Incoming Erasmus students at the Faculty of Physics

Erasmus stay at the Faculty of Physics

 

Application

To participate in the Erasmus program and spend some time at the Faculty of Physics in Duisburg, you must apply at your home university. Your home university will select and nominate you. After that, the International Office of the University of Duisburg-Essen will contact you and inform you about the following procedure. Further information is given here.

 

Lectures

Erasmus students can attend all lectures, seminars and laboratory classes offered at the Faculty of Physics. You can find the course catalogue here. Information and details about the courses, e.g. the ECTS-Credits that will be awarded, can be found in the most recent version of the “Modulhandbuch”. There is a selection of classes offered in English language.

Changes in the learning agreement are possible within five weeks after the start of the semester. Please contact the Erasmus coordinators.

 

Language Classes

The Institute for Optional Studies of the university offers a wide range of German language courses during the semester for students interested in improving their German.

The Studierendenwerk Essen-Duisburg (a student welfare services organization) organizes a Language Café.

 

Life in Duisburg

Housing:

You will need to find a room for your stay. You can either look for private accommodation or apply for a place in the student residence halls.

The student residence halls are administered by the Studierendenwerk. The department of Physics is in Duisburg; thus, you should apply for a room in Duisburg. Please apply once you receive the letter of acceptance. Early application is strongly recommended. Further information and the online application form are available here.

Orientation days:

At the beginning of each semester the International Office organizes orientation days for new exchange students. You will be introduced to your new environment, the city and the university. You will receive information about the orientation days with the letter of acceptance. 

Buddy-Programme:

There is a buddy programme available for international students.

 

Questions

The International Office coordinates application and enrollment at the University of Duisburg-Essen. If you have any questions regarding the application procedure or enrollment, please contact the International Office.

If you have questions about the courses or the learning agreement, please contact the ERASMUS coordinators of the Faculty of Physics.

Akademisches Auslandsamt/International Office

Campus Duisburg
Geibelstraße 41, SG-Gebäude
D-47057 Duisburg
Tel.: +49 (0)203 379-3704
Fax: +49 (0)203 379-3705
duisburg-io@uni-due.de

ERASMUS-Coordinators

Prof. Dr. Frank Meyer zu Heringdorf
Lotharstraße 1
D-47057 Duisburg
Room: MF 266

Prof. Dr. Hermann Nienhaus
Lotharstraße 1
D-47057 Duisburg
Room: MG 265

Erasmusaufenthalt an der Fakultät Physik

Banner

Erasmusaufenthalt an der Fakultät Physik

Bewerbung/Vorlesungen/Sprachkurse/Leben in Duisburg/Fragen

Bewerbung

Um einen Erasmusaufenthalt an der Fakultät Physik der Universität Duisburg-Essen zu absolvieren, müssen Sie sich an Ihrer Heimatuniversität Bewerben. Ihre Heimatuniversität kann Sie dann nominieren. Danach werden Sie vom Akademischen Auslandsamt der Universität Duisburg-Essen kontaktiert und erhalten Informationen zur Bewerbung und zum weiteren Ablauf. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: https://www.uni-due.de/international/programmstudierende.php

Vorlesungen

Als Erasmusstudierender können Sie an allen Vorlesungen, Seminaren und Laborkursen, die an der Fakultät Physik angeboten werden, teilnehmen. Das Vorlesungsangebot finden Sie unter: https://campus.uni-due.de/

Informationen zu den einzelnen Veranstaltungen, wie zum Beispiel, die Zahl der zugehörigen ECTS-Punkte sind der aktuellen Version des Modulhandbuchs zu entnehmen (https://www.uni-due.de/physik/studium/). Es werden auch einige Veranstaltungen in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Änderungen an Ihrem Learning Agreement können in den ersten fünf Wochen nach Vorlesungsbeginn erfolgen. Sprechen Sie dazu die Erasmus-Koordinatoren an.

Sprachkurse

Das Institut für Optionale Studien bietet während des Semesters eine große Auswahl an Deutschkursen an. (https://www.uni-due.de/ios/).

Das Studierendenwerk Essen-Duisburg organisiert ein Sprachencafé: https://www.stw-edu.de/kultur/sprachcafe-cafe-lingua/

Leben in Duisburg

Unterkunft:

Sie müssen Sich selbst um eine Unterkunft in Duisburg bemühen. Sie können sich entweder um einen Platz im Studierendenwohnheim bewerben oder eine Unterkunft auf dem freien Wohnungsmarkt suchen. Die Studierendenwohnheime werden vom Studierendenwerk der verwaltet.

Da die Fakultät Physik in Duisburg ist, sollten Sie sich um ein Zimmer in Duisburg bewerben. Bitte bewerben Sie sich sobald Sie eine Zusage der Universität Duisburg-Essen erhalten haben. Weitere Informationen und das Bewerbungsformular sind hier erhältlich: https://www.stw-edu.de/wohnen/

Einführungstage:

Zum Semesterbeginn organisiert das Akademische Auslandsamt Einführungstage für neue Austauschstudierende. Dort werden Sie mit der Stadt und der Universität vertraut gemacht. Informationen darüber erhalten Sie in Ihrem Zulassungsschreieben.  

Buddy-Programm:

Es gibt ein Buddy-Programm für internationale Studierende.

Fragen

Das Akademische Auslandsamt regelt die Bewerbung und Zulassung an der Universität Duisburg Essen. Falls Sie Fragen zum Bewerbungsverfahren oder zur Einschreibung haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Akademische Auslandsamt.

Bei Fragen zu Vorlesungen oder dem Learning Agreement kontaktieren Sie bitte die Erasmus Koordinatoren der Fakultät Physik.  

Akademisches Auslandsamt/International Office

Campus Duisburg

Geibelstraße 41, SG-Gebäude

D-47057 Duisburg

Tel.: +49 203 379-3704

Fax: +49 203 379-3705

E-Mail: duisburg-io@uni-due.de

 

ERASMUS-Koordinatoren

Prof. Dr. Frank Meyer zu Heringdorf

meyerzh@uni-due.de

Lotharstraße 1 47057 Duisburg

Raum: MF 266

 

Prof. Dr. Hermann Nienhaus

hermann.nienhaus@uni-due.de

Lotharstraße 1 47057 Duisburg

Raum: MG 265