History of the Faculty

A fact that few people are aware of is that the University of Duisburg-Essen enjoys a long tradition. As early as 1566, Duisburg was granted papal approval and the emperor’s seal for the founding of a university. It was not until 90 years later that the Klevesche Landesuniversität was officially opened with the four classical faculties, theology, jurisprudence, medicine and philosophy.

In 1818, the University was dissolved and its tradition continued by the University of Bonn. In 1972, the new university, the Gesamthochschule Duisburg, opened its doors with full academic status, including doctorates and habilitation. From the very outset, engineering science has been an important part of teaching and research. At the beginning of 2003, the University of Duisburg and the University of Essen merged to become the University of Duisburg-Essen, giving the faculty two campuses instead of one.

Important dates of the recent history

1972: Foundation of two “Gesamthochschulen” in Duisburg and Essen

1980: Change of names to “Universität-Gesamthochschule Duisburg“ and „Universität-Gesamthochschule Essen“

1994: Renaming of the “Universität – Gesamthochschule Duisburg“ in „Gerhard-Mercator-Universität Duisburg“

2001: Combing the units Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, Mechanical Engineering and Material Technology to form the new Faculty of Engineering

2003: Merger of the “Gerhard-Mercator-Universität Duisburg” and the “Universität-Gesamthochschule Essen” to the new University of Duisburg-Essen

2006: Integration of the unit Civil Engineering into the Faculty of Engineering

2007: Integration of the unit Cognitive Science into the Faculty of Engineering

2008: Integration of the unit Industrial Engineering into the Faculty of Engineering