes / Hellmeier, Sebastian 2021: Does Counter‐Mobilization Contain Right‐Wing Populist Movements? Evidence from Germany, in: European Journal of Political Research. DOI: 10.1111/1475-6765.12439

► Vüllers, Johannes / Krtsch, Roman 2020: Raise Your Voices! Civilian Protest in Civil Wars, in: Political Geography, 80, 102183. DOI: 10.1016/j.polgeo.2020.102183

Forschungsbereichsleitung

PD Dr. Johannes Vüllers

Raum: LS 030
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-4450
E-Mail: johannes.vuellers[at]uni-due.de

Mitglieder des Forschungsbereichs

Prof. Dr. Tobias Debiel

Raum: LF 324
Telefon: +49 (0203)-379-2021
E-Mail: tobias.debiel[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Prof. Dr. Christof Hartmann

Raum: LS 120
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-4421
E-Mail: christof.hartmann[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Jannis Saalfeld, M.A.

Raum: LS 034
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-3847
E-Mail: jannis.saalfeld[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil

Dr. Carmen Wunderlich

Raum: LF 316
Telefon: +49 (0)203-379-2043
E-Mail: carmen.wunderlich[at]uni-due.de
Mitarbeiterprofil