For prospective students (Teaching Post)

Future physics teachers have a great responsibility and they face a great challenge. They are expected to inspire joy and motivation in future generations for scientific research and topics in the natural sciences. Since physics will continue to be a shortage subject in schools in the long term, the career prospects are also very good in the future.

 

What is physics?

In physics, fundamental phenomena in nature are studied in order to explain their properties and behavior with laws. In addition to the other natural sciences, applied sciences such as medicine or engineering are also partly dependent on physics. It plays a role in almost all areas of our everyday life, even in places where one would not immediately suspect it. Physics is therefore a very exciting subject and extremely important for our future. To secure our economic and ecological future, people with physics skills are increasingly needed so that we are able to develop competitive technologies and products.

Why study physics (teaching post) with us?

  • We make it easier for you to get started. Different introductory courses are offered for students of the teaching profession at Haupt-, Real- and Gesamtschulen and for students of the teaching profession at Gymnasien and Gesamtschulen. In the subject-physics part of all degree programs, there are exclusively independent courses tailored to the needs of future teachers.
  • The University of Duisburg-Essen is a center of teacher training in North Rhine-Westphalia and a center of empirical educational research. Physics didactics is represented here by two professorships.
  • The Faculty of Physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen enjoys an excellent reputation. In the Excellence Ranking of the Center for Higher Education Development (CHE), in which 500 departments at about 250 universities in 20 European countries were analyzed, the University of Duisburg-Essen achieved the best position in NRW and seventh place among German universities. So you will be close to the latest developments in education and teaching, and you will come into contact with current research results from the didactics of physics and physics itself in your seminars. After the master's degree, you have the opportunity to do a doctorate in physics didactics or in the subject.
  • With us, you can expect good supervision and the best conditions for a speedy, successful study.

Structure of the study program

At the University of Duisburg-Essen you can study the teaching professions for the following types of schools.

  • Gymnasien and Gesamtschulen (LGyGe)
  • Berufskollegs (LBK)
  • Haupt- Real- and Gesamtschulen (LHRGe)
  • Grundschulen (LGr)

Subject combinations

  • For the teaching profession at Haupt- Real- und Gesamtschulen (LHRGe) and for the teaching profession at Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen (LGyGe), physics can be combined as a core subject with all other subjects.
  • For the teaching profession at elementary schools, you will study the learning area Sachunterricht, which contains, among other things, study components from physics and the other natural sciences.

Information and advice for prospective students on how to get started is also provided by the Academic Advising Center.

Academic Advising Center (in German)

Research topics of the Faculty of Physics

You can find out about current research topics at the Faculty of Physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen by clicking on the link below. As you can see, the research spectrum is very broad. In addition, the faculty is and has been active in a leading role in large collaborative research centers!

Research Groups at the Faculty of Physics

Other study programs of the Faculty of Physics

Course of study in Physik

Perhaps the Physics degree program is also of interest to you?

Course of study in Energy Science

Für Studieninteressierte (Physik Lehramt)

Zukünftige Physiklehrerinnen und -lehrer haben eine große Verantwortung und sie stehen vor einer großen Herausforderung. Sie sollen bei künftigen Generationen Freude und Motivation am naturwissenschaftlichen Forschen und an naturwissenschaftlichen Themen wecken. Da Physik in der Schule auch langfristig ein Mangelfach sein wird, sind die Berufsaussichten auch in der Zukunft sehr gut.

 

Was ist Physik?

In der Physik werden grundlegende Phänomene in der Natur untersucht, um deren Eigenschaften und Verhalten mit Gesetzmäßigkeiten zu erklären. Neben den übrigen Naturwissenschaften sind auch angewandte Wissenschaften, wie die Medizin oder die Ingenieurswissenschaften teilweise von der Physik abhängig. Sie spielt in fast allen Bereichen unseres Alltags eine Rolle, auch dort, wo man es nicht sofort vermutet. Physik ist deshalb ein sehr spannendes Fach und äußerst wichtig für unsere Zukunft. Zur Sicherung unserer ökonomischen und ökologischen Zukunft werden verstärkt Menschen mit physikalischen Fähigkeiten gebraucht, damit wir in der Lage sind, konkurrenzfähige Technologien und Produkte zu entwickeln.

Warum Lehramt Physik bei uns?

  • Wir erleichtern Ihnen den Einstieg. Für Studierende des Lehramtes an Haupt-, Real- und Gesamtschulen und für Studierende des Lehramtes an Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen werden unterschiedliche Einführungsveranstaltungen angeboten. Im fachphysikalischen Teil aller Studiengänge gibt es ausschließlich eigenständige Veranstaltungen, die auf die Bedürfnisse zukünftiger Lehrerinnen und Lehrer zugeschnitten sind.
  • Die Universität Duisburg-Essen ist ein Zentrum der Lehrerausbildung in Nordrhein-Westfalen und ein Zentrum der empirischen Bildungsforschung. Die Physikdidaktik ist bei uns mit zwei Professuren repräsentiert.
  • Die Fakultät für Physik der Universität Duisburg-Essen genießt einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. Im Excellence-Ranking des Centrums für Hochschulentwicklung (CHE), bei dem 500 Fachbereiche an etwa 250 Hochschulen in 20 europäischen Ländern analysiert wurden, hat die Universität Duisburg-Essen den besten Platz in NRW und Platz sieben unter den deutschen Universitäten erreicht. Sie sind also nah an den neuesten Entwicklungen in Bildung und Unterricht und Sie kommen in Ihren Seminaren mit aktuellen Forschungsergebnissen aus der Didaktik der Physik und der Physik selbst in Berührung. Nach dem Master haben Sie die Möglichkeit zur Promotion in der Physikdidaktik oder im Fach.
  • Bei uns erwarten Sie eine gute Betreuung und die besten Voraussetzungen für ein zügiges, erfolgreiches Studium.

Aufbau des Studiums

An der Universität Duisburg-Essen können Sie die Lehrämter für die folgenden Schulformen studieren.

  • Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen (LGyGe)
  • Berufskollegs (LBK)
  • Haupt- Real- und Gesamtschulen (LHRGe)
  • Grundschulen (LGr)

Fächerkombinationen

  • Für das Lehramt an Haupt- Real- und Gesamtschulen (LHRGe) und für das Lehramt an Gymnasien und Gesamtschulen (LGyGe) ist Physik als Kernfach mit allen anderen Studienfächern kombinierbar.
  • Für das Lehramt an Grundschulen studieren Sie den Lernbereich Sachunterricht, der u. a. Studienanteile aus der Physik und den weiteren Naturwissenschaften enthält.

Informationen und Beratung für Studieninteressierte zum Einstieg in das Studium stellt auch das Akademische Beratungs-Zentrum zur Verfügung.

Akademisches Beratungs-Zentrum

Forschungsthemen der Fakultät für Physik

Über aktuelle Forschungsthemen der Fakultät für Physik der Universität Duisburg-Essen können Sie sich unter dem untenstehenden Link informieren. Wie Sie sehen können ist das Forschungsspektrum sehr breit. Zudem ist und war die Fakultät in großen Sonderforschungsbereichen federführend aktiv!

Forschungsthemen der Fakultät für Physik

Weitere Studiengänge der Fakultät für Physik

Studiengang Physik

Vielleicht ist auch der Studiengang Physik für Sie interessant?

Studiengang Energy Science

Oder interessieren Sie sich für ein Energy Science Studium?