Studies at the Faculty of Physics

Information on living in Duisburg and Essen

Contrary to common prejudice it is not all grey here but green – and rich in culture. At the same time our region is still characterized by iron, steel, industry and harbor. There was of course a life well before the industrialization: The historical roots of both university cities Duisburg and Essen go back to the early Middle Ages.

More information on living in Duisburg and Essen (in German)

What makes the Faculty of Physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen special?

The Faculty of Physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen is a medium-sized, manageable faculty: approx. 140 scientists, among 34 professors, approx. 60 non-scientific staff and - currently - approx. 550 students. This offers great advantages:

  • No anonymous mass operations: teachers and students know each other by reputation and name after a while. Professors and staff are open for questions at all times and ready to help where they can.
  • Research-near studies: You can establish closer contacts with the research groups after the fourth semester and gradually get involved in a special field.
  • Teamwork: The individual operation helps to get in contact with other students. You will certainly find someone to work with. Physics means "teamwork". The earlier you start, the better.
  • Bilingualism: The basic lectures in experimental and theoretical physics will be additionally held in English from the third semester onward - directly after the lectures in German.

Studium an der Fakultät für Physik

Informationen zum Leben in Duisburg und Essen

Allen Vorurteilen zum Trotz ist es bei uns nicht grau, sondern grün – und reich an Kultur. Gleichzeitig ist unsere Region trotz allem auch weiterhin geprägt durch Eisen, Stahl, Industrie und Hafen. Und natürlich gab es auch schon ein Leben weit vor der Industrialisierung: Die historischen Wurzeln der beiden Hochschulstädte Duisburg und Essen reichen bis ins hohe Mittelalter.

Weitere Informationen zum Leben in Duisburg und Essen

Was zeichnet die Fakultät für Physik an der Universität Duisburg-Essen aus?

Die Physikfakultät der Universität Duisburg-Essen ist eine mittelgroße, überschaubare Fakultät: ca. 140 Wissenschaftler, darunter 34 Professoren, ca. 60 nichtwissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter und - zur Zeit - ca. 550 Studierende. Das bietet große Vorteile:

  • Kein anonymer Massenbetrieb: Lehrende und Lernende kennen sich nach einiger Zeit von Ansehen und mit Namen. Professoren und Mitarbeiter sind für Sie jederzeit ansprechbar und bereit zu helfen.
  • Forschungsnahes Studium: Unsere Fakultät ist sehr forschungsstark mit vielen Projekten in der experimentellen und theoretischen Physik und der Didaktik. Schon früh kommen Sie mit Themen aus der Spitzenforschung in Kontakt oder können als Hilfskraft in einer Forschungsgruppe mitwirken.
  • Teamwork: Wir leben die Kultur der offenen Türen. Sie finden immer jemanden, mit dem Sie zusammenarbeiten können. Denn Physik heißt "Teamwork", je früher man damit beginnt, desto besser.
  • Bilingualität: Die Grundlagenvorlesungen für Experimentalphysik und für Theoretische Physik werden seit dem Wintersemester 2018/2019 ab dem dritten Semester zusätzlich noch einmal auf Englisch gehalten - im Anschluss an die Vorlesungen auf Deutsch.