Materials Characterization at the Interdisciplinary Center for Analytics on the Nanoscale (ICAN)

Apl. Prof. Dr. Nils Hartmann

The exploration of real-structure–activity relationships in catalysis necessitates a detailed analysis of all materials within the CRC/TRR 247. For this purpose, the service project S employs state-of-the-art spectroscopic and microscopic techniques. It takes advantage of the DFG Core Facility Interdisciplinary Center for Analytics on the Nanoscale (ICAN) that organizes and operates a microscopy center in the NanoEnergieTechnikZentrum (NETZ) of the University of Duisburg-Essen. Available techniques include an aberration-corrected STEM/TEM with EELS and EDX analytics, a high-resolution SAM, an AFM/SPM, a nanofocused TOF-SIMS with FIB option and a microfocused XPS with UPS analytics. The major microscopy techniques are complemented by further analytical techniques in ICAN and within the research groups of the CRC/TRR 247. This allows for a comprehensive characterization of the structure of the nanomaterials under consideration, both, at the surface and in the bulk. In addition, specific electrical, optical and optoelectronic materials properties can be determined considering applications in electro- and photocatalysis. Preparation and characterization protocols are developed and adapted in view of the specific demands of the research projects of the CRC/TRR. The S project will support the work in all three areas (A, B, C) and contribute to the Comparative Study, in particular it provides fast feedback for the synthesis groups in Area C. This is essential to follow the extensive synthetic approach of the CRC/TRR 247 and complementary to the elaborate characterization methods in Area B specifically aiming at the details of the real structure. Analytical results including reference data of relevant standard materials are made available for all research groups on a web-based platform.

Coordinator Area S

Apl. Prof. Dr. Nils Hartmann
Projects: S 

Phone: +49 203 379 8033

Personal Website

Interdisciplinary Center for Analytics on the Nanoscale
University of Duisburg-Essen

Scientific Staff

Name Phone E-Mail
Prof. Dr. Frank-J. Meyer zu Heringdorf +49 203 379 8041 E-Mail
Dr.-Ing. Steffen Franzka +49 203 379 8031 E-Mail
Dr. Ulrich Hagemann +49 203 379 8035 E-Mail
Dr. Markus Heidelmann +49 203 379 8037 E-Mail