International Activities

For the Faculty of Engineering, internationalization is a priority goal to maintain its performance in research and teaching. This includes the introduction of a faculty-wide offer of internationally oriented Bachelor's and Master's programmes, the study programme "International Studies in Engineering" (ISE) as well as the support of German students to spend a period abroad at one of the many partner universities. Furthermore, the faculty has a large number of international guests, who do research in the faculty within the framework of Alexander von Humboldt, DAAD, Mercator Fellowships in DFG (joint) projects.

International Studies in Engineering

The "International Studies in Engineering" (ISE) program creates bridges between subjects and cultures: a wide range of professional qualification opportunities with a special emphasis on the requirements of the global labor market offer graduates comprehensive development opportunities in both industrial and academic terms - the intensive links to different, particularly non-European, cultures and countries create a cultural enrichment for the study and research environment. The attractiveness of the course offerings is also due to the possibility of combining Bachelor and Master degrees from different engineering disciplines as well as the interdisciplinary, cross-departmental Bachelor and Master programs.

Commission for International Affairs

The Commission for International Affairs advises the dean's office in international matters of the faculty. These tasks include, in particular, the preparation of strategic considerations regarding international orientation, support of ongoing activities with international relevance in teaching (incoming and outgoing), research cooperation and external presentation as well as coordination with the overarching activities of the university.

Liaison Offices Abroad

Mercator Offices

The Mercator offices of the University Duisburg-Essen are located on the campuses of the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia and the Universitas Indonesia within the faculty of engineering. They ensure a long-lasting presence of the University Duisburg-Essen in the entire region of South-east Asia.

UA Ruhr Offices

The UA Ruhr represents the universities of the Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr in the US and Russia.

Internationale Aktivitäten

Für die Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften stellt die Internationalisierung ein vorrangiges Ziel zum Erhalt ihrer Leistungsfähigkeit in Forschung und Lehre dar. Dazu zählt die Einführung eines fakultätsweiten Angebots von auslandsorientierten Bachelor- und Master-Studiengängen, dem Studienprogramm „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE) sowie die Unterstützung deutscher Studierender einen Auslandsaufenthalt an einer der vielen Partnerhochschulen vorzunehmen. Die Fakultät hat darüber hinaus eine große Anzahl internationaler Gäste, die im Rahmen von Alexander von Humboldt, DAAD, Mercator Fellowships in DFG-(Verbund-)projekten in der Fakultät forschen.

International Studies in Engineering

Das Studienangebot „International Studies in Engineering“ (ISE) schafft Brücken zwischen Fächern und Kulturen: vielfältige fachliche Qualifikationsmöglichkeiten mit besonderer Betonung der Anforderungen des globalen Arbeitsmarkts bieten den Absolventen umfassende Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten in industrieller wie auch wissenschaftlicher Ausprägung – die intensiven Verbindungen zu unterschiedlichen, insbesondere außereuropäischen Kulturen und Staaten schafft eine kulturelle Bereicherung für den Studien- und Forschungsbetrieb. Die Attraktivität des Studienangebots liegt auch in der Kombinierbarkeit von Bachelor- und Master-Abschlüssen unterschiedlicher ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Disziplinen sowie den interdisziplinären, abteilungsübergreifenden Bachelor- und Master-Studiengängen begründet.

Kommission für Internationales

Die Kommission für Internationales berät das Dekanat in internationalen Belangen der Fakultät. Zu diesen Aufgaben zählen insbesondere das Erstellen strategischer Überlegungen zur internationalen Ausrichtung, Begleitung der laufenden Aktivitäten mit internationalem Bezug in Lehre (incoming und outgoing), Forschungskooperationen und Außendarstellung sowie die Koordination mit den übergreifenden Aktivitäten der Universität.

Verbindungsbüros im Ausland

Mercator Büros

Die Mercator Büros der Universität Duisburg-Essen sind auf dem Campus der Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia und der Universitas Indonesia innerhalb der Fakultät für Ingenieurwissenschaften angesiedelt. Sie sichern eine dauerhafte Präsenz der Universität Duisburg-Essen in der gesamten Region Südostasiens.

UA Ruhr Büros

Die UA Ruhr vertritt die Universitäten der Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr in den USA und in Russland.