Institutsprofil Inef

The Institute for Development and Peace (INEF) was founded in 1990 as the first institute of the Faculty of Social Sciences exclusively focusing on research and research transfer into academic and political debates.

We analyze issues in the field of peace and conflict as well as development studies and ask which actors address and govern global challenges and with what effects (global governance).

Since 2018, we have been focusing our work on the research programme “Ordering and Responsibility in the Shadow of Hierarchies” and the following three areas:

  1. Transnational Governance and the Responsibility of Private Actors
  2. Development Partnerships in Times of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
  3. Resistance and Political Ordering

Third-party funded research projects allow us to generate basic knowledge on politically relevant issues and to collect data as part of our field research. INEF is integrated in a strong and viable international research and collaboration network. We work particularly closely with the Development and Peace Foundation (sef:) and the Centre for Global Cooperation Research (Käte Hamburger Kolleg, KHK) at the University of Duisburg-Essen.

As far as applied research and public policy consulting is concerned, the collaboration with the sef: and the Working Group on Peace and Development (FriEnt) as well as with the German Platform for Peaceful Conflict Management features quite prominently. With respect to research and graduate training, besides the Käte Hamburger Kolleg/Centre for Global Cooperation Research (KHK/GCR21) of the University of Duisburg-Essen, the UAR Graduate Centre for Development Studies and the Institute of Development Research and Development Policy (IEE), both based at the Ruhr University Bochum, play a major role among our academic partners.

Our publications are the most visible results of our research. Besides books and articles published by our team members, three publication series of INEF have been established over the years, which constitute a key aspect of our work. With the working paper series "INEF Report", INEF tries to shape the academic discourse and the political debates on particular issues of development and peace. Together with the Peace and Development Foundation (sef:), INEF issues the series “Global Trends. Analysis”, which is edited by an international board of experts. In addition, INEF co-edits the annual "Peace Report" in collaboration with three other peace research institutes providing analyses of current conflicts and also giving specific recommendations to policy-makers.

In addition to our research, we try to contribute regularly to the degree programmes of the Institute for Political Science at the Faculty of Social Sciences. This comprises in particular teaching courses in the MA programme "International Relations and Development Policy" (MA IBEP).

INEF Flyer

Institutsprofil Inef

Das Institut für Entwicklung und Frieden (INEF) wurde bereits 1990 als das erste Institut der Fakultät für Gesellschaftswissenschaften gegründet, das sich ausschließlich der Forschung und dem Transfer der entsprechenden Ergebnisse in akademische und politische Debatten hinein widmet.

Wir forschen in den Feldern Friedens- und Konfliktforschung sowie Entwicklungsforschung und beschäftigen uns in unseren Arbeiten darüber hinaus damit, wie und von wem diese Problemlagen transnational und global bearbeitet und gesteuert werden können (Global Governance).

Seit 2018 bündeln wir unsere wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten in dem Forschungsprogramm „Ordnungsbildung und Verantwortung im Schatten von Hierarchien“ und den drei Themenfeldern:

  1. Transnationale Governance und die Verantwortung privater Akteure
  2. Entwicklungspartnerschaften in Zeiten der SDGs
  3. Widerstand und politische Ordnungsbildung

Mehr lesen

Im Rahmen von drittmittelfinanzierten Projekten generieren wir Grundlagenwissen zu politisch relevanten Themen und erheben Daten im Rahmen von Feldforschungen. Das INEF ist eingebettet in ein produktives Netz an deutschen und internationalen Kooperationspartnern. Besonders eng arbeiten wir mit der Stiftung Entwicklung und Frieden (sef:) in Bonn und dem Käte Hamburger Kolleg (KHK)/Centre for Global Cooperation Research an der Universität Duisburg-Essen zusammen.

Im Feld der Anwendungsorientierung und Politikberatung sind neben der Kooperation mit der sef: die Partnerschaften mit der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Frieden und Entwicklung (FriEnt) und der Plattform Zivile Konfliktbearbeitung e.V. von besonderer Bedeutung. Im Feld der Forschung sowie der Graduiertenausbildung spielen neben dem Käte Hamburger Kolleg/Centre for Global Cooperation Research (KHK/GCR21) das UAR Graduate Centre for Development Studies und das Institut für Entwicklungsforschung und Entwicklungspolitik (IEE) der Ruhr-Universität Bochum eine zentrale Rolle.

Sichtbarstes Ergebnis unserer Forschung sind unsere Publikationen. Neben den Buch- und Zeitschriftenveröffentlichungen der INEF-Mitarbeiter*innen haben sich im Laufe der Jahre drei institutseigene Publikationsreihen etabliert, die einen wichtigen Arbeitsschwerpunkt des Instituts bilden. Mit der Reihe INEF-Report liefert das INEF zu einzelnen Themen wichtige Impulse für den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs der Entwicklungs- und Friedensforschung sowie deren Praxis. Zusammen mit der sef: publiziert das INEF die Broschüren-Reihe Globale Trends. Analysen, die zweisprachig (Deutsch/Englisch) erscheint und von einem internationalen Herausgebergremium betreut wird. Zudem gibt das INEF in Kooperation mit drei anderen Friedensforschungsinstituten (BICC, IFSH, HSFK) jährlich das Friedensgutachten heraus, in welchem nicht nur Stellungnahmen zu aktuellen Konflikten abgegeben, sondern auch potentielle Lösungsstrategien aufgezeigt werden.

Über die Forschung hinaus beteiligt sich das INEF an der Bereitstellung eines möglichst breiten und vielfältigen Lehrangebots für alle Studiengänge am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Fakultät für Gesellschaftswissenschaften. Dazu zählt insbesondere die aktive Unterstützung von Lehreinheiten im Rahmen des Masterstudienganges „Internationale Beziehungen und Entwicklungspolitik" (MA IBEP).